3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37, PMPS 282; dose decrease

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Very Active Member
yesterday: viewtopic.php?p=79485#p79485

Good Morning Everyone,

Stu is starting the day in yellow and getting off to his usual energetic activities: good breakfast, good litterbox contributions, a brief excursion outdoors to check on the weeds (didn't stay out long because it's pretty cold), came back inside and had a terrific play with "Big Bug" (his exercise toy) and his paper bag, catnip mice, catnip fish, etc. Now he's eating the rest of his breakfast (EVO turkey & chicken). We're hoping for some blue later, maybe even a high green. We'll check in from time to time. Everyone have a good day with no big surprises!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279

Sounds like a great WCR!! Moonie eats, bathes, & sleeps in the am after her shot--She'll be out in an hour or 2--
Stu sounds very active & that's great..Hope you have a wonderful day today--
Stu could bring you some nice numbers today!
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37!!!!!

37 at +3.25. I'll test him again at +4. This is scary. I fed him some EVO dry, the rest of his LC breakfast, and a LC chicken chunk. He ate with gusto. He seems fine--his usual self. Will report back soon.

Ella
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37!!!!!

OMG do they hear us?? I tell ya, they read this board!! Hope he comes up, definitely will with the dry--Dosecrease!! Ask dosing peeps for ideas!!
Good show though Stu!!!! Moonie may follow :lol:
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37!!!!!

Ella do you have any HC wet? EVO, while being dry, is LC.. and EVO does not get into the bloodstream very fast. I think you need to test in 15 mins. If you don't have HC wet, give Karo.
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37 Worry

Ella:

If you don't have HC wet in the house, add some syrup, about a 1/4 - 1/2 teaspoon, to LC.

And, lay in a stock of HC Fancy Feast -- the kind with gravy that's over 18% carb.
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37 Worry

Also, when you get a number below 40, please retest every 15 min. until the numbers are stable and above 50. In other words, get at least 2 above 50 numbers. You want to make sure these isn't any bobbling around. Then drop testing to every 30 min. Then retest after an hour.
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37 Worry

He came up to 42 at +4 (I was outside with him and just saw the new posts). I fed him some HC fancy feast (grilled turkey with gravy) (eaten with enthusiasm) and will test again in 15 minutes. Thanks for the detailed instructions.
Ella
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37 Worry

Hi Ella
Now it is your turn for excitement.
I would also like to say when these numbers are low, you would only want to give 2 tsp of the food (HC in the 30's, MC in the 40's) And the gravy is where the HC is.
The reason why you don;' want to give too much food is you have to make sure that Stu does not get full if you have to keep feeding to get his numbers ups.
MC is considered regular Lc with some gravy on it.
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37 Worry

good catch! the others have offered good suggestions. keep testing every 15 minutes until you see a good rise. and please keep stu inside if it's cold out. being cold can lower his numbers...
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37 Worry

For HC I use Friskies meaty bits gourmet grill, as the gravy is plentiful, and for MC I use elegant medleys chicken tuscany, also works well, but of course, it depends on his taste!!--Stu is doing soooo great--Good catch! I also have karo but havent used yet..The Gravy is the place where the carbs lie!!
Come on up Mr. Stu!!
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37 Worry

46 at +4.25. Am going to test again now (+4.6). (Well, didn't quite get the test on time because I had trouble getting blood out of his ear.) At 5 minutes to +5 Stu's bg is 50. Fed him some FF gravy on his LC food (he ate the gravy and left the food!). He's meowing like more for more gravy. Will test again in 15 minutes (poor ears).
Ella
Question: how do you put more than 1 number into the hour box in Google Docs spreadsheet? I notice that many of you do this, but when I try Google Docs won't accept them.
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37 Worry, +5 50

I hope we're out of the woods: 66 at +5.5. I fed him some of his normal LC Evo canned Turkey & Chicken and a little Purina DM dry (which is higher in carbs than EVO dry). Now that he's tasted Fancy Feast HC, that's what he wants! I'll go to the store to restock this afternoon (I've never heard of Elegant Medleys, Roni. Our rural stores don't carry a huge selection. (Next week we'll be in NYC for a couple of days and will stock up there.)
Thanks again, everyone, for your help, advice, suggestions. Sienne, as if you didn't already have enough on your plate you must have sent your advice while you were on your way to the airport! You get Stu's extra thanks!!!
Ella
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37 Worry, +5 50, +5.5 66

Ella when I want to add more than one number to the box in the ss I put in the number hit the space bar then another number. It will not come up with a color with more than one number so you have to add the color yourself.

