Okay thank you for the feedback. I just remembered that the first time I tried testing her before those 2, I had an E-7 come up on the screen. So that's why I tested again and then again.I wouldn't waste another strip, those numbers are probably right on. When did she eat last?
Should I just go ahead and give her the .25 dose?
I can't offer guidance on low dose kitties since I have no experience in that area. @Bobbie And Bubba might be online to help?
Okay thank you for the feedback. I just remembered that the first time I tried testing her before those 2, I had an E-7 come up on the screen. So that's why I tested again and then again.
Last time she ate was 9p.m.
Should I just go ahead and give her the .25 dose?
I couldn’t find a really experienced member who knew they would be up that early and I’m three hours behind you so I won’t be. For right now, unless she is really high (e.g. above 250), I’d recommend shooting 0.1u but it’s your decision
Okay I will test again. Thank you for the advice.I would retest just to make double sure she is that high, if she is, try the .25 for now. If she's below .25, like Marje suggested yesterday, shoot 0.1u
"I couldn’t find a really experienced member who knew they would be up that early and I’m three hours behind you so I won’t be. For right now, unless she is really high (e.g. above 250), I’d recommend shooting 0.1u but it’s your decision."
If you're going to be home today, I would give the 0.25u, but if you'll be in and out, 0.1u would be safer.Okay thank you for the feedback. I just remembered that the first time I tried testing her before those 2, I had an E-7 come up on the screen. So that's why I tested again and then again.
Last time she ate was 9p.m.
Should I just go ahead and give her the .25 dose?
I apologize I just updated the SS. No I didn't shoot last night.I am not seeing the data for last night on the spreadsheet. Did you shoot last night? What was the PMPS? I'm just wondering if she went low overnight and that's why she's so high this morning.
Okay I will test again. Thank you for the advice.
I know and I am trying very hard to understand and figure out all of this as I go. We are newbies and we are so appreciative of the guidance and insight we are given.

Okay I'm goingIf you're going to be home today, I would give the 0.25u, but if you'll be in and out, 0.1u would be safer.
I am going to test her again because it's already been almost an hour since I first tested her. Then I will see what the read is and will probably give her the 0.1u because I will be in and out today.If you're going to be home today, I would give the 0.25u, but if you'll be in and out, 0.1u would be safer.
No worries I understand. Alright I gave her the .01 and Thank You for the pic again to show me that mark that was very helpful!Sorry, I was up early and went back to bed. She could probably handle the .25 dose as high as she is, but if you won't be around to test her the 0.1 will be the safest and will get some insulin in her and it will be good to know if that dose will allow you to shoot every 12 hours .
If you are going to around for a bit, a good starting point would be +2 . The +2 test is a great test to get because if the number you get is the same or lower than the pre shot number it's a good indicator that it will be an active cycle. Since you will be in and out today, as many test you can get will be helpful to know what this dose is doing. Lantus usually hits the nadir ( or the lowest point in the cycle) around +4 -+7 for most kitties but ECID ( every cat is different) Since we base the dose on the nadir, that is good information to know. But, kitties can move their nadirs around, but it's a good starting point to learn your kitties patterns and trends.No worries I understand. Alright I gave her the .01 and Thank You for the pic again to show me that mark that was very helpful!
Yes I will be in and out later this afternoon. I just gave her the AMPS at 8:30a.m. and now she's eating her breakfast. When should I test her again?
Thank you so much for this valuable information!If you are going to around for a bit, a good starting point would be +2 . The +2 test is a great test to get because if the number you get is the same or lower than the pre shot number it's a good indicator that it will be an active cycle. Since you will be in and out today, as many test you can get will be helpful to know what this dose is doing. Lantus usually hits the nadir ( or the lowest point in the cycle) around +4 -+7 for most kitties but ECID ( every cat is different) Since we base the dose on the nadir, that is good information to know. But, kitties can move their nadirs around, but it's a good starting point to learn your kitties patterns and trends.
Okay will do. How do I get into the title part? I tried to go into edit the post before and I couldn't figure it out.When you can, change your title to include Pie's name: 3.30 Pie AMBS 313
Look toward the lower right area under your thread title and you'll see "edit thread title". Click on that to make title changes.Okay will do. How do I get into the title part? I tried to go into edit the post before and I couldn't figure it out.
Go up to the right hand side of your thread and you will see Thread Tools . Click on the arrow and a box will drop down and say Edit Thread. Click on that and then another bar style box will appear at the top of your page and you will change the text and hit Save ChangesOkay will do. How do I get into the title part? I tried to go into edit the post before and I couldn't figure it out.
Got it Thanks!Look toward the lower right area under your thread title and you'll see "edit thread title". Click on that to make title changes.
Kris, I had to go to my thread 3 times to see what the heck it said. I just do it in auto pilot, LOLOops! I should have said "thread tools".![]()
Thank you so much for this valuable information!Okay I will do the +2 and the +4 and I should be back to do the +7. Yes I agree learning Pie's pattern and trends is key.
