3/5 Tweety AMPS 134 +5 147 PMPS 146 +1 149

Teya and Tweety

Member Since 2024
What a wild night of anxiety, but all is well. Tweetys numbers were green city and were not used to that at all. I did give her a little extra treat but it was small and low carb as it was just before bed.

Hoping to get her meds today. Without them though, she's trending down. I wonder if the infection is really affecting her numbers.

***Bhooma answered this a I'd had it in a a question before shooting as Tweety was running lower than normal before shot. Please see overnight she stayed in the 90s and low 100s. Shot is due in 20 minutes. Reading at 128... should she get the normal dose? I feel like probably yes. I will be home all day. I have no words for how anxious this makes me. I know we want it to look like this all the green, but it's scary to give 1.5u . I'm going to look at some other charts to remind me this is "normal" but I'll try to stall until I hear from someone before shooting.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-4-tweety-amps-278-3-162-pmps-194-3-111-4-81-5-92.287355/
 
Last edited:
Yes, please give her the full dose. With SLGS you can shoot any number over 90 - especially if you can monitor. The size of the dose not affect a shooting decision if it is a good dose for the cat. So shoot! :-)

I presume 128 was on the Libre and not on the meter?
 
Yes, please give her the full dose. With SLGS you can shoot any number over 90 - especially if you can monitor. The size of the dose not affect a shooting decision if it is a good dose for the cat. So shoot! :)

I presume 128 was on the Libre and not on the meter?
OH MY Thank you so much I'm literally dosing her now. I waited 10 extra minutes praying someone would reply. Thank you! Yes Libre is also now 130s . Thank you so so much Bhooma. I was so scared. But my gut said it was best to do the 1.5u. Hugs to you!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I waited 10 extra minutes praying someone would reply.

If you can monitor, you want to shoot without stalling. Sometimes stalling without food can cause numbers to drop further, making the shooting decision even more difficult! As you get used to shoot lower, you will realize that you get lovely flat cycles when you do so. Also a preshot is no indicator of how a cycle will play out. You can drop to 90 from a preshot of 300 and actually stay flat when you shoot 150!

It's possible she might bounce from the lower numbers of last night. Try and verify any lows (say below 70) you see on the Libre with a meter.


:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
If you can monitor, you want to shoot without stalling. Sometimes stalling without food can cause numbers to drop further, making the shooting decision even more difficult! As you get used to shoot lower, you will realize that you get lovely flat cycles when you do so. Also a preshot is no indicator of how a cycle will play out. You can drop to 90 from a preshot of 300 and actually stay flat when you shoot 150!

It's possible she might bounce from the lower numbers of last night. Try and verify any lows (say below 70) you see on the Libre with a meter.


:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Very good reminders... It will take getting used to but what a great thing to get used to! I'd love for her to stay in this zone. I've seen so many other SS all green and blue and I'm hopeful for Tweety as well. Her Internal Medicine vet said to give her half a dose of under 100 and zero if under 80. Her primary said not to shoot below 140. So it's confusing. I'm going to talk to her primary about these numbers so we're on the same page. Meaning, shooting still above 90 on the Libre. NOTE her dose is for at 5:45 am. I shot at 5:55 and happened to refresh my feed right before and saw your reply! :) I wouldn't wait longer than 10-15 past a shooting time. I really try to be exactly 12 hours apart every shot. Whew! What a wild night and morning emotionally. No real sleep but her, she's safe. Thank you again so much and yes I'll be watching and testing on my Relion if she goes below 80 again. :bighug::cat:
 
@Teya and Tweety
Looking Good Teya, I'm just going to tag Bhooma and ask her since you got a BG of 81 @+4 last night ( 3/4 ) didn't Tweety earn a reduction this morning since Tweety dropped below 90 following the SLGS method unless Bhooma says otherwise or there is a reason not to reduce yet.
She will probably be on the board tonight since she lives in India
@Bandit's Mom
 
Last edited:
Hello Teya! I hope the meds come soon now. She had nice cycles recently!
Just got the call and on my way soon. :)
I hope Tweety's UTI clears up :cat:
Thank you - got the meds and she will be starting them at dinner/shot time. :) I am SO GLAD to finally have it in hand and get started.

I think we are good at this dose... Bhooma saw this morning where we were at. Plus we did determine the Libre is reading lower than the handheld. I think if she hits 70 on the Libre then we would need to consider a change if I am not able to use my Relion. Which, I am 99% certain you are the one who told me about it! THANK YOU. The Libre really does read lower it seems.

**Edit... her Libre Report shows her lowest to be 83 at 10 p.m. As you can imagine I was checking her a lot last night. I am not sure if Bhooma saw it or not actually. I think so though. We start her antibiotic shortly. I really wonder if it will affect her numbers at all., too.
 
Last edited:
Does anyone have tips of giving liquid meds? It was a disaster. :( She started gagging, she ran, she foamed and drooled and threw up. She hid from me and wouldn't come to dinner. She finally did but was afraid of me. Ugh. It was even flavored with tuna!! I'm so bummed out.
 
Wow. Doesn't seem like it was enough to cover the ick of the med. Can it be further disguised in bone broth or tuna juice or mixed in really wet strong food and syringed? Can you call the compounders or your vet and ask what they recommend in this case? Maybe they have an idea. I would guess the volume she gets as a dose is too much for filling a gel capsule and doing a pill with juice/water chaser to get it past her mouth. Does it have to be an oral med?

I hope others have ideas.
 
Does anyone have tips of giving liquid meds? It was a disaster. :( She started gagging, she ran, she foamed and drooled and threw up. She hid from me and wouldn't come to dinner. She finally did but was afraid of me. Ugh. It was even flavored with tuna!! I'm so bummed out.
Is this Clavamox? I am giving Falafel the same thing right now, and it works easier for me in pill form. It's more compacted medicine so I can quickly pill like this video shows in the Pilling page. Then I make sure she eats some wet food after.
 
Is this Clavamox? I am giving Falafel the same thing right now, and it works easier for me in pill form. It's more compacted medicine so I can quickly pill like this video shows in the Pilling page. Then I make sure she eats some wet food after.
Hi there, no its chloramphenicol. So it had to be compounded. It's a smaller capsule I cover in food and she eats it's. I'm so relieved! No liquid ever again for Miss Tweety. I hope your Falafel recovers quickly, too. :cat:
 
Hi there, no its chloramphenicol. So it had to be compounded. It's a smaller capsule I cover in food and she eats it's. I'm so relieved! No liquid ever again for Miss Tweety. I hope your Falafel recovers quickly, too. :cat:
I agree, liquid is so much scarier because there's so much more of it to get down.
Thank you!! I hope Tweety is doing better!
 
Back
Top