3/30 Oren; AMPS-366; PMPS-347;dosecrease to 5.25;pm+4-403;

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan & Oren

Member Since 2015
YESTERDAY: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-29-oren-amps-313-8-5-371-pmps-326-pm-5-390.135328/

staying pink. didn't see Wendy's comment in time this a.m to do an increase, but will tonight, to 5u. Encouraged by no blacks for a week again, and now, much reduced reds. Slowly but surely...

Happy Monday everyone. Missing my guy, who had a hell ride home because someone tried to cross a track at a station instead of using a pedestrian bridge, and was struck/killed by train. 4 hr. delay while they investigated. :(
 
Last edited:
Happy to hear Oren is making some progress. Sorry about the train accident that delayed your man! Have a great day.
 
Hi Megan,
Looking at Oren's SS I would guess that you could take him up by the full 1/2 unit (as you were doing before the present dose, which was raised by 1/4 unit). Was that your question? In any event, you should certainly raise the dose.. If you raise it less agressively your new dose would be 5 units. More agressively it would be 5.25 units.
Hopefully Wendy will clarify her suggestion.
Good luck with the increase!

Ella & Rusty
 
His nadirs have been largely pink. I think you can increase by .5U. Good luck with the increase.
 
thanks all! I thought so, but am still always hesitant. Guess I'll go the .5 this time. Was hoping the last increase was going to work better, since I got 2 yellows out of it.. Managed to stay pink all day, so possibly more yellow in there at some point today.. no reds in 3 full cycles!
 
Last edited:
Yay for no reds in 3 cycles - that's progress! I'm glad you're going ahead and increasing the dose tonight. I think Wendy's suggestion yesterday is a good one - plan on increasing every 4-6 cycles or so, whenever you've been able to get at least 4 mid-cycle tests so you can increase confidently. Working around work is just part of it - and if you can't midcycles on those days, we'll just count the ones when you can.

I can't remember if I've given you the link on Glucose Toxicity. It's at the bottom of the New to the Group sticky in the single topic posts. Basically the idea is that if a cat sits in high numbers their body gets used to those as the new normal for that cat. Once they are used to higher numbers it takes even more insulin to bring them down. The point of me bringing it up is that increasing in slightly bigger increments, like the 0.5u today, can be helpful in moving blood sugar into a lower range. I know we did 0.25u on the last one because you'd caught some yellow nadirs, but it does make sense until he's got some blue to go to the slightly larger increment.

Hope you had a great day!
 
thanks Julie! Part of me is now glad that he's gradually coming down rather than diving! But each time I increase (esp. the .5 jumps) I get a little nervous that he will start to dive! I can do a test tonight, and maybe I should get up a little early to get one before AMPS... since I'll be unable to get any tomorrow till PMPS; but, past increases don't seem to kick in on the first day anyway, and if he holds course, he may even do the NDW bounce! This is still quite a learning curve and wild ride! He really seems pretty peppy and happy these days though!

Hope you had a lovely Mon. as well!
 
It was a little painful to have spring break end and have to go back to work, but yes, it wa a good day.

Every time you try something out and see how he responds, it will give you confidence on trying it again another time. It's true - there is a huge learning curve on this feline diabetes wild ride!
 
booo, we broke our no red streak :( cuz he always seems to experience NDW... sigh. Let's hope this is a short lived bounce.. Actually, he almost always seems to increase in pm b/n 4-6 for some reason, maybe not really a bounce? is it worth me checking before AMPS?
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top