Re: 3/29 Autumn amps-249, +6-255,+9-346,pmps-290
Dale,
If it truely is Somogyi that she is in right now, then increasing the dose is exactly the wrong way to stop it...the only way to stop rebound is to lower the dose.
I suggest you read
Somogyi's rebound Raising the dose only makes Somogyi's worse until you completely override the cat's natural defenses to the overdose and you cause a crash.
I hav paraphrased the most notable parts of the link above below.
What you'll see:
It's confusing but true: Too little insulin means pre-shot blood tests are too high; too much insulin often also means pre-shots are too high. This effect is often noted by those who test their pets' blood glucose at home. It means that even when blood glucose levels are too high,
simply raising insulin dosage can make things worse instead of better.
The blood sugar readings may go from a lowish number very suddenly to a high number, with a 'checkmark' shaped curve. If overdose goes on for a few days, you may see few or no low readings, and just lots of very high and unpredictable readings that don't seem to correlate with feeding. Once in a while, a very low reading or even a symptomatic hypo may ensue.
A typical rebound pattern, most often seen with long-acting insulins, is a high, flat, unresponsive blood sugar over a period of days. Sometimes, often when raising dosage, this high flat curve will be punctuated by sudden drops to very low values, (with possible hypoglycemic events) followed by a fast return to high unresponsive numbers. (It's the sudden dip that distinguishes this pattern from inadequate insulin, but it doesn't always happen.)
Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang