3/5 AMPS 175, PMPS 96— need advice

Autumn - Sunday’s mom

Member Since 2021
Hi all!

I recently moved my sugar cat, Sunday’s insulin dose up to .75 units from .50 units. She’s been doing really well. She just tested at 96 and I have not administered her evening dose yet because I’m worried it may be too low to give her more insulin.

Should I do a lower dose or what should I do?

thanks
 
That's good, numbers are coming up on their own. You can shoot regular dose, although I'd like to suggest getting a test or two tonight. Do you think you can do that, to see how the cycle goes? you haven't had any midcycle tests in a while, and that 96 makes me wonder what she did earlier in the cycle. Remember, we dose based on nadirs, with only some consideration to preshots. There's a lot of white on the SS ;)
 
That's good, numbers are coming up on their own. You can shoot regular dose, although I'd like to suggest getting a test or two tonight. Do you think you can do that, to see how the cycle goes? you haven't had any midcycle tests in a while, and that 96 makes me wonder what she did earlier in the cycle. Remember, we dose based on nadirs, with only some consideration to preshots. There's a lot of white on the SS ;)
Thank you for your help. Yes, I definitely can. Should I do a curve tonight or just get a couple on mid cycle and tomorrow throughout the day as well?
 
Thank you for your help. Yes, I definitely can. Should I do a curve tonight or just get a couple on mid cycle and tomorrow throughout the day as well?
You're welcome. No I don't think a curve tonight is necessary, but a spot check maybe at +2 would be wise. With many kitties the +2 can be a good indication of how the cycle will go. If much lower than preshot, that usually means you need to watch more closely and get another test or two. If the +2 is higher, that tends to suggest there won't be a large drop in BG coming.

Some spot checks/tests tomorrow again would be worthwhile if you can.
 
You're welcome. No I don't think a curve tonight is necessary, but a spot check maybe at +2 would be wise. With many kitties the +2 can be a good indication of how the cycle will go. If much lower than preshot, that usually means you need to watch more closely and get another test or two. If the +2 is higher, that tends to suggest there won't be a large drop in BG coming.

Some spot checks/tests tomorrow again would be worthwhile if you can.
Thank you so much. I am so grateful for your help and your quick response. Sunday says thank you as well. I will post a new update tomorrow.
 
Last edited:
Hi Amber here is your previous post
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-10-amps-196-9-260-need-advice.259175/#post-2914640

your spreadsheet says you are following TR you might want to correct it if you are following SLGS.
You definitely need more testing for both 12 hour cycles for whichever method you are following :cat:

Here is the link again about the 2 methods
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
Hi Diane, my name is Autumn. I will focus on getting more tests over the next few weeks and will update my spreadsheet. Thank you.
 
Back
Top