3/5 Ducia AMPR 262,1.25U,+3 233, ketones Large

Status
Not open for further replies.
Giving honey or ice cream or Karo is not even remotely the same as having IV access for D50 or possessing Glucagon in the event of low numbers.

This cat is waaaaay too sensitive to even suggest the use of R at home. In a vet's office, this cat would be titrated with a constant rate infusion using a syringe pump.
I agree. These are precisely the reasons why Ducia should be hospitalized as the vet recommended. Given the circumstances, continued ketones, and combined with the reasons you stated... it's not safe to treat at her home. Ducia should be on a glucose drip in order to receive the insulin she sorely needs. At this point, it's the safest way to give her the insulin she needs... not skipped shots or reduced doses because preshot numbers are too low. Hospitalization is the only way to safely give her the insulin she needs.

It's not about the numbers... not about achieving low BG numbers. It's about getting enough insulin into the cat as safely as is possible.


Just my thoughts...
 
not skipped shots or reduced doses because preshot numbers are too low. Hospitalization is the only way to safely give her the insulin she needs.
I wish we could afford. The reality that we are not. We have to do our best here.
So the situation is like that:
Her +11 is 96, slightly up from +10 77.
She ate. She will receive food one way or another after PMPR in 40 min.
She will get her insulin. The question is how much.
Her AMPR was 262. She got 1.25.
Right now, an hour before shot and 70 min after some food she is 96.
I'll tell you her preshot and I pray it's above 150 then we can give 1U.It is only a hope.
 
She will get her insulin. The question is how much.
Given PumpkinsMom advice:
Do not give high-carb food unless she is legitimately having low numbers.
Given the above, I feel like my hands are tied. I must defer dosing to PumpkinsMom.

Since kitty cannot be on a glucose drip to keep her from bottoming out when given a full dose and you're being told not to give high carb food... I'm at a total loss as to how you can possibly get as much insulin into Ducia as she needs to thwart off ketones.

Not trying to be coy or obstinate. I honestly don't know how you can shoot safely without bumping up Ducia's numbers and keeping them up with high carb food... and still give her the insulin she needs.

 
I'm praying it's a number you feel okay shooting, too. Like I tried to say yesterday, think about what would be the limit you would shoot without skipping. She needs the insulin right now to fight those ketones. She also needs food, like 1.5 times what she normally would eat. I'm glad she's feeling good. Keep up the fight.
I am an early to bed and early riser and on the east coast, so I can't always be there to help you. I hope you will get lots of help tonight.
I wish you and her The Best.
 
I honestly don't know how you can shoot safely without bumping up Ducia's numbers and keeping them up with high carb food... and still give her the insulin she needs.
That is what I am trying to figure out now. She will receive low carb/114 calorie half can of food in gravy she used to like. We can delay shot. retest.
Like I said, I defer to PumpkinsMom. If she doesn't come back on the board before shot time, I would text her if I were in your shoes. Under these circumstances, perhaps DCIN follows methods I know nothing about.
 
PMPR BG 99, ate about 2/3 can food which is slightly higher in carbs that the current. Retest @+1.
We decided to go with 0.75U. Thanks god you guys told me to get half unit marked syringes!
 
just a question....
IF Dcin is helping, won't her vet see her and work with dcin?

Honestly, neither the ER vet nor Ducia's regular vet is diabetes knowledgeable. They won't cut us a break at all. The ER vets, with the exception of one doctor, have been incredibly hard to work with. None of the vets are on the same page. One called Tanya about how Ducia was worse than ever. Tanya texted me. As soon as my class ended, I called the vet. That vet was gone and the new vet was like "I don't know why the other vet said that, Ducia is doing better."

I would really like Ducia to be able to see a vet recommended by a DCIN adopter.

If we can get Ducia's fundraiser a little more funded and find a better vet that will also offer us a discount, we'll be able to help Ducia some more.

Just for transparency, it really is rare that a vet does not offer a discount to us. I always ask because all of our money comes from donations and our donors deserve to have their money go as far as possible.
 
If we can get Ducia's fundraiser a little more funded and find a better vet that will also offer us a discount, we'll be able to help Ducia some more.
Since talk of fundraisers by groups or individuals must be approved by our board Administrator prior to posting on the FDMB, Chris & China messaged Robert about Tanya and Ducia for approval. In response to Chris' request, Robert agreed those following may contact Chris privately for information.
 
Chris just told me that I can't make my own thread about the fundraiser but I can post it on any of Tanya and Ducia's threads. [Link removed by moderator.]

Thank you for making an exception and allowing DCIN to continue to help diabetic cats everywhere!

Sorry, there's obviously been some miscommunication.
Those wishing to help out Tanya and Ducia, please contact Chris & China directly.
Thank you!
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Tanya, how is Ducia today?
I am also eager for the Ducia update! My heart sinks every time I see this post title with the "ketones large" note-- last I heard you had gotten a "trace" reading yesterday afternoon. I am hoping that that result has held up, but please do let us know!
 
Tanya, how is Ducia doing today? Prayer for her ketones to be trace and for her to be eating well, playing, and pooping.
 
Hi Tanya,

I see on your SS that you've been working very hard to care for Ducia. I'me very glad to see that the ketone tests are showing trace only. You still need to watch her carefully. Please let us know how you're doing when you have a bit of free time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top