3/28 Nellie AMPS 324 +3 160 +5 271 PMPS 330

Skyynett

Member Since 2022
More data from today in spreadsheet

previous - https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...430-6-282-8-275-pmps-310.261214/#post-2930451

hi all - tagging @Wendy&Neko in case you are on. Nellie had another day dipping into blues for a second before shooting back up to purples. She has been on 1.5u since yesterday morning.

I tested her for ketones with Ketosens and the reader read 0.5 mmol/L. Am trying not to freak out - does this mean she has ketones? She is eating, sleeping, drinking, etc all normally except still super hungry. Shes been getting a lot of snacks and I've been monitoring her on a baby scale and she is not losing weight.

Vet really wants her on the 2units a day and not ok with the self dosing method - at least he ignored my question when I asked about doing TR and said you can't measure 0.25 units and 0.3 syringes are hard to come by (but i have about 200 currently..) and repeated she should go to 2U. I'm going to a new vet on Monday which is when they had earliest availability.
 
Are you now using the AT pet meter? Numbers will be higher than with the Libre. Are you going to use the Relion or AT going forward?

I'd wait to increase another day as it's just the 4th cycle tonight. IF you do increase it would be 1.75 and after no less than 6 cycles. Since you saw blue I would give it 10 cycles.

Good luck with the new vet.:bighug:
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom @tiffmaxee thank you! Vet got in my head a little bit about using relion and said only alpha trak will be the most accurate. Since you reduce if you see under 68 from AT, when would you increase if using AT numbers ? But for now am primarily relying on the Libre while it lasts. Is that ok for doing TR?

Also are the ketone levels are cause for alarm?


Thanks for the advice - this whole thing can be quite lonely and overwhelming!
 
The ReliOn meter is perfectly ok to use with cats. Up until the alphatrak meter came into being…..ALL vets had to use the human meters and they were perfectly fine with them. Now all of a sudden they want everyone to use the alphatrak meter which is extremely expensive to run. The libre and the human meters are absolutely fine to do TR with…..in fact we rather you do use the human meter as the TR is based on the human meter BGs.
 
Yes it was a blood meter. Ok very glad no cause for immediate alarm but I will keep testing daily. And good to know about the glucometers. I will keep relying on the Libre it’s so easy to get a reading .
 
From this post: Ketones, Diabetic Ketoacidosis (DKA), and Blood Ketone Meters

When do ketones show up on a blood ketone meter such as the Nova Max Plus or Precision Xtra Blood & Ketone meters?

The latest published research/studies in cats indicate ketones will begin to show up at readings of 2.4 and 2.55 on a blood ketone meter:

Measurement of ketones - Weingart_J VET Diagn Invest-2012(1).pdf
Measuring ketones - JSAP_Zeugswetter - 2012.pdf

You are fine, just keep an eye on it for trending up.
 
thank you @Wendy&Neko . Great news, today it read 0.3.

@Chris & China (GA) yeah that was what had confused me at first. He did mention with whole blood measurements that because cat red blood cell count is different than humans, human glucometers aren't as accurate as pet glucometers. But I know many people here have had successes with human glucometers. Out of curiosity bc I <3 science, since the TR was developed using human glucometers measuring blood glucose, does the fact that Libre measures interstitial glucose impact the interpretation of those numbers when looking at a Libre TR spreadsheet?
 
Back
Top