3/31 Boomer PM - 128, +3 - 64

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/31 Boomer AM - 60

Boomer is looking great, Traci! Some nice green numbers on one drop! No worries giving insulin with this number...no chance of hypo on such a small dose.
So, have you been thinking about a gum trial? Looks like Boomer is getting close!
 
Re: 3/31 Boomer AM - 60

Deb & Spot said:
Boomer is looking great, Traci! Some nice green numbers on one drop! No worries giving insulin with this number...no chance of hypo on such a small dose.
So, have you been thinking about a gum trial? Looks like Boomer is getting close!

Have I been thinking about a GUM trial? Oh yeah girl! I've been practicing patience. I've been doing a better job with my new dosing technique. I actually feel very confident that he's getting the right dose now where I never did before.

As far as I know he'll get to have a GUM trial if he's green for a week or he goes below 50 and I happen to catch it, right?

How's your boy doing?
 
Re: 3/31 Boomer AM - 60

Hi Devon -

That's awfully sweet of you! Looks like Mocha had an amazing full moon day, huh? Post dental awesomeness! I'm going to PM you.
 
Re: 3/31 Boomer AM - 60

Traci, Spot was on the .1u for 20 days and during that time, he didn't get below 50. He wasn't even green for a whole week....had some low blues, but low blues are ok.

Dian (& Wheezer) mentioned "NO INSULIN" in my condo on the 6th of March and Jill agreed with her, so that's when his trial started. I'm glad you are practicing your patience, lol...it will pay off in the end, believe me. Remember, Spot's trial was extended 3 days, just so I could make sure!!

Spot is doing great, thanks for asking. He doesn't get all green numbers, but that's cool...he's not one of those cats. He misses getting tested throughout the day (actually misses the treats, lol), and even tho he is regulated, his tummy doesn't know that and he is a hungry little hippo. He enjoys hanging out on this porch chair when he can, and when he can't he goes from the window seat in the bedroom, to the kitty condo in the LR to the dining room chair. It certainly was a happy dance day when he was officially OTJ, lol!!
 
Re: 3/31 Boomer AM - 60

Hhhhmmmmm.....

What you've said definitely has me thinking! If someone "in the know" thought I should give it a shot, I would. He's close, for sure. Some days more than others. I bet the vet would tell me to try, but what does SHE know, :lol: Seriously - she told me not to shoot below 200. :o :lol:

If anyone has a thought, please chime in.

It's awesome that Spot is doing well and enjoying his time on vacation!
 
Re: 3/31 Boomer AM - 60

Shooting was a good idea, however keep an eye on Boomer. Tasha crashed on a fat 0 of insulin with a 34 I think it was at the +3 and her morning AMPS was in the blue. But every kitty is different and responds differently to insulin. So you can crash on the tiniest mount of insulin. It is possible.
 
Re: 3/31 Boomer AM - 60

Boomer is doing so awesome!! I don't know when it's "time".. but he sure is pulling some great numbers!!
 
Re: 3/31 Boomer AM - 60

I know Traci, it's scary. How do we KNOW when to pull the cord?!? Our boys are doing so great though..and SO close. You guys have sure been there longer than us in those blues and greens. Looks pretty great to me.
melanie & Smokey just took the leap. Maybe we'll get there together. I'm sure thinking that way.



I actually feel very confident that he's getting the right dose now where I never did before.
how did you get your confidence on this? I'm almost never certain on this one. But again, i tried to half a .25, then shave that in 1/2 again to whatever this is we're doing. Now I don't want to change & accidentally go UP even if he wasn't getting anything really. No boat rocking.

We're keeping an eye out for ya'll. Maybe we can have a party blow out.



B&H

PS: I'm with you on the vet thing...if i'd followed what they said (which was very limited), we'd never be here and Hankie would likely have hypo'd or worse. Random dosing, and while not offerred, upon asking, I got the don't shoot under 200 rule also. And ultimately a new vet, but she admittedly would have started him on double what the other had, expecting to double that yet. She said I am stressing myself out doing all this testing and it doesn't have to be so hard. her cat's diabetic and she said lucky if she ever sees <200. She shoots blind and says she only tests a couple times a month 'if he looks funny'. She would have had us off when we were at .25 w/ a day or 2 of numbers at 120. (only a couple days after a pink).
 
