Re: 3/3 Maggie + 4.5 45 +5 68 +6 76 +7.5 88
Amber
You and Dyana did a great job of handling Maggie's numbers today. We are still discussing a dose for tonight; we haven't forgotten

plenty of time still.
What we think is happening is the 1u dose might have been too much for Maggie. As you know, Lantus and levemir are depot insulins. If you think of it like a bucket, the more water you put in, the fuller it gets, and at some point, it over tops.
The depot on these insulins can last up to six cycles. That's why we are careful about taking too many reductions too close together. For Maggie, we would have hoped the 1u depot would have drained a bit with the skipped shot. It's difficult to tell if her numbers yesterday, and particularly today, see the result of the 1u depot or 0.75u.
We are leaning towards having you decrease again tonight to .25u so we can drain the depot a little more and give you a safer starting point. If she flattens out a little higher, it would be ok and then you could increase systematically.
What do you think? We just don't want you to continue to have these low cycles.
Also, to get you back on time, you can either shoot early 15 mins each cycle, or shoot the same time tonight as you did this morning and shoot 30 mins early tomorrow morning and again Wed morning to get you back on track.
30 min schedule:
Shoot at 8:30 tonight
Shoot at 8 tomorrow morning
Shoot at 8 tomorrow night
Shoot at 7:30 Wed morning