Thanks again[/QUOTE
I just wanted to let you know that I just tested Pie read is:125.
Okay thanks for letting me know. This is all new to me- what do you mean by low carb or medium carb food?That's a pretty big drop in 2 hours. I would feed a small snack of some regular low carb or maybe a wee bit of medium carb food, and test again at +3.
Low carb food would be anything 10% and under such as Fancy Feast CLASSICS and Medium Carb would be 11% -15% such as Fancy Feast ROASTED. Those are to two I am familiar with.Okay thanks for letting me know. This is all new to me- what do you mean by low carb or medium carb food?
Okay I'm going to give her a little food and check again at +4Yeah that is a big drop and a little food will low it down some.
Ohh okay I have all kinds of FF Classics- alright great- Thanks!Low carb food would be anything 10% and under such as Fancy Feast CLASSICS and Medium Carb would be 11% -15% such as Fancy Feast ROASTED. Those are to two I am familiar with.
I would check again at +3, if you can.Okay I'm going to give her a little food and check again at +4
I used to keep some Fancy Feast Medleys on hand for medium carb. My cats loved that. You do have some syrup or honey in your pantry if needed, correct?Ohh okay I have all kinds of FF Classics- alright great- Thanks!
Okay I will check again at +3.I used to keep some Fancy Feast Medleys on hand for medium carb. My cats loved that. You do have some syrup or honey in your pantry if needed, correct?
All my cans of FF are the Classics because of the low carb/ high protein diet Pie is on right now. Yes I looked on that website and saw some of those carbs are quite high.I was thinking, check your cans of FF and make sure they say CLASSICS. I made the mistake of buying ROASTED and gave to Bubba and oh did it take him a lot higher. Double check what you gave last night as compared to today.
It is good to have the ROASTED and as Dyana said the MEDLEYS on hand as MC food to use to steer, but make sure you mark the top of the cans of the MC so you don't accidentally give .
Okay. It's an easy mistake to make as the labels for Chicken Classics and Chicken Roasted are both red with just a slight shade difference. But, like I said, it's good to have all three, LC, MC and High Carb on hand for steering up from a too low number. The High Carb Fancy Feast would be label that has GRAVY in the title, like Gravy Lovers.All my cans of FF are the Classics because of the low carb/ high protein diet Pie is on right now. Yes I looked on that website and saw some of those carbs are quite high.
Yes I know what you mean because there are so many varieties to choose from with FF.Okay. It's an easy mistake to make as the labels for Chicken Classics and Chicken Roasted are both red with just a slight shade difference. But, like I said, it's good to have all three, LC, MC and High Carb on hand for steering up from a too low number. The High Carb Fancy Feast would be label that has GRAVY in the title, like Gravy Lovers.
It could be his reaction to the food that you gave him the the +2 read, or he might have started a bounce - going high (temporarily) after dropping too many points - from Pink number to the Blue one too fast.Okay I just tested Pie again and read is:223.
Can that be right??
Okay that's what I was thinking and plus she's getting mad at me because I have pricked her this many consecutive times again...It could be his reaction to the food that you gave him the the +2 read, or he might have started a bounce - going high (temporarily) after dropping too many points - from Pink number to the Blue one too fast.
Okay that's what I was thinking and plus she's getting mad at me because I have pricked her this many consecutive times again...
So should I test her again at +4?
FF the LC because it's all I have.What did she eat at +2? LC or MC?
Then I think that testing at +6 next time is OK - don;t feed her in between unless she is very hungry and bugs you.FF the LC because it's all I have.
Alright I am going to try to test at +5 because I won't be available to test at +6. Then I will test her again when I come back.Then I think that testing at +6 next time is OK - don;t feed her in between unless she is very hungry and bugs you.
The +5 sounds good, too.Alright I am going to try to test at +5 because I won't be available to test at +6. Then I will test her again when I come back.
Okay I will remove the cat dish right now.
Thanks!
Okay yes I'm going to definitely try to do it earlier like you said so I can try to post it before I leave. Wow Thank You for helping me out with all of this because I'm feeling so overwhelmed right now.The +5 sounds good, too.
If the +5 is significantly lower than the +3 and you have to leave - offer her a bit of the same LC FF but add 2-3 drops of Karo or honey to it - and watch her eating it. The Karo honey will bump her up so you can feel ok leaving her with a falling number but then it leaves their system very quickly - 2 hours at the most I think. Then the LC hopefully will keep her in nice safe but low numbers.
If the +5 higher - just offer whatever you normally do - a small snack/ pokey reward, small something.
I think that because she dropped a lot this AM she might go bouncing. If you are worrying abot getting +5 too low - take the test 10 min earlier - and post for help so someone can answer before you leave the house. I think that I am going to be online in the next few hours.
sure 20 min earlier is ok.Alright so could I even do 20 minutes before I leave so I can post in time to get help? I just don't want anything to happen to her while I'm gone...