3/4 Cobb PMPS 83 (rt 85) +1 94 +2 82 +3 87 +6 146

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Whew! Cobb is recovering nicely from that fur shot.

Last night we saw a steady drop:
PMPS - 447 grr_red
+2 - 331
+3 - 322
+7 - 212
AMPS - 295

I'll give him a few more cycles to see how he does since we have seen some blues on this dose. I hate increasing because we'll see blue on a dose, increase and then Cobb will stick in the high-200s/300s. Makes no sense. It makes me hesitant to increase.

As for right now, all 5 P's in place. Appetite is good.

Question about reduced doses...so I'm going to be out of town this weekend. Matt will be taking care of Cobb. His schedule is changing but he might have to work Sunday morning. If he does, he would have to shoot Cobb at 5:30a, instead of 7am. He wouldn't be home to test until around noon or 1pm. Since he would be shooting at +9.5 (with the DST change), should he shoot a reduced dose? I don't want to mess with the timing since we're going to have to adjust for daylight savings anyway, which we'll be doing after I get back. Thoughts?

Thanks!! Happy Tuesday!!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb AMPS 295 - shot time question

I don't have an dosing answer for you with regards to the Sunday's shot time.

I can tell you that as you increase the doses, you'll see that the #s will come down further. It'll be a slow process, however, it will happen. Keep up the good work. You're both doing a wonderful job, and hang in there. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb AMPS 295 - shot time question

Is there any way you can start to move the schedule back now by 30 mins a day? That would be the best option.
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb AMPS 295 - shot time question

I could but then that would have me getting up earlier than I do now to give his shot and I'm already pretty low on sleep. Matt usually leaves for work at 3:30, but on Sundays he gets to "sleep in" a little later.

I'm looking for a second option, other than moving the shot time over the course of this week because we really have to ultimately have to move it to 4:30 since that's what 5:30 on Sunday morning would be.

If he has to work, our options are either skip or shoot less...

His schedule is changing so that's why it is up in the air as to whether he has to work on Sunday.
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb AMPS 295 - shot time question

Ok...just thought I'd offer up the simplest way first :-D But I totally understand because you've got sweet Matty so I know you see already dealing with that exhaustion plus FD.

Cobbs depot is pretty large and so you might not see the effects of a reduced dose that you shoot on Sunday morning. I'm thinking you could shoot a bit of a reduced dose Saturday night to start draining the depot a bit and then shoot another reduced dose Sunday morning. Others might have different suggestions and I'd be curious to hear Wendy and Julie's thoughts since they've dealt with high doses.
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb AMPS 295 - shot time question

Ok. Thanks! I just know Matt isn't going to wake up at 4:30 on Saturday morning to give the shot. It's his only day to sleep "late." Lol
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb AMPS 295 - shot time question

There is always the option to skip but I'm not sure that is the best option for Cobb.
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb AMPS 295 - shot time question

You know....you could also try an 18 hour shot time depending on how long Matt works Sunday.

For example, if he shot at 7 am on Saturday, then the next shot would be at 1 PM on Sunday (which would actually be 2 after the time change). Then you could shoot at 7 Monday night which would actually only be 17 hours but with the 18 hour schedule, he might be a little high so it would be ok to shoot an hour early. We have used 18 hour schedules before.
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb AMPS 295 - shot time question

Interesting. You would shoot the regular dose?

I definitely don't want to skip.

I wish my sister was a bit more accommodating. Cobb and Matt would go with us (he would take Sunday off).
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb AMPS 295 - shot time question

Hi guys .. no advice from me on the shooting schedule .. Sounds like Marje came up with a few options, I hope one of them works out for you guys .. have a great day!
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb AMPS 295 +5 183 +7.75 143

Nice numbers today :cool:

I'm liking Marjes suggestion of stretching out the cycle length while you are away.
When you return, while getting back to schedule you have R to tap down any ugliness if needed .
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb AMPS 295 +5 183 +7.75 143 +10 97

Wait...what is this color I'm seeing??? :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Looks like Cobb waited until it warmed up to take a dip in the lagoon.
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb AMPS 295 +5 183 +7.75 143 +10 97

I spy with my little eye, Mr Greenio! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :cool: :cool: Well done Cobb, how about some surfing now.

I don't have anything to add to Marje and Sandy's posts about dosing. I was thinking the 18 hours thing, then Marje suggested it. :-D As you can see, Cobb recovers well from fur/missed shots. ;-)
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb AMPS 295 +5 183 +7.75 143 +10 97

Yay!

