3/3 Maggie PMPS 158 +2 72 HC Food?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MyMaggie

Member Since 2014
So it took me the last 25 minutes to get blood out of Maggie's ear to get a BG. She wasn't as nasty today but could not get the blood!

With her 68, should I still give her 0.5 units this morning?
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie Dosage Help?? AMPS 68

Amber

What does your day look like? Will you be there to test and do you have plenty if strips, HC, syrup?
Also, how long can you stall and be off schedule knowing you can only make it up 30 mins/day?

You did reduce her dose last night...good job. You have handled some low numbers but I'm still not comfortable with you shooting this low yet. I would prefer to see you not feed her and retest in 30 mins so we can see if she's going up or down.

What do you think? Possible?
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie Dosage Help?? AMPS 68

Hi Marge,

I am home for most of the day, so I can retest in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie Dosage Help?? AMBG 68 + 30 mins stall 88

Oh no Marge, a plate of food from last night was left on the floor and she did eat some about 20 minutes ago! I didn't even realize!!

I check her at 30 minutes after her dose should have been given and she is at 88 but she did have some LC food!
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie Dosage Help?? AMBG 68 + 30 mins stall 88

How much do you think? If it's just a tsp, it's not an issue. If it's more, let's wait another 30 and retest.

Standing by.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie Dosage Help?? AMBG 68 + 30 mins stall 88

Hi guys .. wow, that's a nice start to the day! Looks like she's coming up but may be contributed to the food she found .. No advice from me, but you are in good hands with Marje .. Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie Dosage Help?? AMBG 68 + 30 mins stall 88

It's hard to say, I am not sure what was left! She will be due for the next test in about 10 minutes and I will repost.

Thank You!!
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie Dosage Help?? AMBG 68 + 30 mins stall 88

Hi Marge,

At 1HR stall she is now at 92. Should I give her a dose?
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie Dosage Help?? AMBG 68 + 30 mins stall 88

If you are able to watch her closely and deal with possible low numbers, yes.....you can give her 0.5u. Then please feed her a good LC meal and please be sure you get a +1 and +2 test.

I'll be back at your +1 and will also give you info on how to get back on schedule.

Pls let me know if you have questions or if you prefer to stall longer.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie Dosage Help?? AMBG 68 + 30 mins stall 88

Update? Amber...can you also please edit the subject line so it reads:

3/3 Maggie AMPS 92

Thanks!
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92 + 1 59

Amber

Just saw the +1. Because it's early in the cycle, please give her two tsps of HC gravy and retest at +2. Ok?
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92 + 1 59

I was trying to update my spreadsheet! But I am on a conference call for work right now (unexpectedly).

However, I again had a VERY hard time getting blood from her ear but the +1 was 59.

She is due for +2 in about 15 minutes so I will try again! Thinking she is going to drop low again today?
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92 + 1 59

Hi Marge,

I am typing as you are so I will go and give her the HC food and then test again in 15 minutes?
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92 + 1 59

I didn't realize you were working from home and should have asked.

If you need to participate in meetings, perhaps it is better to abort this cycle and carb her up with HC food. It looks like her numbers are going to require a lot of attention so I understand if you'd rather abort the cycle.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92 + 1 59 + 2.5 38

So I did give her 2 TSP of HC Food and she is still dropping as you can see she is now at 38. I should give her another TSP of HC Food?

It doesn't seem to matter how low the dose she gets, she keeps going into lows. I don't get it!
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92 + 1 59 + 2.5 38

Amber

I asked you to not wait more than 30 mins to test her ;-)

Please give her two good tsps of HC gravy and two drops of karo and retest in 30 mins.

I have to go run an errand to help another member. Dyana is going to help you.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92 + 1 59 + 2.5 38

I would give her 2 more teaspoons of gravy and a drop of karo or honey mixed in. Test again in 20 minutes, please.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92 + 1 59 + 2.5 38

Marge,

I didn't wait more than 30 minutes to test her! But it takes me a couple minutes to post.

I am doing the best I can here.

okay I will give her more and retest.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92 + 1 59 + 2.5 38

You're doing fine Amber.
We will be waiting for your next update.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92 + 1 59 + 2.5 38

Amber:

These instructions may help so you have a clear sense of how to handle low numbers:
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

The idea is that you are "steering" the numbers back up quickly and safely. This means you need to repeatedly test to make sure that numbers don't continue to drop and that the HC is kicking in.

