? 3/5 PMPS 133 / +2 90 / +3 60 / What shoud I do?

Cat DJ

Member Since 2021
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...ROu15cp0xaP7Qu-Nal-cN8y9U/edit#gid=1536941997

The cat(Pepe) on the link above needs help(Not my kitty).

It is a cat that has been attempting the TR protocol since Feb 25th.
He experienced hypoglycemic shock in September last year. After the hypoglycemic shock, the vet was guiding to increase by 0.1U.

She knows the TR protocol and is trying it.
She's cat have seen a low number in 3U. She've been trying to change it to a 10 o'clock shot, so she changed it to a 10 o'clock injection the day she saw a low APMS and returned to the 2.65U.

Now, her cat continues to drop in numbers after eating low-carb wet food. What should I do?
 
Pepe, according to past records, constantly falls at a high speed when the number drops, and then makes a big bounce.
 
What is the cat's number now?
If it's quite low don't you think she should be feeding high carb food and testing every 20 minutes?
I don't know what the number is though.
 
99/90 +2.5 60/76 +3.5 those are the most recent? And he dropped after high carb food? That's what it looks like in the notes.
 
What is the cat's number now?
If it's quite low don't you think she should be feeding high carb food and testing every 20 minutes?
I don't know what the number is though.

I think I brought the wrong link. There's a link here.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1atB2r_t7X75yqkSnTVROu15cp0xaP7Qu-Nal-cN8y9U/edit?usp=sharing

He ate 1 tsp of high-carb wet food an hour ago and the number went up a little.

What we're worried about is that once the numbers started to fall, Pepe showed too much of a continuous fall.
So He went through dangerous situations.

I'm asking for help not to go through this again!
 
I am seeing the spreadsheet. From what I can see so are many others looking at it now.

How many minutes ago was the last test?
 
Does she not speak English?
Yes. Keep feeding and testing every 20-30 minutes to make sure you are keeping the kitty above 50 on your human meter.
 
And if you don't get the desired response from the carbs you can increase carb percentages or add in honey or karo syrup or pure maple syrup. But 60 is not dangerous, but I understand you are saying Pepe has a tendency to drop.
 
Still hanging in the 60s is safe. Just keep feeding small amounts of food (small so kitty won't get filled up and stop eating) and keep testing every 30 minutes is probably okay since you are in the sixties and have been for an hour of so now.
 
Still hanging in the 60s is safe. Just keep feeding small amounts of food (small so kitty won't get filled up and stop eating) and keep testing every 30 minutes is probably okay since you are in the sixties and have been for an hour of so now.
Good! She is willing to test every 15 minutes because she experienced a dangerous moment for her kitty!
She is not familiar with English.
 
It takes 20-30 minutes fir the food to effect the bg. Honey will work in 15 but leaves quickly.

She has a concentration of 20% glucose water 10cc and no honey. I told her to prepare syrup mixed with water and sugar on 1:1.
 
Then check in 20 - 30 minutes. I don't like how he seems determined to drop. But I think he's going to be just fine with all this good care. She's not going to allow him to go too low!
 
He just ate 1 tsp HC. She'll check the numbers in 30 minutes!
She's ready to protect Pepe from a low number:)
 
If you find that you have to keep feeding higher carbs to keep him over 50, you might want to reduce his dose to 2.5U tomorrow. It's not a full 0.25U reduction but it will get the dose into round numbers (multiples of 0.25U).
 
Yes! And you are a very good friend! Thank you.

My kitty, DJ also got a lot better with the help of this site:)
(The DJ is biting my hand, disapproving that I am using the computer because of another cat!)

I just wanted to let many Korean diabetic cats know about TR.
In Korea, if I check the number of less than 200 in Preshot, should skip insulin or reduce dose. If you look at Pepe's SS, you will see this situation.
The TR method is still too aggressive for Korean prescriptions!
 
If you find that you have to keep feeding higher carbs to keep him over 50, you might want to reduce his dose to 2.5U tomorrow. It's not a full 0.25U reduction but it will get the dose into round numbers (multiples of 0.25U).
She is preparing 2.5U for the next AMPS:)
 
A lot of U.S. Veterninarians will give the same advice about the 200 number. They tell you not to shoot.

Well, and then there are the vets who say not to bother to test at home at all!
 
He ate 1 tsp of HC again.

If it's less than 60 when 30 minutes later, how about eat mix 1tsp HC and 1cc syrup?
 
He ate 1 tsp of HC again.

If it's less than 60 when 30 minutes later, how about eat mix 1tsp HC and 1cc syrup?
Personally, if it were my cat, I would. I'd just want to get the number up a little bit.... just me... not because he's not still okay in the 50s... I just understand the anxiety after what Pepe has been through in the past. I would not want to send the kitty soaring into higher numbers either.
 
It would be nice if Pepe could stay in green though... maybe just a little bit higher of a green?

That's what I think, too!
Then I'll keep giving him HC little by little and watch. It's not under 50 yet.

Pepe is going to eat 40g of LC for +6. (Just like he did every day)
But on 3/1 Pepe had to keep eating something because it didn't help.
 
Last edited:
+5.5 64!
But she gave him 1 tsp of HC.

After 30 minutes, I hope Pepe stays safe in green after eating 40g of LC!
 
Pepe didn't like HC so much that he would be ready to eat LC happily.:cat:
That's why sometimes it's just better to mix the foods or even to put the glucose into the food that he likes -- the problem with glucose, as you know, is that it wears off quickly.
 
Back
Top