3/31/13 Rags Happy Easter =Dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.
Deb, as I've stated to you I test and feed unless I'm told not too. Happy Easter, Yes, he is still eating. I posted what he was eating and hit submit which I don't do until he is actually done and I have given his shot. I was just in my SS correcting it when I saw your post come up.

I should be here all day unless I go to Walmart to pick up order,
 
Becki,

Hope wanted to know if you were going to be home until 2 pm

If so, we were goiing to try the 2 units again

but delay the shot until 30 minutes AFTER food , just like yesterday evening,

take another test to see where his BG was after eating and before the shot

then shoot 2 units if you were going to be home unit 2 pm
 
ok, now you really have me confused.

This is what I did yesterday:

2:00 tested,fed

2:30 - gave 2 Units

4;30 tested no food til 9:00 p.m.(tested)

9:30 1.5 units and fed til 11:00 p.m.

Sorry this took so long, I,m not to awake.

Is this whay you want me to do today?
 
add another step in there. you ran anther test at 9:30 BEFORE you fed


ETA: Remember that? Vaguely? I do. Vaguely.
 
Deb, OMG, I just looked at the spread sheet and realized what you were saying, cause it was making no sense to me at all. Now it does, so sorry. I told you sometimes I'm thick.
and tell Hope I'm NOT whiz kid on the computer. She needs to have a little patience with me. She writes a post and if I can't get back to her in a minute, she writes another. This computer does not submit on one push, sometimes it may take three, sometimes it deletes my entire post, thbe phone rings etc. Really, I post back just as fast as I can. Sorry !

Have a Happy Day to all !!!!

Is no one going to be around ?
 
Thanks for responding.

Hope is running on about 2 hours sleep.

I'm running on about 4

Please respond back that you saw this.
 
Deb, the posting times are changing on the posts that we wrote yesterday, and I KNOW i was not up at 5:00 a.m. this a.m. Any how, I know it was 3:00 yesterday when I gave him his 2 units, because it was 30 min. after he got done eating, right ? Then tested him at 4:30.

Also, no more food after that until 9:00 p.m., right ?

I have been reading and re-checking things here, and my SS was screwed up again. and of course, now I'm all screwed up, ha ! H-E-L-P !

I'm gonna go get his food ready now, but I'll post you the number BEFORE I feed him, OK ? I'll be away from my computer for about 5 min. so if you do post back, please don't expect an immediate response.

THANK YOU !!!!
 
Becki,
Please only give Rags one can of FF for now.

Here is why:
He is a grazer, a nibbler, a s-l-o-w eater.

If he eats 3 ounces, 1 can of FF, he should be safe.

We do not need to have Rags eat 4.5 to 6 ounces of food before he gets his insulin shot on board.

He does need to eat some food before the shot and then can have some more after the shot.
 
1:54 p.m. eastern BG HI

He nis never Hi at this time, why? darn, darn, now what ?

I lied, when we gave him 2 units in a.m.he was HI. I did give him 1.5 or as close as I could, meybe "I" was off this time. I HATE myself, he was doing better !!
 
OK, but Hope I thought I gave him the 2units at 3:00 because you said to wait 30 min. AFTER he ate.

Why do you think it is HI , maybe I had more than 1.5 in syringe ?
 
maybe I had more than 1.5 in syringe ?
No, more wouldn't make him HI.

Yesterday you waited until he was through eating which took close to an hour so it ended up being 3 p.m. instead of 2:30 when you shot him.

As Deb said, test him first.......then feed him 1 can of FF.......he should finish that off in a 1/2 hr......then shoot. He can always get some more food after shooting.......he just need some food in the belly before shooting and if he is a slow eater, we are messing up the times waiting for him to eat more than 1 can.

Was he HI this a.m. and not 530 as you posted?
 
I think we want to test again before the shot, after SOME food.

Like this:

Beginning of each pre-shot cycle
1.Test
2. Feed 1 can FF for now (really slow eater and it can take 60 minutes for him to eat 4.5-6 ounces)
3. wait 30 minutes after done eating ( to give time for food to hit his system)
4. test again (to see food impact)
5. give x units of insulin(1.5 in am when not home to monitor, 2 at midday, 1.5 in pm)
6. Ok to feed more food now. Feed 1 to 1/2 can FF
7. +2 test
8. no food until start of next preshot test cycle

We are making a small change here because Rags is such a slow eater. He really does not need to finish the entire 4.5 to 6 ounces of food before another test and then the insulin. After the shot, he can finish the rest of his food.