I'm at work and I'm going to do what I can to keep an eye out for your post as is Dyana. Until you get the hang of test and feed routine, we tend to watch over you like a hawk. Along with you, we want to make sure Maggie is safe.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92 + 1 59 + 2.5 38 + 3.5 63

Again, I am having a ton of trouble getting blood! I am trying the tricks but for some reason I am having such a difficult time. However, I finally got a BG and she is back up to 63 (3.3).

My problem really isn't dealing with a low number, my problem is even with 0.5 Units she is still dropping into seriously low numbers.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92 + 1 59 + 2.5 38 + 3.5 63

I'm glad she's up a little. Remember, it's very early in the cycle. The gravy and karo can wear off quickly. You'll need to keep testing every half hour for a while.
I often poke once, rub gently in one direction (on the opposite side of the ear that I poked) from the base of the ear to the tip of the ear, and if after 10 seconds a blood droplet big enough doesn't appear, I poke again right next to that first poke and gently rub some more. I poke on the inside of the ear as J.D.'s ears are black on the outside and white on the inside with less fur, so I poke on the inside and gently rub upwards on the black furred side.

I would give her a teaspoon of HC food, and test again in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92 + 1 59 + 2.5 38 + 3.5 63 + 4.5 45

I couldn't test again in the 30 minutes, but I got the next one and she did drop a bit to 45 so I gave her a couple drops of syrup. She doesn't seem to want to eat anymore food.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92 + 1 59 + 2.5 38 + 3.5 63 + 4.5

Okay. Thanks for trying. I would try for another test in 30 minutes from now. Will she just lick some HC gravy do you think?
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92 + 1 59 + 2.5 38 + 3.5 63 + 4.5

I can try again, just giver another TSP of the gravy? I will try to get some of the chunks out.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92 + 1 59 + 2.5 38 + 3.5 63 + 4.5

Yes, just take a spoon and try to get some of the gravy out. Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers has a lot of extra gravy, if you want to stock up on that for the next time.
Come on up a bit, Maggie girl.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92 + 1 59 + 2.5 38 + 3.5 63 + 4.5

I was able to get her to take a tsp (approx.) of gravy so hopefully her numbers will come up!
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92+1 59+ 2.5 38+3.5 63+ 4.5 45 +5 68

So Maggie did come back up to 68 (3.8). I will test again in another 30 mins and hopefully she will stabilize here.

I am wondering if I should give her the 0.5 Units tonight? I guess see where her numbers are at by then?
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92+1 59+ 2.5 38+3.5 63+ 4.5 45 +5 68

Good job on the +5. It is probably up from the gravy and syrup at +4.5. Hopefully, that will get her up to some nice numbers.
I would hold off on the syrup, and offer her a little low carb food, if she wants it.
We'll talk about the dose some more when you get closer to shot time.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92+1 59+ 2.5 38+3.5 63+ 4.5 45 +5 68

Thanks! I have no more room left for posting her BG's. But I just checked her again, and this would be +6 (I think I may have messed up in my subject line) We are off schedule today!! So her +6 reading is 76.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92+1 59+ 2.5 38+3.5 63+ 4.5 45 +5 68

Perfect!

You can erase some of the earlier tests and make room to add the latest test.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie AMPS 92+1 59+ 2.5 38+3.5 63+ 4.5 45 +5 68

Am I ok to give her a bot longer in between BG tests? She was not happy with me at the last one cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie + 4.5 45 +5 68 +6 76

This is what I would do, but I know my cat pretty well.. I would test again in 1 hour, and as long as she is still surfing (staying within the same range) or rising, do another test in 2 hours after that.
Give her lots of loves and praise for putting up with all those pokes cat_pet_icon Does she get any freeze dried all meat treats?
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie + 4.5 45 +5 68 +6 76 +7.5 88

Hi Dyana,

My in-laws are over so I am just getting a minute to post. I just got another reading from Maggie at +7.5 and she is staying in a good range at 88 (4.9). I will check her in another hour or so. But we are just making dinner :)

Maggie was hungry so I gave her some LC Food and she only ate a few bites but I have left it out for her.

