3-31 - keykey - AMPS 345

Status
Not open for further replies.

keykey

Member Since 2022
Creating a new thread as advised.
Started today off with a reading of 345, gave 0.5U of insulin and she has been pretty stable with numbers with every test, averaging at about 280...which is still high I suppose.

She's still kind of tired, mostly just cat napping. She is rather lethargic when I go to test her, but after getting the test she moves around a bit and cleans herself. Would like to see her eating more, she's real picky about wet food.
 
Creating a new thread as advised.
Started today off with a reading of 345, gave 0.5U of insulin and she has been pretty stable with numbers with every test, averaging at about 280...which is still high I suppose.

She's still kind of tired, mostly just cat napping. She is rather lethargic when I go to test her, but after getting the test she moves around a bit and cleans herself. Would like to see her eating more, she's real picky about wet food.
Those higher numbers do make them feel a little crappy. Hopefully she comes down a bit tonight or tomorrow, still not sure if she's bouncing from yesterday
 
Let's stay here for today, then yes tomorrow can go to Lantus board.

Do you have a hypo kit yet, or ketone strips?
Writing this to respond, but also as a reference to myself:

- I have high carb wet food
- I have both honey and maple syrup
- I have high carb dry food
- I have a credit card and a car

- I need a needle less type of feeding syringe
- I don’t exactly have “treat” treats, I have these “hairball treat plus soft chews” from Hartz that I was giving her whenever she seemed like she was having a hairball issue.

- I do not have a feline rectal syringe. Is there special rectal glucose?
- I don’t have ketone strips yet. I will try to get those next time I go out.

- I’m already going to need more test strips. I’m running out of money.

- I’m looking up places nearby for 24 hour vets. I haven’t found one with a very quick search but I’ll keep looking.
 
Writing this to respond, but also as a reference to myself:

- I have high carb wet food
- I have both honey and maple syrup
- I have high carb dry food
- I have a credit card and a car

- I need a needle less type of feeding syringe
- I don’t exactly have “treat” treats, I have these “hairball treat plus soft chews” from Hartz that I was giving her whenever she seemed like she was having a hairball issue.

- I do not have a feline rectal syringe. Is there special rectal glucose?
- I don’t have ketone strips yet. I will try to get those next time I go out.

- I’m already going to need more test strips. I’m running out of money.

- I’m looking up places nearby for 24 hour vets. I haven’t found one with a very quick search but I’ll keep looking.
Ok good. I'd get some medium carb food next time you go out, but not critical. Same with the syringes, not critical right now, but nice to have in a pinch. The rectal syringe tbh I've only seen used like twice in 2 years across all these hundreds of cats, but like a baby booger sucker would work.

As for the meter...honestly I'd just get the ReliOn Premier. Your cost savings would be like immediate including the meter - the strips are half the price and the meter is only $9. I'd try to return the CeraPet for a refund, say it's faulty (which isn't really a lie)
 
Alright, I could use some advice.

Keykey got her insulin this morning at around 9:40am (I was hoping it would be closer to 9:00am, but she wouldn't eat until later)
I just took her reading at 8pm, and got 150 (reflected in spreadsheet).

She's hungry right now, but if I were to stick to 12 hours apart of shooting insulin, I would need to feed her again closer to 9:30pm.
...and...I'm not sure if that "Don't shoot if you're below 200" thing still applies.

How should I proceed?
 
@keykey If you ever need help do you know how to tag members?
Just start to type the first 2 orc3 letters of the person you want to tag and a drop down will appear with some members names then tap on the one you want
@then the members name

Keykey sure is a cutie!
By the way can you tell us your name
 
- I’m already going to need more test strips. I’m running out of money.
I would also buy the Relion Premier Classic Meter human meter at Walmart ,I have been using it for over 2 years, never had a problem it's 9 dollars and the strips arec17.88 for 100 strips
 
@keykey If you ever need help do you know how to tag members?
Just start to type the first 2 orc3 letters of the person you want to tag and a drop down will appear with some members names then tap on the one you want
@then the members name

Keykey sure is a cutie!
By the way can you tell us your name
My name is Will.
upload_2022-3-31_20-38-20.png

This was her last night when I came home from the store. I had to put the cat food down to put frozen stuff in the fridge. When I came back she was just sitting next to the fancy feast staring up at me! lol. (FTR: her eyes have always been that dilated, ever since she was a little baby kitten. I read that could be one of the signs of hypo so I just wanted to make that clear.)
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-3-31_20-38-20.png
    upload_2022-3-31_20-38-20.png
    477.3 KB · Views: 236
How confident are you in that 150? It's reasonable based on today's data, and yesterday's.

