3/6 Shadoe pmps 351 +3~299 +4~254 +5~297

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Member Since 2009
Yesterday’s Condo

Yesterday's recap:
367 - amps (12uL)
313 - +1
349 - pmps (12uL & 1uR)
331 - +1
250 - +2
272 - +3
315 - +4
340 - +5
371 - today's amps (12uL & 1uR)

So, today is a brand new day. Shadoe and I both feel better.
Me, because I know more about what's affecting Shadoe.
Shadoe, because she was hungry and got to eat a whole can of foods this morn, cuz her bean is too lazy on the weekends to futz around with the auto feeder :lol:

The air is clear, I can breathe well, so that means no LB action yet for the day, but it will be soon - she's eaten, had shots, rested a bit, now she is slowly strolling into the hall to stretch out. That's just a wiggle and plod away from the LB so it won't be long.

Today, after a sleep longer than I have in weeks it seems, I feel ready to get regrouped and prepared for what's to come.

Yesterday, I thought 'stupid vet' doesn't even bother to talk to me, well, who cares, I don't need them to tell me what I already know.
Today, I am thinking wait a minute, I WILL need them to get a referral to any specialists and they ARE able to call places that I can't.
Also, I still need to rub it in their faces :evil: to let them know that they have done one cat an injustice by dragging their collective heels about getting the tests done, and then I shall do an about face and tell them they need some educating so I will share all that I find and learn, and I suggest that they do the same for their office, including rx'g Lantus/Lev instead of useless Caninsulin if they see it's not working.
I want them to see that there really ARE some conditions that may not be all that common, but MUST be considered and testing suggested if the signs warrant it.
I want that young vet to get crackin' and do some studying on Acromegaly so that she can treat their only patient known to have the condition properly. I want her to find out about xrays and u/s and anything else that may be needed in the future. :YMSIGH: I feel like I should make an appt to see her, then sit her down and give her a little course in FD and Acro haha_smiley even though I barely know a thing myself!

Today is errands day - time to stock up on a bazillion boxes of test strips and syringes!
Man, you go through a crap load of syringes if you use R each time - that's minimum 4 a day and then if I were to give a wee bit more R at mid cycle, well, you get the picture. That box of 100 goes kinda fast. And getting the ones with 1/2 markings.
It just dawned on me; when will be the next time I need to measure a 1/2 amount of Lantus? haha_smiley OK yeah, I need them for the R, but I can get boxes of the full unit markings to use for Lantus. DUH. Where is my brain sometimes?

What else? I signed up on the catacromegaly.com site yesterday, and Shadoe results have been posted in the agro results thread in HD; thanks for posting them for us.
I am feeling a strong need to blog, which is scary considering I have never done any blogging in the past. I dabbled a bit but I want to start one for Shadoe and did create one recently called Shadoe's Journey. I wanted to start at a good point and I think that her dx as acro is a perfect spot. Later today, I'll start by putting some background info on her dx with FD.

That's it for now; Shadoe is chewing on her dish :shock: I think she is a hungry girl this morn; maybe it's relief that she got to have a big sleep and no round-the-clock pokes. Time to give her some more foods.

Happy days to all the kitties and improved health for those having off days.
Hope and strength for the beans; pat your kitties today and share some positive vibes.
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371

Gayle, so sorry to hear the dx, but at least now you know and can move on to the proper treatment. Shadoe is very lucky to have you. I really don't understand vets and vet schools. FD is such a growing problem and they are practically clueless.

Still in awe of your posts. Take time for you an Shadoe and have an extra cuddle.
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371

I wish you and Shadoe much success. I too am in awe of your posts. And I hope you do follow through with vet education - I agree with what Ann wrote, they can be clueless when it comes to FD.

Have a great day today, lots of time for you and Shadoe. Shadoe is indeed very lucky to have you.
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 +1~290 +2~212

I'm not sure this is just Shadoe's journey -- I think it's your journey as well. And I'm just getting caught up.

I'm very glad you finally got the information you needed from your vet. I feel badly that this practice group made it such of an ordeal rather than being a partner with you in actively pursuing the tests and the information. You are a woman after my own heart when it comes to assertively demanding appropriate customer service and, in this case, care. I do wonder if this were your vet's child if she would have accepted the kind of inconsiderate behavior you have received at every step along this path.

You can take a breath now. At least from the outside, you had to know that there were only a few explanations for Shadoe needing the amount of insulin he's on. And now you know.

