3/30 Pudge AMPS 124

kitten68

Member Since 2024
3/27/26 Prev Thread Pudgles

sigh. i been noticing w the food change maybe nugget not feeling too good.. idk. w the kidney issues now.. im wondering if its high in phopshorus, but am unsure how to gauge that.

because he can only eat turkey, and merrick is either having issues or discontinuing the limited ingredient line, we’re stuck changing…… 😩

i wish we could have done blood last week…. but doctor didnt want to to give his anemia a chance to try to get better. now i wish i had pushed.. to see his phosphorus before i changed the food. what a tightrope..

thought i’d try tiki cat after dark turkey and turkey liver soft pate.. but seeing its like 1.26% phospphorus (!).. which i think is high? i told the kidney board.. but guess no one saw or paid much attention. i still need to put up his records.. but either way i didnt hear much.

❓ any thoughts on staying w Tiki Cat or changing? ideas much appreciated.. (continuing still w his binders..)

bg numbers been nice.. his PS have also come down….. yayy, and didnt increase. had some green too other night (think room to still do so and will try to do either tonite or AM tmw..) 😕 ugh need go still fill the SS.. today for sure. but thinking his BP is settling back again.. maybe its an idea to do the Telmisartan to help keep things level/regulate it? but idk… 😔
 
3/27/26 Prev Thread Pudgles

sigh. i been noticing w the food change maybe nugget not feeling too good.. idk. w the kidney issues now.. im wondering if its high in phopshorus, but am unsure how to gauge that.

because he can only eat turkey, and merrick is either having issues or discontinuing the limited ingredient line, we’re stuck changing…… 😩

i wish we could have done blood last week…. but doctor didnt want to to give his anemia a chance to try to get better. now i wish i had pushed.. to see his phosphorus before i changed the food. what a tightrope..

thought i’d try tiki cat after dark turkey and turkey liver soft pate.. but seeing its like 1.26% phospphorus (!).. which i think is high? i told the kidney board.. but guess no one saw or paid much attention. i still need to put up his records.. but either way i didnt hear much.

❓ any thoughts on staying w Tiki Cat or changing? ideas much appreciated.. (continuing still w his binders..)

bg numbers been nice.. his PS have also come down….. yayy, and didnt increase. had some green too other night (think room to still do so and will try to do either tonite or AM tmw..) 😕 ugh need go still fill the SS.. today for sure. but thinking his BP is settling back again.. maybe its an idea to do the Telmisartan to help keep things level/regulate it? but idk… 😔
Don't they say if you are using a binder, you can feed what you need to?
Since you are using the binder I would think it's ok, will be curious what others have to say.
:bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
 
Don't they say if you are using a binder, you can feed what you need to?
Since you are using the binder I would think it's ok, will be curious what others have to say.
:bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
🥰🥰🥰🥰.. im hoping this too.. cuz we got slim pickings w his food. cuz bebe only eating turkey. 🦃 🤡
 
Don't they say if you are using a binder, you can feed what you need to?
Since you are using the binder I would think it's ok, will be curious what others have to say.
:bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
Not necessarily. Well… I mean you can…. But you may have to use a LOT of binder. In order to get my kitty’s phosphorus under control — and she eats renal food — I have to give her about 1/2 tsp. Aluminum Hydroxide binder and a scoop of Epakitin (calcium carbonate binder) per day. This combo has gotten her phosphorus down to about 4, which is optimal. I don’t know if we will be able to keep it there forever, but for now it’s good.

So if I fed her regular food, I would hate to think how much Aluminum Hydroxide binder I would have to use. We are already kind of maxxing out on it.
 
Not necessarily. Well… I mean you can…. But you may have to use a LOT of binder. In order to get my kitty’s phosphorus under control — and she eats renal food — I have to give her about 1/2 tsp. Aluminum Hydroxide binder and a scoop of Epakitin (calcium carbonate binder) per day. This combo has gotten her phosphorus down to about 4, which is optimal. I don’t know if we will be able to keep it there forever, but for now it’s good.