I think that 107 yesterday was real (the 48, probably not). So I think she bounced from that overnight, and cleared it today. When they eat bounces, it is very often a long slow slide down with a later nadir.

Let's see where she's at PMPS. These are actually golden opportunities to catch and hold onto lower numbers, but I suspect she'll have another bounce incoming.

I'm late, hoping she didn't con you into any food ;) if you fed it's ok, well just have to factor that into tonight's decision. Also - you can theoretically shoot around 9:10 to try to get back on schedule

She's a beautiful kitty!
 
How confident are you in that 150? It's reasonable based on today's data, and yesterday's.

I think that 107 yesterday was real (the 48, probably not). So I think she bounced from that overnight, and cleared it today. When they eat bounces, it is very often a long slow slide down with a later nadir.

Let's see where she's at PMPS. These are actually golden opportunities to catch and hold onto lower numbers, but I suspect she'll have another bounce incoming.

I'm late, hoping she didn't con you into any food ;) if you fed it's ok, well just have to factor that into tonight's decision. Also - you can theoretically shoot around 9:10 to try to get back on schedule

She's a beautiful kitty!
Alright, my PMPS should be the reading before I give her her dinner food correct?
 
How confident are you in that 150? It's reasonable based on today's data, and yesterday's.

I think that 107 yesterday was real (the 48, probably not). So I think she bounced from that overnight, and cleared it today. When they eat bounces, it is very often a long slow slide down with a later nadir.

Let's see where she's at PMPS. These are actually golden opportunities to catch and hold onto lower numbers, but I suspect she'll have another bounce incoming.

I'm late, hoping she didn't con you into any food ;) if you fed it's ok, well just have to factor that into tonight's decision. Also - you can theoretically shoot around 9:10 to try to get back on schedule

She's a beautiful kitty!
Alright, so the reading I did at 8pm was 150, I just did another at 9:15pm and it's 152. All put in my spreadsheet (this most recent 152, I put in PMPS, but it's technically +11 as well) I'm going to go ahead and feed her now.

Should I give her her shot after eating? Should I test again after her eating and judge off that? Not sure with these low numbers I'm getting now.
 
Alright, so the reading I did at 8pm was 150, I just did another at 9:15pm and it's 152. All put in my spreadsheet (this most recent 152, I put in PMPS, but it's technically +11 as well) I'm going to go ahead and feed her now.

Should I give her her shot after eating? Should I test again after her eating and judge off that? Not sure with these low numbers I'm getting now.
Hold off on shot let me think
 
Ok here's what I would do, and I'm sorry you're getting such a crash course in 2 days!

Technically since she's flat, some would tell you to shoot the full 0.5U. Flat means she'll start to go up before the next shot onsets. You are more than welcome to try 0.5U, but it may mean a long night of testing. I can't say for sure, I'm not the best to advise on this situation but I don't see the others online at the moment. I cannot stay up with you to help (we consider it proper etiquette that if we advise something potentially risky, we stay up with you to help).

If it were me I would shoot the full dose, but I have more experience and confidence handling the middle of the night stuff and low numbers.

I am most comfortable advising 0.1-0.25U. That is barely a hairline of insulin visible in the syringe
upload_2022-3-31_21-27-12.png

upload_2022-3-31_21-28-42.png


The logic here is that we're trying to avoid a skip, because we want to hang onto these lower numbers. It's a balancing act of not wanting her to go too low, but also take advantage of these numbers. There's also the possibility she'll bounce again, so giving at least some insulin will help tamp that down.

It is nearly always best to try to give consistent doses, but there's not a lot of data to go off - plus you're being thrown into this right away. So I leave the decision to you and your comfort level
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-3-31_21-27-12.png
    upload_2022-3-31_21-27-12.png
    50.2 KB · Views: 433
  • upload_2022-3-31_21-28-42.png
    upload_2022-3-31_21-28-42.png
    48.3 KB · Views: 451
Ok here's what I would do, and I'm sorry you're getting such a crash course in 2 days!

Technically since she's flat, some would tell you to shoot the full 0.5U. Flat means she'll start to go up before the next shot onsets. You are more than welcome to try 0.5U, but it may mean a long night of testing. I can't say for sure, I'm not the best to advise on this situation but I don't see the others online at the moment. I cannot stay up with you to help (we consider it proper etiquette that if we advise something potentially risky, we stay up with you to help).