I have certainly been praising her for the pokes, I have been there (while I was pregnant) and it is not fun!! And yes, I am giving her the freeze dried chicken treats.

Thanks again for your help today!
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie + 4.5 45 +5 68 +6 76 +7.5 88

That +7.5 is a nice number considering all the HC gravy and syrup she got today.

Enjoy your company :).
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie + 4.5 45 +5 68 +6 76 +7.5 88

Amber

You and Dyana did a great job of handling Maggie's numbers today. We are still discussing a dose for tonight; we haven't forgotten :-D plenty of time still.

What we think is happening is the 1u dose might have been too much for Maggie. As you know, Lantus and levemir are depot insulins. If you think of it like a bucket, the more water you put in, the fuller it gets, and at some point, it over tops.

The depot on these insulins can last up to six cycles. That's why we are careful about taking too many reductions too close together. For Maggie, we would have hoped the 1u depot would have drained a bit with the skipped shot. It's difficult to tell if her numbers yesterday, and particularly today, see the result of the 1u depot or 0.75u.

We are leaning towards having you decrease again tonight to .25u so we can drain the depot a little more and give you a safer starting point. If she flattens out a little higher, it would be ok and then you could increase systematically.

What do you think? We just don't want you to continue to have these low cycles.

Also, to get you back on time, you can either shoot early 15 mins each cycle, or shoot the same time tonight as you did this morning and shoot 30 mins early tomorrow morning and again Wed morning to get you back on track.

30 min schedule:
Shoot at 8:30 tonight
Shoot at 8 tomorrow morning
Shoot at 8 tomorrow night
Shoot at 7:30 Wed morning
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie + 4.5 45 +5 68 +6 76 +7.5 88

amber, i wanted to encourage you a little bit since you're having trouble getting the blood tests.

as you poke her ears, they get stimulated to grow more capillaries. i recall wanting to pull out my hair on it - i had a larger lancet, set it for the deepest setting so that it even went THROUGH punkin's ears, and still NO BLOOD! It takes about 2 weeks of persistent poking and VOILA - you'll soon end up getting blood every test.

so what you are doing now, as exhausting and frustrating as it is, will make it easier before long. probably about another week. hang in there!

ps - i agree about reducing the dose. safety first.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie + 4.5 45 +5 68 +6 76 +7.5 88

Thanks Everyone!!!

I am hoping to see the light at the end of the tunnel for the BG tests because the poor girl gets so frustrated with me!!!

I have my in-laws over for dinner tonight so I am thinking I should reduce the dose and keep her at the same time tonight and will do the 30 minutes early tomorrow.

I am worried because I have to work all day tomorrow so I will not be able to test her all day. My husband is also out on jobs tomorrow so I won't be able to monitor her the same.

Should I put a can of HC Food in the freezer for tomorrow?
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie + 4.5 45 +5 68 +6 76 +7.5 88

I think we all agree with you on reducing the dose to 0.25u and I would do as you are by shooting at the same time tonight and shooting earlier tomorrow.

Are you leaving her food sickles in a timed feeder when you are gone? If you do, you might want to freeze the food tonight so it will be ready tomorrow morning just in case.

I'll be back at 10:15 your time (about an hour) to see where she is for PMPS.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie + 4.5 45 +5 68 +6 76 +7.5 88 PMPS 158

So she would be due in 30 minutes for her PM Insulin and she is now at 158 (8.8). Should I carry on with the same 0.25 Units?

I wont be able to test her as much through the night so I don't want her to go into those low numbers again.

I haven't been able to update my SS yet with company here but I don't want to miss her PM Insulin.

Thank you ladies.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie + 4.5 45 +5 68 +6 76 +7.5 88 +11.5 158

Yes, I would go ahead and reduce her dose to 0.25u tonight and see if that will drain her depot some.

I'd still get a +2 and if it's the same or less than the PMPS, I'd suggest you post for help. :-D

Hope you were able to enjoy your visit with your parents.
 
Re: 3/3 Maggie + 4.5 45 +5 68 +6 76 +7.5 88 +11.5 158

Hi Marje,

That +2 would be after the PM shot right?

If so, I will go ahead and do that!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top