3/4 GracieD AMPS 64 +13-82 +14-122. +14.5 156, +1 153

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jason & Belle (GA)

Member Since 2010
Morning all,

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=37723

Edit 10:30AM EST: PMPS 64, +13 82, +14 122, +14.5 155. I shot 1.25u. I'll be home all day with her and with the steady rise, I felt comfortable giving her a slightly reduced dose.

Gracie has been all over the place with her numbers, but I've seen some improvement on her midcycle numbers. Her PS's are always high. She slept with me all night and got up with me this morning all happy and playing. As usual, she ran to her feeding room to get her test, breakfast and shot. Preshot's are pretty much a foregone conclusion here, so I always draw the insulin before the test and do them together. Well, this morning I get a 67. Can't be right so I test again and get 64. Wow. On occasion I have to be away and my wife gives the shots, but doesn't test. I ran up to her and said "This is why we test!, This is why we test! We would have killed her if we didn't!" Edit: Waited an hour, she ate 1/4 can Quail & Chicken BG, 1/4 Cowboy Cookout + a little kibble, and is at 82.

I have no idea what's happening with Gracie and I'll be testing her throughout the day, but this is a perfect example of the need for testing. There is no possible way anyone would have expected a 64 from her this morning, yet there it was. It came out of nowhere. So to all of you that are scared of testing or don't test regularly, here's why you need to. Just the fact that you are giving insulin means you care, so take the extra step to assure you're doing it safely by testing, at a minimum AMPS and PMPS, everyday.

Have a great day!

Jason
 
Re: 3/4 GracieD AMPS 64 -Why Testing is so Vital!

I don't think shooting a 64 would have "killed" Gracie unless you gave a shot and left for the day. Are you planning on stalling to see if Gracie's numbers come up? Will that even be possible for your schedule?

You might want to keep this post on handling low pre-shots handy.
 
Re: 3/4 GracieD AMPS 64 -Why Testing is so Vital!

Good morning guys .. what a wonderful number to start the day, and I agree, testing is so very important! I hope gracie just surfs the day away for you .. have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 3/4 GracieD AMPS 64 -Why Testing is so Vital!

I was being a little dramatic, but when I'm not around, my wife does shoot and leave for the day. She'd have no supervision(Gracie that is :)). I just tested again after waiting an hour and she's at 82. She ate 3oz of food (Quail and Chicken BG and Cowboy Cookout) plus a little kibble early in that hour.

I will be with her all day and testing. At what point do I just forgo the AM shot and wait until PM?

Sienne and Gabby said:
I don't think shooting a 64 would have "killed" Gracie unless you gave a shot and left for the day. Are you planning on stalling to see if Gracie's numbers come up? Will that even be possible for your schedule?

You might want to keep this post on handling low pre-shots handy.
 
Re: 3/4 GracieD AMPS 64 -Why Testing is so Vital!

I was being a little dramatic, but when I'm not around, my wife does shoot and leave for the day.

:lol: :lol: :lol:

We won't tell your wife otherwise :mrgreen: She really has to test and if drama makes the point, I'm all for it :lol:
 
Re: 3/4 GracieD AMPS 64 +13-82 +14-122, What should I do?

Her +14 is up to 122. What should I shoot? The full amount or a fraction? Would that delay her PM shot by the full delayed amount?

Thanks,

Jason
 
Re: 3/4 GracieD AMPS 64 +13-82 +14-122, What should I do?

If you shoot now, your PM shot will need to be 12 hours from the time you actually shoot. When you stall, you don't want to feed since you don't know if numbers are coming up on their own or if you're seeing a food spike. If you fed some kibble, there's a good chance you've got a food spike. It sounds like being off schedule by 2 hours will be a problem. If so, and if this is indeed a food spike, you're best to skip the shot.

I'd also ditch the kibble. It takes a while for it to raise BG and it takes forever to clear a cat's system. Gravy-type canned food is much quicker and easier to work with. Your AMPS was not a problem, especially if you were stalling or not shooting.
 
Re: 3/4 GracieD AMPS 64 +13-82 +14-122, What should I do?

Thanks Sienne,

I didn't feed to get her numbers up, and the kibble is out for my 7 other cats so I do my best to feed her when she wants so she doesn't do any grazing. This morning, she was starving so I fed her as usual(otherwise, she'll eat dry). She was still hungry though, so as I was trying to feed my CRF cat, she went after the kibble. I had to call my wife to feed Gracie more wet food so she would leave the kibble alone. It's certainly not ideal, the dry has to be out for the other cats. I'd love to have them all on wet, but it would be impossible since they would all need to be separated or fed at different times to make it work.

In the past, her BG's have shot up after a missed or reduced dose, so I'll continue to test and if I see a huge jump, I may shoot. Edit: PMPS 64, +13 82, +14 122, +14.5 155. I shot 1.25u. I'll be home all day with her and with the steady rise, I felt comfortable giving her a slightly reduced dose.

Jason


Sienne and Gabby said:
If you shoot now, your PM shot will need to be 12 hours from the time you actually shoot. When you stall, you don't want to feed since you don't know if numbers are coming up on their own or if you're seeing a food spike. If you fed some kibble, there's a good chance you've got a food spike. It sounds like being off schedule by 2 hours will be a problem. If so, and if this is indeed a food spike, you're best to skip the shot.

I'd also ditch the kibble. It takes a while for it to raise BG and it takes forever to clear a cat's system. Gravy-type canned food is much quicker and easier to work with. Your AMPS was not a problem, especially if you were stalling or not shooting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top