If it were me, I'd shoot 0.1-0.25U. That is barely a hairline of insulin visible in the syringe
View attachment 63862
View attachment 63863

The logic here is that we're trying to avoid a skip, because we want to hang onto these lower numbers. It's a balancing act of not wanting her to go too low, but also take advantage of these numbers. There's also the possibility she'll bounce again, so giving at least some insulin will help tamp that down.

It is nearly always best to try to give consistent doses, but there's not a lot of data to go off - plus you're being thrown into this right away. So I leave the decision to you and your comfort level
I'm not comfortable with it at all to be honest. I have a bit of trouble just judging 0.5U, I don't even know how to comprehend 0.1U.
I'm also incredibly exhausted. I can tell my stress is stressing her out and vice versa, especially when it comes to testing.

I really don't want to give another shot and have her go even lower than the 150 she's at now, and not have anyone to talk to. You all have already done a lot, especially late into the night. I couldn't ask any more than what you all have already generously provided me.

Would it be terrible to skip one tonight? I'll continue to test a bit, but I really should be getting to bed earlier than I have been. Testing until 3 in the morning is killing me.
 
It's not terrible, we all have needs, but to be honest I think you're going to keep finding yourself in this situation every few cycles lol

Take tonight to skip. Start in the morning with whatever shot time you want, but factor in that you'll inevitably be needing to do a fair bit of nighttime testing until we get her settled into a dose. Hopefully within a week.

Some people choose to quickly get up at 4/5a to test/feed/shoot, then go back to bed. That way the bulk of the action for both AM and PM is out of the way during awake hours
 
Very curious what she does overnight tonight and in the morning....looks to me like she's going to force you into those smaller doses!

I should go back and read, but was she on steroids at all? Did you get a chance to request a copy of her labs?
 
Very curious what she does overnight tonight and in the morning....looks to me like she's going to force you into those smaller doses!

I should go back and read, but was she on steroids at all? Did you get a chance to request a copy of her labs?
She has not, nor ever been on steroids. Actually, since she was a kitten I really can't remember a time where she needed to go to the vet except for the week she got diagnosed with diabetes. She's been an indoor cat her entire life.
 
Why did you bring her in to begin with, the appointment she was diagnosed at? Symptoms?
I noticed she was drinking A LOT of water one evening. I kept an eye on her and she just kept doing it over the weekend, so on Monday I scheduled an appointment and found out on Tuesday.

I had a Corgi about 8 years ago, and before he passed he was drinking a lot as well, so I know it's a sign to watch out for indicating something's up.
 
When you get a chance, post the lab work please.
Pictures are fine, or we have the Labs tab in the spreadsheet (that can be a little cumbersome). The pic uploader is broken, so you'd have to copy and paste into the Reply box, or drag and drop.

Curious if they checked thyroid and kidney function. I do think she is truly diabetic (i.e. not misdiagnosed), but the great news is she's starting off seeing good numbers at such a low dose. I don't like to give false hope, but that's often better chances at getting them into remission.
 
When you get a chance, post the lab work please.
Pictures are fine, or we have the Labs tab in the spreadsheet (that can be a little cumbersome). The pic uploader is broken, so you'd have to copy and paste into the Reply box, or drag and drop.

Curious if they checked thyroid and kidney function. I do think she is truly diabetic (i.e. not misdiagnosed), but the great news is she's starting off seeing good numbers at such a low dose. I don't like to give false hope, but that's often better chances at getting them into remission.
Idk specifically about thyroid, but I know for a fact the vet told me nothing wrong with the kidneys. I asked because drinking lots of water often indicates that it could be either diabetes, or kidney failure. I walked into the vet hoping I wouldn't hear that second diagnosis and he told me other than having diabetes, she was great in every other regard. I'll call and ask them to email me the blood work tomorrow so I can reference it with you all here.

Next reading was 148. Updated sheet.
 
Let's stay here for today, then yes tomorrow can go to Lantus board.
Morning Will since you will be moving over to the lantus board today here is how you will post for your title
Date- keykey- AMPS # then any other tests after that such as BG # +2 , BGb# +3 etc
Then you go back in and add the PMPS # and any other tests after that
To go back to add to your title to the right you will see it says Thread Tools you tap on that, then tap on Edit Title ,add what you need to then it Save Changes
We do a new post everyday on the lantus board and link the previous days post to it
There are many lantus users on this board and a lot more eyes on it in case you need help
You will find your previous days post all the way up top that is in the long box above the pic of that cat
Copy and paste them to the new post you do everyday
Put them in where you would start to write
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top