So if I fed her regular food, I would hate to think how much Aluminum Hydroxide binder I would have to use. We are already kind of maxxing out on it.
hiiii 😍 sigh. ❤️‍🩹 yup.. idk what else to do cuz him eating and liking his food is important and it has to only be turkey.. atm the idea of seeing what other proteins is too stressful, tho im pretty sure no chicken.. possibly no duck.. and also im trying to change it quickly cause his Merrick (the Limited Ingredient Turkey) is pretty much gone in stores around.. and ive heard conflicting things; its being DCed.. or they just have manufacturing issues.. either way, we need to change to something else because supply is low. The Tiki seems nice (Tanya’s has it as moderate and good for diabetics..).. i like it so far; smells good.. just trying to be easy about it.. want him to like it. cause outside of that is maybe Hound & Gatos.. which is really high in phosphorus.. and maybe something called Open Farm.. also Koha.. but im not sure.. it had mussels in it.. on top of making sure its LC.. 😩
Since he doesn’t like the binder, have you considered feeding him renal food and increasing his insulin?
i been capsuling the hydroxide and he been taking it.. 🥹❤️‍🔥 but we do our best everyday.. also doing the Niacinimide.. trying to up it.. and doctor didnt want to do blood yet.. but wished i wouldve pushed it.. but idk.. oh well. appt for Friday. ❤️‍🩹 i’d be happy just getting down below 6.. 🥲🫶🏼..

and thinking to increase next few cycles?.. im seeing how his dose does now.. seeing a bit of green again. (think should do so soon? remember said his numbers not bad, and to prep for evening greens.. thanks for that.. 🥹❤️‍🩹..)
Too high for a cat with kidney disease, but if you can get a lot of binder into him it might be okay. But you can only do what you can do.

What is the food change ? You changed from what food to what food?
i know.. but yeah.. ❤️‍🩹 (going again from Merrick Limited Wet Turkey to Tiki Cat After Dark Soft Pate Turkey and Turkey Liver.. 🙌🏼)
 
You have to watch those ingredient lists because a lot of the ones they say are 100 percent turkey have other stuff in them — chicken, pork, etc. I don’t know if pork makes a difference.

I understand! #1 is that he eats. I agree with that. You are doing your best and working with what you can.
 
You have to watch those ingredient lists because a lot of the ones they say are 100 percent turkey have other stuff in them — chicken, pork, etc. I don’t know if pork makes a difference.

I understand! #1 is that he eats. I agree with that. You are doing your best and working with what you can.
💯.. i have to check every time 😭🥲.. always. because its true.. they combine proteins in the majority of recipes. man ill find a turkey one.. and itll say chicken……… 🥲

❤️‍🔥🫶🏼 trying best.. i understand it 💯 because that has a lot to do w how he feels and aggravating things.. but hes got the sensitivities. and we have to do LC too.. ugh.. trying to decide idk.. so far trying Tiki Cat..
 
Unfortunately I don't really know enough about phosphorous content or how binders work to offer much advice on those topics, though I'll say that if I were you I would write down an ideal and acceptable range for % phosphorous (the way we use LC and MC ranges here) to assess whether a food is a good fit for Pudge.

I know it's a lot of work having to look up all this info! I do find that it's a bit easier to research online rather than trying to check the labels at the store. Then you can make a shopping list with different options you've already vetted. That said, I also find ordering online to be a lot easier, especially if you need something really specific. I know you mentioned before that you'd rather feed him something you can find in the store; it's up to you how big a factor that is.

I took a look at the ingredient list for Tiki Cat After Dark Soft Pate Turkey and Turkey Liver, and it does seem to be free of other proteins, at least ... that said, unfortunately there's often the risk of cross-contamination, especially if the food isn't specifically marketed as a limited protein diet. Sometimes they don't clean the machinery very well between processing different kinds of meat etc, so you get trace amounts of proteins that aren't listed on the can, and that can make a sensitive cat sick. If a food is labeled as a single-source/limited protein diet, allergy diet, etc, there's at least a decent chance that they follow more careful protocols to keep cross-contamination out (though there's unfortunately no guarantee, there isn't a lot of regulation or enforcement as far as I can tell).

Sorry it's so much and that Pudge is maybe not feeling as good. If that keeps up, it might be a good enough reason to try another food? Ultimately, that's probably the most important test - how he's feeling on a given food! Best of luck. ❤️ ❤️ ❤️
 
Back
Top