. Please come down, Fortune!I see Fortune's BG meter was being overly friendly this morning. Please come down, Fortune!
I'm curious about Marty from your condo yesterday...with him recently being dx'd with early CKD. Why does he need special food with 34% carbs from the vet for that? Why not just feed him low phos LC food? Just asking out of curiousity.
I think it's based on cat's weight.
Thanks Suzanne! I'll post there for more clarity- I'm befuddled by HOW MUCH to give him with each meal. But he loved FF, so hopefully he devours it
Oh, that explains why he's been running so high today.... all the extra carbs. I hope he's feeling well. When is his next treatment or visit with the oncologist?
He wolfed down the A/D earlier today - so calorically I'm happy, but carb wise it's not great...
Hi Rachel, Tyler's brother Perry passed away 10-6-20. He was not diabetic My vet told me how much binder to give him . You do have to put it in every meal they eat.Right, so he would get 500mg per day. So would I just give it to him once, and can give him phosphorous foods throughout the day?![]()

You can show your vet my jar and ask how much to give
I was giving 1/8 of a teaspoon 3 times a day, then had to reduce it to 2 times a day
I would just take out the amount I needed and put it in a separate container and
use that for the day.
If you would like it just PM me and give me your address and I will mail it to you
@RachelG
I'll PM you later on. The treating internist told us that he doesn't need a phos binder yet Rachel this is weird , When I try to look at your SS it just keeps twirling and never comes up.
I can see everyone else's SS. I wonder if any one else is having the same problem.
I tried it on 3 different tablets I have
@RachelG
I got in ok though it took a bit longer than usualRachel this is weird , When I try to look at your SS it just keeps twirling and never comes up.
I can see everyone else's SS. I wonder if any one else is having the same problem.
LOL I think it's a 'control' thing....better to be tracking data yourself than just waiting for words of wisdom from the vets. Not that the vets aren't necessary, but I'm so much happier now I'm getting my own data!OH - it could be because we are messing around in it right now? We are adding a column for daily grams in addition to daily calories. Cuz I'm a big data nerd kitty mama that wants to fatten up Fortune. We also got a baby scale today - I'm very excited about more parameters, lol.
Is it my way of coping with the substandard care this internist has been providing Fortune? Maybe. Does it make me happy? Yes!
LOL I think it's a 'control' thing....better to be tracking data yourself than just waiting for words of wisdom from the vets. Not that the vets aren't necessary, but I'm so much happier now I'm getting my own data!
Sounds good Rachel, it's yours whenever you want it . I'm so happy Fortune ate the new food , give him kisses for me ♥OK BIG UPDATE: FORTUNE LOVES PHOSPHOROUS CONTAINING FOODS!! Haha we picked up some new low carb options with higher phosphorous (cuz phos bind) and oh my goodness!! He ate like himself!!We were CRYING with joy!! Now hopefully we can fatten this cat up while we figure out wtf is going on with his kidney...
Thank you, Diane! That would be greatI'll PM you later on. The treating internist told us that he doesn't need a phos binder yet
so we are going a bit rogue while we figure out how to get him in with a new internist who is a bit more proactive! That just means that for now I'm eyeballing the dose - we only started today, but tomorrow hopefully I will be able to give him the full 500mg. I like the idea of a separate container for keeping track, in no small part cuz I have spilled the container 3x so far.
That is weird! I haven't changed the link![]()
It's always good to keep in mind that Lantus is dosed on how low the kitty goes, not the average. Hopefully someone who gives dosing advice will be able to chime in about a possible increase before your shot timeon average

It's always good to keep in mind that Lantus is dosed on how low the kitty goes, not the average. Hopefully someone who gives dosing advice will be able to chime in about a possible increase before your shot time![]()
So glad to hear Fortune is eating - what a wonderful update!
LOL no doc has said binder, and the only one I asked (his treating internist) said it was not necessary, despite his VERY high phosphorous levels. So, I'm going rogue!Definitely the phosphorus binder is supposed to be at every meal. That much I do know. So one doc says no phosphorus binders and the other one says binders?
Have you tried Ledum Palustre 30c?to baby the ears more
I would increase. You had to take a reduction and yes there have been a few blue nadirs but overall not. See what the others think. Sheets was not behaving for me. I had to keep reloading until I finally could see the last few days it’s on my end not yours.

Have you tried Ledum Palustre 30c?
I read about that somewhere here and bought some at Whole Foods, under $10 though not completely sure about the dosing. I read 2 pellets dissolved in couple Tbsp of pure water, apply to the ear. It's homeopathic, for scratches and insect bites. I don't know if it's helping or not but it doesn't leave her ears as greasy as the neosporin. She doesn't seem to mind it, though I had a scratch on my arm and put some on and it felt a bit sting-y to me.
HA I just did a quick search and I read about it on YOUR condo here - did you get hold of any?! I definitely searched the forum afterwards to read up on the dosing.
But since you didn't retest, we don't know if it was a true value or not. If he really is going that low on this dose, you don't want to increase. And he did see green on the 2nd on this dose. If he's just bouncing from blues and the 56 was an error, then he does need an increase. Once the bounce is over, you'll know which situation you are dealing with.I thought the green might have been an outlier.
Sorry, forgot to answer this part. I'd always get a before bed test. The +2 on the 4th was so much higher than preshot, that the 56 does seem out of place. If the +2 is quite a bit lower than preshot, then you do need a later test at night.Should we be waking up more often to get spot checks in the PM cycle?
I'd always get a before bed test. The +2 on the 4th was so much higher than preshot, that the 56 does seem out of place. If the +2 is quite a bit lower than preshot, then you do need a later test at night.

I would be very reluctant to increase. He got at least as low as 56 a couple nights ago, maybe lower. That leaves practically no room for an increase. He is bouncing. This is only cycle 4 after the low. Put on those lovely patients tights from Katherine and hang tough with this dose and give him time to clear the bounce.