Re: 3/31 Boomer AM - 60

Hi Betty-

I looked at your SS - wow - Hank is doing great - I think he's "closer" than Boomer. Good for you. You've only been here a short time. Boomer was diagnosed in November. My Mom's cat wen on Lantus and got off in a month, so you never know!!!

I can't believe your vet! OMG. What a dope! She doesn't take good care of her cat at all. What a waste!
 
Re: 3/31 Boomer AM - 60

So how did your Mom know it was time? is her spreadsheet here somewhere? I'd love to look at it.
Did she have a good vet? Was there any underlying cause determined? I sort of had no vet at all when hank got sick, and have gone to 3 trying to find the right one. By the time i went to this last person, Hank was already turning around on his own, so was really more just to establish a relationship. I would have thought her having a diabetic cat would have given her more insight, but she seemed more old school ultimately.
She definately made comments that would not have flown here..and while she knew vaguely of the site and thought there was good info to find here, she would not at all bless independent dosing adjustments, thought MY testing was excessive when at the time I was primarly doing PS only with a sporadic spot (&feedback here was I needed to do more). But she didn't promote the yuckky vet RX diets, and subscribes to the 'obligate carnivore' LC/high protein school of thoguth, so at least progressive in that way. i really only had the one meeting with her. But she gave me a dental estimate for $925! for a cleaning and one extraction, that freaked us out completely.


i don't know, traci, our guys may end up having a party together.

I'm gonna keep an eye on ya'll.


betty
 
Re: 3/31 Boomer AM - 60

Duh. i just figured out this other SS, francis', is your Mom's. Now i have to go look at it.

1 month is cabout where we are. let me see what the story is here.
 
Re: 3/31 Boomer AM - 60

Betty-

Actually, you can see my Mom's cat Francis's SS - it's still in my siggie line. His story is that he's hyper-t and had terrible BG's - over 600. He was on PZI for a few months getting nowhere. I convinced her to try Lantus and me and the board helped Francis go OTJ. She doesn't have computer access so everything was mailed or read to her from the board. Once he got on Lantus his numbers dove. Even the first day he went into a hypo. Her vet told her to give him 2 units and not test for two weeks. He would have been dead! She immediately lowered his dose and had a couple more hypos. Then he was off. He went from being a TOTAL mess to OTJ in a month. He even had neuropathy. Unreal! My Mom knew what to do because of the Tilly protocal and board suggestions. It got to the point where a drop of insulin would cause him to go below 50!!!
 
Re: 3/31 Boomer AM - 60

Wow Tracy what a great number for Boomer I think I would faint if I saw this with Do Lou :o I guess we may see those numbers one day and was reading about you Moms cat wow what a story good to hear it had such a happy ending
 
Re: 3/31 Boomer AM - 60, PM - 128

Hi Lisa-
You'll get to that point for sure and then you'll be freaking out because you won't know whether or not to give him his shot. It seems like everyone goes through the same thing.
 
Good numbers. I wish I could understand the 128.

I'm definitely dosing better and I am so happy about it. Carolyn and Big Mac - thank you for telling me about the subtracting all but one drop method - it's helped so much!
 
Traci - Boomer is getting very, very close. Are you able to do a +9 mini meal (AM and PM) to see if that brings down those PS numbers? It has worked for a lot of cats who are at this stage but are still seeing higher PS numbers. Try that for a few days and see what happens, that might be exactly what Boomer needs to finish this off. :mrgreen:
 
Hi Libby-

I've got the auto feeder going for every 3 hours, but I need to check the settings to make sure the timing is right. It may be set at a +10 now. He doesn't always eat the food either! :roll: Thanks for the tip, I'll re-do the settings tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top