Green is so agreeable on a ginger tabby! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Way to go Cobb!
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb PMPS 93

Cobb's PMPS is 93. It is a few points LOWER than his +10. I'll be here...I can monitor, but I have never shot this low before.
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb PMPS 93

It's really the same number as his +10. You've shot in the 120s and 130s. This really isn't appreciably different. However, given the size of Cobb's dose, I can understand why you'd be nervous. If you have the flexibility to stall, why not wait 30 min. and see where the numbers are then. And remember, don't feed if you are stalling.
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb PMPS 93 - stalling 30

Ok. I'll stall 30 minutes and then test and shoot, unless it falls again, in which case...I'll be back!! nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb PMPS 93

Cobbs 1st green PS - whoa! :cool:

I agree on the stall to see where he may be headed. Uncharted territory for Cobb :mrgreen:
Do you have plenty of strips and HC food on hand?
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb PMPS 93 - stalling 30

Plenty of strips. Some Friskies with gravy, karo and some HC we got originally from the vet in case of a hypo.
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb +12 93 +12.5 80, retest 69 HELP!!

This is the danger of stalling for a more experienced new member.....they keep falling and could get to where you can't shoot and have to skip.

So you can continue to stall and test every 30 and shoot the rise if you can be off schedule.
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb +12 93 +12.5 80, retest 69 HELP!!

I can continue to stall, yes, but he's already getting hungry and stalking his food bowl.

I can get off schedule and then move it back throughout the week. That is not a problem.

At what point do I skip the shot and feed him?
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb +12 93 +12.5 80, retest 69 HELP!!

While you can stall longer than two hours, we usually do not because it makes getting back on schedule tough.

So it's up to how long you want to stall knowing you have to shoot about 12 hours from when you shoot tonight....or how long/late you want to be up checking him tonight.

OR....if he drops into the 40s, you can feed 1 tsp of LC, recheck, and if he's up, shoot; or you can just call it a night, skip, and feed.

PS It's ok to take the 911 down for now. A couple of us are watching you. Please just let us know the next test number (30 mins after the last).
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb +12 93 +12.5 80 (rt 69) +13 83 (rt 85)

Ok, so it looks like Cobb isn't dropping. And if the 69 was correct, he's come up a bit.

Safe to feed and shoot, you think? I'm here to test/watch.
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb +12 93 +12.5 80, retest 69 HELP!!

I went through phases with BK where I stalled 2 hours before I felt comfortable shooting -

However it goes, if you decide to stall, shoot a BCS or both (I've done that many times) or skip - you have R available for damage control later, if needed.
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb +12 93 +12.5 80 (rt 69) +13 83 (rt 85)

As we love to say. SSHHHOOOOOOOOOOOOOTTTTTTTT!!!!!


You can get a +1 or even a +0.5 if you want to be sure he's still going up.
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb +12 93 +12.5 80 (rt 69) +13 83 (rt 85)

If you take out the retests, it looks like Cobb is back surfing again. Whew!

BTW, since Cobb is a high dose kitty and we don't know why he is, I'd use an abundance of caution when feeding when he is low. That means making sure you are testing regularly after feeding. Neko is an acrocat, and I have seen signs (sometimes not always) of her pancreas kicking in on low numbers after feeding. For me, that means higher carb LC is a no-no. She seems to be fine if I feed regular LC or HC. So, yet another opportunity for data gathering.
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb +12 93 +12.5 80 (rt 69) +13 83 (rt 85)

Shooting now!!

How do I do my spreadsheet? I have the +12, 12.5 noted...do I put +13 or PMPS for what I shot at?
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb +12 93 +12.5 80 (rt 69) PMPS 83 (rt 85)

Your PMPS is the number you shot. Just stack the time/numbers in the +12 cell (or at least that's what I would do).
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb +12 93 +12.5 80 (rt 69) PMPS 83 (rt 85)

Super exciting!

Go Green PS! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

So happy, be safe,
Rebekah
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb +12 93 +12.5 80 (rt 69) PMPS 83 (rt 85) +1 94

I hope Cobb surfs safely for you tonight without too much fuss. Yay for a green PS, go Cobb! :mrgreen:. And good job, Suzanne :-D
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb +12 93 +12.5 80 (rt 69) +13 83 (rt 85)

Wendy&Neko said:
If you take out the retests, it looks like Cobb is back surfing again. Whew!

