3/31 Vesper AMPS 235, +5 244

Hello everyone,

It's been awhile since we posted, but we've been trying to adjust to a dose of 1.75. I'm having a hard time gauging whether we should increase the dose to 2? She has had a few low #s (in the 50s and 60s) but I'm not seeing a pattern with those (or with the high numbers). There was one day (3/14) where we skipped the morning dose because we were too worried about her AMPS, but I think in hindsight we should have given it to her? Perhaps we need to be testing more? She scratches/bites/spits/hisses, so we have been trying to minimize testing. Would love any feedback!

Hope you are all doing well!

Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...amps-63-2-73-5-128-9-358.299138/#post-3253760
 
Last edited:
Hello everyone,

It's been awhile since we posted, but we've been trying to adjust to a dose of 1.75. I'm having a hard time gauging whether we should increase the dose to 2? She has had a few low #s (in the 50s and 60s) but I'm not seeing a pattern with those (or with the high numbers). There was one day (3/14) where we skipped the morning dose because we were too worried about her AMPS, but I think in hindsight we should have given it to her? Perhaps we need to be testing more? She scratches/bites/spits/hisses, so we have been trying to minimize testing. Would love any feedback!

Hope you are all doing well!

Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...amps-63-2-73-5-128-9-358.299138/#post-3253760
So good to see you posting! How is Vesper feeling these days? Have you switched to budesonide yet?

I think its time for an increase. You've held the 1.75U dose for too long. When following TR we hold a dose for 3-5 days (6-10cycles). Unless you see a lower than usual preshot, I would increase to 2U.
 
So good to see you posting! How is Vesper feeling these days? Have you switched to budesonide yet?

I think its time for an increase. You've held the 1.75U dose for too long. When following TR we hold a dose for 3-5 days (6-10cycles). Unless you see a lower than usual preshot, I would increase to 2U.

Thank you! I just increased to 2! We have not switched to budesonide yet; we were waiting for instructions from our vet. We just got them so will start the process ASAP.
 
Cats vary in their reaction to budesonide, where with prednisolone, they pretty much all have increased blood sugars. Neko took budesonide and it didn't impact her blood sugars at all. If the same happens for Vesper, you may need to be vigilant on testing to see if a reduction is needed. I expect you will taper pred off first. Not sure, I think vets differ on how they want to do it.
 
Cats vary in their reaction to budesonide, where with prednisolone, they pretty much all have increased blood sugars. Neko took budesonide and it didn't impact her blood sugars at all. If the same happens for Vesper, you may need to be vigilant on testing to see if a reduction is needed. I expect you will taper pred off first. Not sure, I think vets differ on how they want to do it.

Good to know, thank you! Maybe I'll wait a couple of days since we just increased her dose?
 
Back
Top