He might have gone high because:

Things will be different everyday. He is a cat!
He got a bit more food this morning, 2.5 cans
Those syringes are hard to eyeball 1.5 units. That is why I'm trying hard to get some with 1.2 unit markings to you this week.
None of the above.
 
He was as I posted, I do not change letters or numbers ! I give you EXACTLY what I see on the machine.
 
2;30 p.m. 2 units given.

Hope, I was only joking about ? " I lied" I looked at my SS and saw where we gave him two shots of 2 units, tha's why I saidn that, trying to lighten the situation. I really wasn't lying.
 
I looked also and saw bg of 530 and 1 1/2 units given.

Becki, when it comes to bg numbers and amount of insulin you cannot joke.....we don't know it's a joke and this disease is nothing to joke about. We can lighten a situation up some other way if we want to.

Did Rags eat quicker before you started adding the water or didn't it make a difference?
 
hope, i knew you would say exactly that. i know it's no joke !

Rags eats the way he always has eaten. today he didn't eat a can.
 
Okay, just wanted to make sure extra water, which is good for him, wasn't slowing down his eating.

I will check back in at 4:30 for his bg test.
 
why is he running so HI today ? He is hungry too. No he hasn't eaten since 2:00, he was sleeping and got up for something at 4:25 p.m.
 
4:50 p.m. Rags threw up all over the place. It's hairballs and food. Anything I should do for him ?
 
Becki, you can give him 1/2 can of FF....it is 4:58 now.....insulin should be working so he can have a small amount and tell Rags to eat quickly or it will be taken up :mrgreen:
 
I responded before you did so I did not know he threw up a hairball.

Do you have any 10 mg. PEPCID A/C It has to be A/C only ... if you do and the box says it is 10 mg.....give him 1/4 of that and syringe a little water after pilling him
 
No pepcid. I don't usually give them anything when they throw uo hair balls. Is something he needs because he is diabetic or to settle his mummy.
He went to his window seat and is laying there, appears to be ok.
 
Okay, hairball probably the reason for it but Pepcid A/C can help settle tummy. Good thing to have on hand. Then leave him be for now......no food.......let tummy settle down.
 
Ok, Deb is here.

How much food? everything he has eaten since mid-day cycle started or just some and hairball

p.s. please change profile to new Relion Prime, signature link too

ETA: Prime meter has >600 as a HI reading per the user instruction manual
 
ok, now I'm done cleaning up the mess, however now Im have to empty litter boxes and feed my other kids.

Rags threw up one very large hair ball (and he tried to tell me he was sick, he got up in my chair and kept looking at me with tears in his eyes. I loved him and asked him what was wrong, then Freeway wanted to eat as she had been sitting there waiting for me) When I got back to the chair he was gone and sitting on his window seat in back room.

there was also alot of food, don't exactly know how much, hard to measure. he had only eaten 3/4 of a can at 2:00.
He appears to be ok, he got up and had a drink and is now on the front window seat. My POR, POOR boy !!!!

When I get a chance I'll do the change you want, can't right now too much to do.

I checked my Care Credit Cards and between both of them I have $100.00 I can charge. I'm going to call Dr. Ritter tomorrow and tell her what is going on with the VET, Insulin and that I have been working with the board and see if she'll help my Rags. she has seen him before, so it wouldn't even be an initial Office Visit.

I'll get back to you as soon as I get done my chores,.
 
Good idea to do a BG test since he threw up.

195 is an ok number. Do not shoot at that number.

Test again in 45-60 minutes and we'll reevaluate.
 
OK, it's up a little with food

I can see seveeral possible paths to follow here.

Please think about it for a minute and reply back with at least two (2) different options. I can think of at least four (4).
 
the last time he ate was 7:20 p.m. per Deb feed him 1/4 can ff. that's it.

He will not be gettinh a shot tonite ?
 
the last time he ate was 7:20 p.m. per Deb feed him 1/4 can ff. that's it.

He will not be getting a shot tonite ?
 
Earlier this evening, I wanted to make sure he would not vomit more. That is why I was conservative in the amount of food I suggested.

Yes, I am sure the vomiting is impacting his numbers.

ETA: We've gone to a second page for the evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top