3/30 Sugar Pie (0.1u) AMPS 313; 125 @+2; 223 @+3; 88 @+5; 84 @+8; 101 @+10; 106 @+11

Status
Not open for further replies.

SugarpieZ

Member Since 2018
I just tested Sugar Pie and the read was 338 so I tried again right away and read was 327?!? Should I test again? I'm not sure what to do...
Thank you
 
I wouldn't waste another strip, those numbers are probably right on. When did she eat last?
Okay thank you for the feedback. I just remembered that the first time I tried testing her before those 2, I had an E-7 come up on the screen. So that's why I tested again and then again.

Last time she ate was 9p.m.

Should I just go ahead and give her the .25 dose?
 
Last edited:
I am not seeing the data for last night on the spreadsheet. Did you shoot last night? What was the PMPS? I'm just wondering if she went low overnight and that's why she's so high this morning.
 
Okay thank you for the feedback. I just remembered that the first time I tried testing her before those 2, I had an E-7 come up on the screen. So that's why I tested again and then again.

Last time she ate was 9p.m.

Should I just go ahead and give her the .25 dose?

I would retest just to make double sure she is that high, if she is, try the .25 for now. If she's below .25, like Marje suggested yesterday, shoot 0.1u

I couldn’t find a really experienced member who knew they would be up that early and I’m three hours behind you so I won’t be. For right now, unless she is really high (e.g. above 250), I’d recommend shooting 0.1u but it’s your decision
 
I would retest just to make double sure she is that high, if she is, try the .25 for now. If she's below .25, like Marje suggested yesterday, shoot 0.1u

"I couldn’t find a really experienced member who knew they would be up that early and I’m three hours behind you so I won’t be. For right now, unless she is really high (e.g. above 250), I’d recommend shooting 0.1u but it’s your decision."
Okay I will test again. Thank you for the advice.

I know and I am trying very hard to understand and figure out all of this as I go. We are newbies and we are so appreciative of the guidance and insight we are given.
 
Okay thank you for the feedback. I just remembered that the first time I tried testing her before those 2, I had an E-7 come up on the screen. So that's why I tested again and then again.

Last time she ate was 9p.m.

Should I just go ahead and give her the .25 dose?
If you're going to be home today, I would give the 0.25u, but if you'll be in and out, 0.1u would be safer.
 
I am not seeing the data for last night on the spreadsheet. Did you shoot last night? What was the PMPS? I'm just wondering if she went low overnight and that's why she's so high this morning.
I apologize I just updated the SS. No I didn't shoot last night.
 
Okay I will test again. Thank you for the advice.

I know and I am trying very hard to understand and figure out all of this as I go. We are newbies and we are so appreciative of the guidance and insight we are given.

Absolutely, it's not something you will figure out in a couple of days, and that's to be expected. There's lots of support here and things will start to make more sense eventually... if Sugar Pie even needs the support for that long, it looks like the diet change has made a huge improvement in her blood sugars already! :cat:
 
And I do agree with Janine, if you cannot monitor, I wouldn't give the full dose based on her brief history with insulin.
 
If you're going to be home today, I would give the 0.25u, but if you'll be in and out, 0.1u would be safer.
Okay I'm going
If you're going to be home today, I would give the 0.25u, but if you'll be in and out, 0.1u would be safer.
I am going to test her again because it's already been almost an hour since I first tested her. Then I will see what the read is and will probably give her the 0.1u because I will be in and out today.
 
Sorry, I was up early and went back to bed. She could probably handle the .25 dose as high as she is, but if you won't be around to test her the 0.1 will be the safest and will get some insulin in her and it will be good to know if that dose will allow you to shoot every 12 hours .
 
Sorry, I was up early and went back to bed. She could probably handle the .25 dose as high as she is, but if you won't be around to test her the 0.1 will be the safest and will get some insulin in her and it will be good to know if that dose will allow you to shoot every 12 hours .
No worries I understand. Alright I gave her the .01 and Thank You for the pic again to show me that mark that was very helpful! ;)

Yes I will be in and out later this afternoon. I just gave her the AMPS at 8:30a.m. and now she's eating her breakfast. When should I test her again?
 
No worries I understand. Alright I gave her the .01 and Thank You for the pic again to show me that mark that was very helpful! ;)

Yes I will be in and out later this afternoon. I just gave her the AMPS at 8:30a.m. and now she's eating her breakfast. When should I test her again?
If you are going to around for a bit, a good starting point would be +2 . The +2 test is a great test to get because if the number you get is the same or lower than the pre shot number it's a good indicator that it will be an active cycle. Since you will be in and out today, as many test you can get will be helpful to know what this dose is doing. Lantus usually hits the nadir ( or the lowest point in the cycle) around +4 -+7 for most kitties but ECID ( every cat is different) Since we base the dose on the nadir, that is good information to know. But, kitties can move their nadirs around, but it's a good starting point to learn your kitties patterns and trends.
 
