? 3/5 Coda AMPS 87 NS "+1" 77

Status
Not open for further replies.
You don't want to base whether you shoot on numbers after eating -- those numbers reflect a food spike. Can you re-test since it's been about 30 min?

With SLGS, your options are to NOT FEED and:

  • stall. Wait 20 - 30 min, re-test and see if numbers are rising. You need to have the flexibility to adjust your schedule if you end up stalling for a while.
  • shoot a reduced dose
  • skip
 
Has anyone else dealt with sick kitties and low preshots?
Unfortunately yes. But two things helped me. First, Neko was on Levemir so she wouldn't onset for 5 hours, so I had quite a while to get food into her. Second, I knew I could assist feed and get the calories/carbs in her. From experience I also knew that if I could get at least her meal in her early in the cycle, it would be OK to shoot and I could get the rest of the food in her later. Since you are continuing to skip insulin, I would make sure you get a ketones test in. :bighug:

How is Coda doing tonight? Do you think he would be receptive to assist feeding? Often if I got a little bit of food in Neko, it would "prime the pump" so to speak. I also had antinausea meds on hand (very handy for pancreatitis too) and dealing with nausea would also get her to eat. Sometimes I needed to use both cerenia and ondansetron - they work on different nausea receptors so one or the other or both might be needed.

Did the vet include the SpecfPL test in the bloodwork so you can see if it's positive for pancreatitis? I've often seen a cat look fine on visual inspection of the mouth and have something brewing below the gum line. You need dental Xrays to verify. Mouth pain can also cause reluctance to eat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top