We are here for whatever you need.
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 +1~290 +2~212

Good morning,Gayle!
You know what,girl? You are true inspiration to all of us .
Wish you and Shadow all the best . Take it lil easy and don't forget to tace care of yourself.(eat,sleep)
have a nice and sunny day!
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 +1~290 +2~212

Nice numbers Shadoe!!! Gayle, when you think about it, that vet and that office should be asking YOU about things since they are in the business of dealing with the animals from day-to-day. You should not have to force things down their throats...
Think about it...if it was your business, wouldn't you be curious as to any new developments in the field that you are working in? Would you be constantly learning new things to make your practice more successful? The field of medicine is always expanding their information...so why would a Vet practice be any different? They should be trying to keep abreast of all new treatments of all conditions. Specialists aside, the regular vet should at least be aware of certain conditions if they are worth the money you spend to go to them....

Well, at least you have gone to sites that will help YOU with Shadoe. You have a lot of energy and enthusiasm...Shadoe is one lucky kitty!!! Hope you have a great day!

BTW, St Patrick's day cannot come and go without an appropriate party, right? Soooo...Shadow and Raja are now decorating in green and are so excited...please say that Shadoe will be able to come...Mar 17th...they will be decorating nonstop until then so anytime anyone wants to come by and help, there will be an opportunity for more partying!!!
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 +1~290 +2~212

A new chapter for Shadoe and you. We are indeed sorry to hear of the diagnosis, but we know that Shadoe is in your capable hands and that all will be OK in your world. When we were at the vet recently he told me that he had attended presentations on feline diabetes and endocrine diseases by Dr. Mark E. Peterson. I Googled Peterson and discovered that he was the first vet to diagnose acromegaly in cats. Here is a link to his website. Perhaps he can provide you with some of the information you are seeking:
http://www.hypurrcat.com/bio2.html
Good luck and hang in there!
Ella
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 +1~290 +2~212 +3~169

I am thinking that Shadoe is rewarding me with nice numbers for giving her a full 3oz can of nice ff ocean whitefish for breakfast today :-D :thumbup

Actually, I think she is still not all that comfy with the lower numbers; I get the impression that she feels wobbly, or off balance inside when she gets to low yellow and blue.
No, she does not actually wobble or tilt or anything like that; rather she looks like she is feeling queasy inside. I am sure you have felt a little bit 'off' where you wonder if you are coming down with something. I don't know exactly, but it's just how she seems to act.
She is all laid back and purry and seeming OK but when I pick her up, it's like i throw her off-balance and she reaches out with her nails to grab hold. I wonder if it's like just after you get off a roller coaster or something.
Whatever it is, it must be a good buzz cuz she is very purry; just don't move her too quickly :lol:

And I am not too concerned since she was able to move quite quickly when the vacuum came out. She continued her basking in low numbers in the tub, her favorite hidey spot, cuz you know, why would I think to look there? haha_smiley
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 +1~290 +2~212 +3~169

Those are pretty big drops. Nice, but maybe she does feel a little weird when her sugar drops like that.
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 +1~290 +2~212 +3~169

Welcome to the first day of the rest of your life! You are right - you allowed the vet to live, so now you owe it to her to educate her. Are you publishing the link to that blog? You must be a great blogger. Today is 20X the points day at Shoppers Drug Mart, by the way.
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 +1~290 +2~212 +3~169

Ah, Gayle. Not a diagnosis you want, but SO much better to have a diagnosis than to keep guessing and worrying. Now, if anyone can tackle this, YOU can.

Shadoe needs to readjust to know that the feeling when her sugar is on the low side is What We Want. :-D But cats are so hard to convince. You can't tell them anything.
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 +1~290 +2~212 +3~169

Maybe you'll get the young vet interested? My wonderful vettybean knows there's nothing she can do to treat Boo, but she got on VIN, did reading, asked questions, and is always interested in what Dr. Lunn says. She also calls when she see's something about acro that I might find interesting.
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 +1~290 +2~212 +3~169

Sorry I did not answer anyone.

Ella,
Thanks SO much for that link; I will go there and see what this Dr has to say. Answers are definitely what I want right about now.