BTW, since Cobb is a high dose kitty and we don't know why he is, I'd use an abundance of caution when feeding when he is low. That means making sure you are testing regularly after feeding. Neko is an acrocat, and I have seen signs (sometimes not always) of her pancreas kicking in on low numbers after feeding. For me, that means higher carb LC is a no-no. She seems to be fine if I feed regular LC or HC. So, yet another opportunity for data gathering.

What is a higher carb LC? I have the Chicken and Gravy Special diet that I fed when he hit the 60s before and it bumped him up into the 80s. It looks like that is 15% carbs. Is that considered higher carb LC? I do have a high carb prescription food the vet gave us for a hypo emergency. I don't know what it is called though since it's in my hypo drawer.
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb +12 93 +12.5 80 (rt 69) PMPS 83 (rt 85) +1 94

A higher carb low carb would be 7-9%.

Please be sure you get a +2.

And I don't think you want Cobb to follow where Gracie might lead ;-) :lol:
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb +12 93 +12.5 80 (rt 69) PMPS 83 (rt 85) +1 94

Gotcha. His turkey and giblets is 5%. The next highest we have in the house is 15%.

I'm waiting up for the +2.

Tell Gracie to be a better tour guide for the newbies. No need in everyone getting lost in a ravine! :lol:
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb +12 93 +12.5 80 (rt 69) PMPS 83 (rt 85) +1 94

15% is on the verge of HC. I'm hoping Cobb will just cruise some high 80s tonight.

Yeah... Gracie always has had to do it her way. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb +12 93 +12.5 80 (rt 69) PMPS 83 (rt 85) +1 94

Each High Dose Cat is Different - a slight variation on ECID, but even more true. I consider a 8-9% LC to be a higher carb LC. Neko's regular LC is 3-5%. I use a 18-19% FF gravy lover's for my high carb. You have some experience with a 15% and that's good knowledge to have.

The main message I wanted you to take away is to err on the side of caution. If Cobb goes low, don't be afraid to break out the HC. Some non high dose cats will come up if you give them their normal LC when they are in the 40's. High dose cats might dive if given LC in the same circumstances.

Nice +1. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb +12 93 +12.5 80 (rt 69) PMPS 83 (rt 85) +1 94

Wendy&Neko said:
The main message I wanted you to take away is to err on the side of caution. If Cobb goes low, don't be afraid to break out the HC. Some non high dose cats will come up if you give them their normal LC when they are in the 40's. High dose cats might dive if given LC in the same circumstances.

Gotcha. His +2 is 82. He does seem to be hungry, but he didn't eat a lot during the day, as in he wasn't begging like usual.

He has now made his way to the rocking chair where he had been spending his nights recently.
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb PMPS 83 (rt 85) +1 94 +2 82 +3 87

Hey Suzanne!! How exciting!!

The aliens that occasionally come to swap a Pod-Cobb for the real one seem to be back!

ufo112.gif


Keep on surfing Pod-Cobb!! :mrgreen:

Hope you get some sleep tonight!
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb PMPS 83 (rt 85) +1 94 +2 82 +3 87

A story from the BK archives -

We were about 8 months into treating BK and I had to fly out to San Diego for client meetings.

Although BK was up to 12.5u L by then, he had seen exactly 1 green number during those 8 months and it was at about 6 months.
Dominick was on board and knew how to test and shoot and post a condo. I had the L dose and BKs R scale printed and went over all details.
I felt confident that I had prepared Dominick well. I had thought of everything.

I was on the other side of the country, in a secured location during the day. No mobile phones or internet connections permitted.
So the first thing I do when I get to my hotel room that evening is fire up my laptop is check BKs ss.
Never in a million years did I expect to see his first green PS had happened that morning - an 84. :shock:
It never entered my mind to discuss the possibility of that scenario before I went on the trip.
Dominick shot the 12.5u L and off to work he went. Needless to say there was much nail biting in LL that cycle.

By the time I caught up with the events of that day the drama was over - BK being BK, his liver and antibodies protested and he got 4uR at +7 and another 5uR with his PM L shot. . . That was our first green PS. :cool:
 
Re: 3/4 Cobb PMPS 83 (rt 85) +1 94 +2 82 +3 87

Wow Sandy! That would definitely put me on edge!!!

We are good here. Cobb is starting to come up. But nothing I didn't expect. The green ps was incredibly unexpected!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top