Since Stu has no problem with wet food I would also suggest that you stick to the wet HC only. Dry food takes longer to get into the system and longer to come out. If he only eats the gravy that is fine because that is where most of the carbs are.
Nice catch. :-D
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37 Worry, +5 50, +5.5 66

(((Ella & Stu)) Wow!! Lovely greens.. but so sudden :shock:

Geez.... I know how those can make your heart literally stop! Yay for the Greens though :thumbup
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37 Worry, +5 50, +5.5 66, +6.25 44

I guess I spoke too soon. Stu decided he liked the HC Fancy Feast so much that he dropped to 44 at +6.25. I think this is his normal nadir time, but don't like the drop after he had climbed into the safe zone. I'll test again (ears in tatters!) in 15 minutes. I fed him a spoonful of FF chicken & beef feast in gravy. Thanks for helping!
Ella
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37 Worry, +5 50, +5.5 66, +6.25 44

You are doing great Ella.
See what you learned from reading Max's condo.
While you are waiting to test, try and update your ss as Miriam suggested.

As an example, in the +5 box you would write as follows: 50, @ 5.5, 66. You would do that for as many numbers as you test in the one hour period. Then when you hit +6, you would do the same. Then you go to the little bar on top and change the colour of the box to green. When I have a lot of numbers in the box like I did yesterday, I change the font colour to white so it is
easier to read.
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37, +5 50, +5.5 66, +6.25 44, 65

Thanks, everyone. We are back up to 65 at +6.75. Will test again in 1/2 hour. Will try to get the SS correct now!
Ella
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37, +5 50, +5.5 66, +6.25 44, 65

Stu's bg number at +7.75: 87. I hope that now we are finally out of the woods! Gave him a little more HC as a treat. Can anyone tell me how long I should continue to serve the HC food before going back to his usual LC diet? Also, how high should his PMPS number be in order to shoot the full dose of Lantus (3.25 units)? (Normally it is somewhere between 250 and 350). Thank you all so very much!

Ella
(P.S. Got stuck on the SS and didn't notice that a whole hour went by between tests, not the 1/2 hour I had planned)
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37, +5 50, +5.5 66, +6.25 44, 65

A 37 is an automatic dose decrease.
Stu will probably bounce from this.
To answer you question about HC.....it can depend on where you are in the cycle. If you are below 40 you feed a little HC and test every 15 minutes. Usually for the 40's I feed lc but if it is early in the cycle you can give a little HC. I would also test every 15 minutes for the 40's.
For the 50's you can feed a little lc. You should only feed a little at a time especially early in the cycle. You don't want Stu to be too full in case you need to feed throughout the cycle.....as you see he dropped back into the 40's.
Once you are in the 70's or 80's you do not need to keep feeding. It is perfectly fine to surf these numbers.

If your regular dose is 3.25 I would think your new dose will be 3.0 but you may want to get more input on this.
Nice job managing the low numbers today. :thumbup
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37, +7.75 87

Exciting morning! You did a great job feeding and testing and staying calm, and even getting your SS fixed in between. :) Pat yourself on the back, and give Stu a little chin scratch.
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37, +7.75 87, +10 163; decrease dose?

Hi again everyone, Thank you for helping us! +10 reading is 163. I will see what the number is at PMPS and possibly decrease the dose by .25 (to 3.00 units). Additional advice on the dose decrease is welcome!

Ella
 
Re: 3/4 Stu AMPS 279, +3 37, +7.75 87, +10 163; decrease dose?

great job today, Ella. :smile: Stu earned his first dose reduction! You can take him down to 3 units. If he bounces high before then, you can shoot 3.25 one last time if you want to help him get through the rebound. It doesn't look like that will be necessary, though.

Gooooo Stu!
 
Wow, what a day! PMPS was 282, so decided to take Miriam's and Libby's advice and decrease Stu's dose to 3 units this evening. I feel more comfortable decreasing the dose now rather than worrying all night! Everyone has been such a help to us today. Thank you all so much!
Ella & Stu (who will be allowed to rest his ears until bedtime)
 
Excellent Job Today!!!Stu did great!! Be proud of yourself!!
BTW, Elegant Medleys is from fancy feast & have greens & all sorts of med.carb thingys in it--Just mentioned it because it works well for us without much bounce!! Big Hugs for today!!!!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top