Pat,
It's a sad fact that in any profession, you are going to encounter some pretty crappy individuals. It could be their approach, their bedside manner, the poor attitude towards continued education in their field of choice, it could be a combo of some or even all of them, BUT, bottom line is that we know they exist and we also know that that opposite is out there too. We just have to find it.
Some seem to get stuck in the way things were when they first began in the field, but anything medical, and many other fields, just don't stay put. Thus, the reason for upgrading and continuing education by professionals, successful professions, there's the distinction.
I live in an area with a great deal of pets, lots of hirises and high density population, so any bit I can do to open the eyes and kick start the brain of even one or two vets at this office is good enough for me.
And I am gonna SOOOO relish the moment when I say to that young vet's face:
I TOLD YOU!!

Bo,
I am going to be resting a bit more now that we know what's going on and we are better able to plan our approach.
And I think we are all inspirations to one another; group support is many times what drives actions, so without all of the people on this site, I would not have been able to do what I have done for Shadoe.

Sienne,
Yes, you are correct that the journey is one that we both are taking. I truly am a horrific writer, and each word is stressful to put out. I forever think I am not communicating, but still continue with my verbal diarrhea in hopes that my scrambled thoughts get to the reader somewhat intact.
I would love to write the blog from both my eyes and Shadoe's - now that would be awesome. Maybe I'll try it.
And yeah, if it were their kid, I would expect they would be pissy with a lousy dr too.
Pat,
Since Shadoe needs to stick with her bloos, we can attend the party with maybe a nice green top hat of sorts. Parties are good for kitties and beans alike.

Nina,
Yeah, I have seen her like this before. Kinda like when you take some meds, or something for pain that is good but wow it knocks you for a loop. The few times way back when she dropped a color an hour, she was like WHOA what's going on???

Lydia,
I SOO know about that "you're just the bean and I will do what I please" kitty attitude. And with no explanation for their veering this way or that! It leaves ME as the one going WHOA where do you think YOU are GOING? Ah well, so it goes.

Linda,
I have never blogged haha_smiley so it will likely be crap.
All I have done is put her picture on it haha_smiley but that should be what I spend the evening doing, in between mega pokes.

Shadoe’s Journey

I will definitely be stopping at Shoppers now for the 20X points! Thanks!

And finally, getting the young vet interested is my goal. I do know that is treating one other kitty for FD, so it's vital to me, critical even, that she is doing what's needed, not just giving Caninsulin and M/D food to that kitty and thinking everything is fine.


And that's all she wrote for now.

I'll get ready to head out for the errands once I have gotten her +4. That's usually when she levels off or starts heading up again. Since I need to go out and she has hit a nice bloo, I don't think we need to be using any R. After all, we are aiming for bloos now and not greens I think.
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 +1~290 +2~212 +3~169 +4~167

Gayle
You truly are amazing and yes, today is the first day of a new journey for both you and Shadoe.
It is a relief now to finally understand why you were going up and up that dosing ladder.
These blues are terrific for Shadoe and she will probably get more used to it.
Well at least you know you are not aiming for greens, right.
Take care of yourself too, okay.
You have 2 very special kitties that need their Mama healthy and rested.
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 +1~290 +2~212 +3~169 +4~167

Shadoe's numbers look great today, Gayle! You are doing an amazing job. Your fur babies are so lucky to have you caring for them. Surf the bloo, Shadoe!!!
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 +3~169 +6~196

I think we are on our way up now. That +6 was likely the last bloo till after pm shot.
Not only is the number on the rise, but also Shadoe is looking happier, more relaxed and she just stole my chair.

I guess those are two good signs that I have been dismissed from my duties and can go out now.

This morning was cycle 6, so tonite will be an increase to 13L unless someone says I need to wait longer because of her bloos today.
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 +3~169 +6~196

(((Gayle))), I think I see a siggy edit in your future haha_smiley

Let's see what the others say. I'm not sure with the acro in the picture.

Great attitude!

Happy Caturday :smile:
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 +3~169 +6~196 +9.5~277

Jen,
Yeah, I need to make changes in that signature but to what, I have no idea anymore :lol:
If someone will tell me what should be there, I will fix it.
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 +3~169 +6~196

When Lucy first started getting lower numbers, I thought she acted like she didn't feel as well as she did when she was high. Later that switched, so she acted MUCH better in lower numbers than in high ones.

A friend who is diabetic explained that to me. She had been running high for a long time, that was normal for her. When she started insulin and her numbers went down to what is *really* normal, she felt like crap. At some point, though, her body adjusted and low became normal. One day her sugar went really high for some reason, and she felt horrible. She then realized that for the several years she was running high, what she *thought* was feeling normal really felt pretty bad, and she couldn't wait to get back down to her low numbers again. I guess it's just about what you're used to.
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 +3~169 +6~196

What was Shadoe's reaction when you told her she was an acrocat? I imagine it went like this..."So what? Where's my chicken cube or pure bites?"

