Jason & Belle (GA)
Member Since 2010
Morning all,
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=37723
Edit 10:30AM EST: PMPS 64, +13 82, +14 122, +14.5 155. I shot 1.25u. I'll be home all day with her and with the steady rise, I felt comfortable giving her a slightly reduced dose.
Gracie has been all over the place with her numbers, but I've seen some improvement on her midcycle numbers. Her PS's are always high. She slept with me all night and got up with me this morning all happy and playing. As usual, she ran to her feeding room to get her test, breakfast and shot. Preshot's are pretty much a foregone conclusion here, so I always draw the insulin before the test and do them together. Well, this morning I get a 67. Can't be right so I test again and get 64. Wow. On occasion I have to be away and my wife gives the shots, but doesn't test. I ran up to her and said "This is why we test!, This is why we test! We would have killed her if we didn't!" Edit: Waited an hour, she ate 1/4 can Quail & Chicken BG, 1/4 Cowboy Cookout + a little kibble, and is at 82.
I have no idea what's happening with Gracie and I'll be testing her throughout the day, but this is a perfect example of the need for testing. There is no possible way anyone would have expected a 64 from her this morning, yet there it was. It came out of nowhere. So to all of you that are scared of testing or don't test regularly, here's why you need to. Just the fact that you are giving insulin means you care, so take the extra step to assure you're doing it safely by testing, at a minimum AMPS and PMPS, everyday.
Have a great day!
Jason
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=37723
Edit 10:30AM EST: PMPS 64, +13 82, +14 122, +14.5 155. I shot 1.25u. I'll be home all day with her and with the steady rise, I felt comfortable giving her a slightly reduced dose.
Gracie has been all over the place with her numbers, but I've seen some improvement on her midcycle numbers. Her PS's are always high. She slept with me all night and got up with me this morning all happy and playing. As usual, she ran to her feeding room to get her test, breakfast and shot. Preshot's are pretty much a foregone conclusion here, so I always draw the insulin before the test and do them together. Well, this morning I get a 67. Can't be right so I test again and get 64. Wow. On occasion I have to be away and my wife gives the shots, but doesn't test. I ran up to her and said "This is why we test!, This is why we test! We would have killed her if we didn't!" Edit: Waited an hour, she ate 1/4 can Quail & Chicken BG, 1/4 Cowboy Cookout + a little kibble, and is at 82.
I have no idea what's happening with Gracie and I'll be testing her throughout the day, but this is a perfect example of the need for testing. There is no possible way anyone would have expected a 64 from her this morning, yet there it was. It came out of nowhere. So to all of you that are scared of testing or don't test regularly, here's why you need to. Just the fact that you are giving insulin means you care, so take the extra step to assure you're doing it safely by testing, at a minimum AMPS and PMPS, everyday.
Have a great day!
Jason