If you are going to around for a bit, a good starting point would be +2 . The +2 test is a great test to get because if the number you get is the same or lower than the pre shot number it's a good indicator that it will be an active cycle. Since you will be in and out today, as many test you can get will be helpful to know what this dose is doing. Lantus usually hits the nadir ( or the lowest point in the cycle) around +4 -+7 for most kitties but ECID ( every cat is different) Since we base the dose on the nadir, that is good information to know. But, kitties can move their nadirs around, but it's a good starting point to learn your kitties patterns and trends.
Thank you so much for this valuable information! :) Okay I will do the +2 and the +4 and I should be back to do the +7. Yes I agree learning Pie's pattern and trends is key.
Thanks again
 
Okay will do. How do I get into the title part? I tried to go into edit the post before and I couldn't figure it out.
Go up to the right hand side of your thread and you will see Thread Tools . Click on the arrow and a box will drop down and say Edit Thread. Click on that and then another bar style box will appear at the top of your page and you will change the text and hit Save Changes
 
Thank you so much for this valuable information! :) Okay I will do the +2 and the +4 and I should be back to do the +7. Yes I agree learning Pie's pattern and trends is key.
Thanks again[/QUOTE
I just wanted to let you know that I just tested Pie read is:125.
 
That's a pretty big drop in 2 hours. I would feed a small snack of some regular low carb or maybe a wee bit of medium carb food, and test again at +3.
 
That's a pretty big drop in 2 hours. I would feed a small snack of some regular low carb or maybe a wee bit of medium carb food, and test again at +3.
Okay thanks for letting me know. This is all new to me- what do you mean by low carb or medium carb food?
 
Okay thanks for letting me know. This is all new to me- what do you mean by low carb or medium carb food?
Low carb food would be anything 10% and under such as Fancy Feast CLASSICS and Medium Carb would be 11% -15% such as Fancy Feast ROASTED. Those are to two I am familiar with.
 
I was thinking, check your cans of FF and make sure they say CLASSICS. I made the mistake of buying ROASTED and gave to Bubba and oh did it take him a lot higher. Double check what you gave last night as compared to today.

It is good to have the ROASTED and as Dyana said the MEDLEYS on hand as MC food to use to steer, but make sure you mark the top of the cans of the MC so you don't accidentally give .
 
I was thinking, check your cans of FF and make sure they say CLASSICS. I made the mistake of buying ROASTED and gave to Bubba and oh did it take him a lot higher. Double check what you gave last night as compared to today.

It is good to have the ROASTED and as Dyana said the MEDLEYS on hand as MC food to use to steer, but make sure you mark the top of the cans of the MC so you don't accidentally give .
All my cans of FF are the Classics because of the low carb/ high protein diet Pie is on right now. Yes I looked on that website and saw some of those carbs are quite high.
 
All my cans of FF are the Classics because of the low carb/ high protein diet Pie is on right now. Yes I looked on that website and saw some of those carbs are quite high.
Okay. It's an easy mistake to make as the labels for Chicken Classics and Chicken Roasted are both red with just a slight shade difference. But, like I said, it's good to have all three, LC, MC and High Carb on hand for steering up from a too low number. The High Carb Fancy Feast would be label that has GRAVY in the title, like Gravy Lovers.
 
Okay. It's an easy mistake to make as the labels for Chicken Classics and Chicken Roasted are both red with just a slight shade difference. But, like I said, it's good to have all three, LC, MC and High Carb on hand for steering up from a too low number. The High Carb Fancy Feast would be label that has GRAVY in the title, like Gravy Lovers.
Yes I know what you mean because there are so many varieties to choose from with FF.

Makes sense I will have to pick some up for different situations that may arise.
 
It could be his reaction to the food that you gave him the the +2 read, or he might have started a bounce - going high (temporarily) after dropping too many points - from Pink number to the Blue one too fast.
Okay that's what I was thinking and plus she's getting mad at me because I have pricked her this many consecutive times again...:(

So should I test her again at +4?
 
Alright I am going to try to test at +5 because I won't be available to test at +6. Then I will test her again when I come back.

Okay I will remove the cat dish right now.

Thanks!
The +5 sounds good, too.

If the +5 is significantly lower than the +3 and you have to leave - offer her a bit of the same LC FF but add 2-3 drops of Karo or honey to it - and watch her eating it. The Karo honey will bump her up so you can feel ok leaving her with a falling number but then it leaves their system very quickly - 2 hours at the most I think. Then the LC hopefully will keep her in nice safe but low numbers.

If the +5 higher - just offer whatever you normally do - a small snack/ pokey reward, small something.

I think that because she dropped a lot this AM she might go bouncing. If you are worrying abot getting +5 too low - take the test 10 min earlier - and post for help so someone can answer before you leave the house. I think that I am going to be online in the next few hours.
 
The +5 sounds good, too.

If the +5 is significantly lower than the +3 and you have to leave - offer her a bit of the same LC FF but add 2-3 drops of Karo or honey to it - and watch her eating it. The Karo honey will bump her up so you can feel ok leaving her with a falling number but then it leaves their system very quickly - 2 hours at the most I think. Then the LC hopefully will keep her in nice safe but low numbers.

If the +5 higher - just offer whatever you normally do - a small snack/ pokey reward, small something.

I think that because she dropped a lot this AM she might go bouncing. If you are worrying abot getting +5 too low - take the test 10 min earlier - and post for help so someone can answer before you leave the house. I think that I am going to be online in the next few hours.
Okay yes I'm going to definitely try to do it earlier like you said so I can try to post it before I leave. Wow Thank You for helping me out with all of this because I'm feeling so overwhelmed right now.
Alright so could I even do 20 minutes before I leave so I can post in time to get help? I just don't want anything to happen to her while I'm gone...
 
Alright so could I even do 20 minutes before I leave so I can post in time to get help? I just don't want anything to happen to her while I'm gone...
sure 20 min earlier is ok.

When yo take the test - make a new post and begin typing @Tanya and Ducia - the full nickname should appear in the drop down box - click on mine and I'll have a note that you posted.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top