I hope Shadoe is able to adjust to lower numbers soon.

Keep it up Gayle! (like you would do anything else, I know...but you deserve a :RAHCAT)

Thanks for sharing your and Shadoe's journey with us. It means a lot.
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 dose advise for pm shot pls

At the top of the hour is Shadoe's pm shot time.
Today's am shot was cycle 6, so normally I would go with the next increase to 13uR. I suppose that's still ok for tonite, but what about the R?

As I am aiming for bloos because Shadoe is an acro cat, should I be sticking with the same dose of Lantus, 12u, because she did have bloos today?

Also, what point determines how much R to give, if any?

I am thinking that the Lantus is based on nadir, but the R is based on the BG at the time of testing.

So, Shadoe had a nice bloo 160 today at +5, does that mean we are sticking with her current dose?
I am guessing that she will be high yellow or low pink at pmps, so we could likely stick with the same 1uR, yes?

What say you?
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 dose advise for pm shot pls

I *think* the idea for acro dosing is still to find a dose of L that works without needing much if any R. So that would mean increasing the Lantus, and then adjusting the R scale if needed (and that is the part I can't help much with). I think Carolyn is around, so hopefully she'll stop by with some better advice. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 dose advise for pm shot pls

as i understand it, the idea is to increase the lantus dose to the point where shadoe nadirs in blue and some green...
eventually, you want to find that lantus dose which will accomplish this without R. so, yes, i would increase the lantus dose tonight. maybe shadoe will be able to do with less R on an increased basal dose...

am looking for carolyn to confirm.
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 dose advise for pm shot pls

Thanks Jill and Libby,
I wondered about holding for 6 or 10 cycles with you get some bloos, but I like going ahead with 13uLantus because it's the weekend and I can sleep some other time if needed :lol:

Now, I have no sliding scale fitting to what Shadoe is doing and needing, but one scale I have seen is higher than what I have given - the highest only 1uR, so all of the below is above what I have ever given.
I suppose I will just go with 13uL and 1uR again unless I hear anything different.
Preshots
250-300 1.5u
300-400 2.0u
400 up 2.5u
Tests at +6
200-250
0.5u
250-300 1.0u
300-350
1.5u
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 pmps 351

I think I am getting better at what to expect from Shadoe.
Now, just watch her prove me the idiot!

Shadoe's bloos were so nice to see. Hopefully in time, she will start to feel that those numbers are the right ones. As expected, her ps was pink, so we went with the same old same old.

Now, as has been her pattern, we won't see much at +1, then her +2 will register a decent something. After that, with the new dose, who knows what will happen.

That's my prediction, but I will keep my day job.
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe amps 371 pmps 351

Good, glad to see you increased Gayle. The more close your basal dose gets, the less ugly pink you'll see and eventually you'll be all blue and yellow and it will be a happy happy day at your house :)
 
Re: 3/6 Shadoe pmps 351 +3~299

So far so good. The R seems to have brought us down to yellow, so we will hopefully see some bloos too.

Shadoe seems fine and slept through the last 2 tests; I think the R buzz has her all nice and mellow.
I don't expect to see anything exciting tonite, so maybe we will be able to get some sleep tonite; I'd like that.
 
Gayle and Shadoe said:
If someone will tell me what should be there, I will fix it.
Jen,
Yeah, I need to make changes in that signature but to what, I have no idea anymore :lol:
If someone will tell me what should be there, I will fix it.

How about, Shadoe, the luckiest to have Gayle as her Mama bean?? :smile:
You are a rock Gayle.
Very nice day today again and Shado is showing some very nice blues.
Glad its the weekend so you can try and get some relaxtion.
Hope we see another yellow pre-shot coming up.
 
And that's it for this cycle. By +5, everything is pretty much spent and we start the slow trek back up to pink land.

Shadoe's more alert now, and that's her signal of her 'sobering up' from the insulin.
It's weird, but I appreciate that I can recognize more and more what is going on.

I guess we will have another early nite, we are up at 6AM and will have to stay awake to test until I have to go out at 10am. Now would be a good time for me to sneak to bed; Shadoe is currently watching hockey :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top