3-27 Freddie OTJ trial 4 day +3 93

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yvonne & Freddie

Member Since 2014
Freddie is doing soo good and is still off his insulin....lets please keep all our paws crossed he stays low and OTJ....this has been a rough road for us of not knowing what we were doing... TY all
He is so much more alert and he even went out in the garage to mouse around last night--- first in 2 months.
Freddie seems to be acting so much better. He even came and asked me for food this morning...what a great feeling in the morning to have him in my face and to hear him....
He is walking better with his back legs will continue the zombaline and cosaquin....may even go to the dosaquin. Even his breathing sounds better so I gave him 1 puff of his flovent this am....will be home today so will watch him closely

Have a great day
Yvonne




Freddie'Freddie's Condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=115937

I had to run out this morning and did not give Freddie any shot this am because I did not know when I could get back home. And with being fairly new and a low number was not comfortable being away.
I just got home and took his BG and wow glad I didn't shoot with his BG down to 74 with no shot.

Would someone know what could be going on with Fred for him to have a low number without the shot. This is really a worry to me W/O insulin and low numbers.

Anyone any ideas and should I BE WORRIED. I am sure he has been sleeping all day he just ate some YA Thanks---- Yvonne
 
Re: 3-24 Freddie AMPS 111 NS +6 74

it's quite normal to get low numbers as look at Mar 17th where you also dropped a bit. SS looks good and it could be since you missed the shot that his depot released some of the stored insulin and therefore your BG was lower. I don't see a problem and others may have some better insight then I do since I'm only two months old on here, but Davidson did some similar things with his BG's and I learned all about the'reserves' in his depot and think this is what happened. Nothing to be alarmed with and just continue testing and seeing those good results!

Shawna
 
Re: 3-24 Freddie AMPS 111 NS +6 74

That's a great +6 with no shot this morning, Yvonne. I don't blame you a bit for not shooting that low when you aren't going to be home! It's always possible that Freddie may be trying to go OTJ. I'm sure the experienced users here will be better able to help you interpret the numbers.

Have a great night!
Shelly
 
Re: 3-24 Freddie AMPS 111 NS +6 74

Hey Yvonne!

Very nice with no insulin! In response to your question, "should I be worried"...No! If you don't give any insulin, you don't have to worry about them going too low.

As for what's going on, that's a question we'd all like to know the answer to. About the only thing I can tell you is that I've seen where others have said that sometimes, without any good reason, the pancreas kicks in and starts working again. This may be what's going on with Freddie. It's also possible, that with the food change and getting rid of the Evo, that's helping

For now, relax and enjoy it, continue testing, and lets see how he does. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3-24 Freddie AMPS 111 NS +6 74

Thanks guys, I am headed off to bed to get some needed sleep, Fred and Buddy are already there...no testing last hours tonight I am so sleep deprived....hope these numbers stay low like this..
I got rid of that W/D RX food. I hope it was the food time will tell paws crossed!
 
Re: 3-24 Freddie AMPS 111 NS +6 74

Hi Yvonne. Freddie's numbers are looking really good. Hopefully Max is beginning to get there too. Hope you got a good night's sleep. I need to test at least one more time and it's 1:00 a.m.

Elise
 
Re: 3-24 Freddie AMPS 111 NS +6 74

Thanks Elise,
I haven't given Fred a shot in 2 days. He is acting better but am wondering how they are staying low only thing I CHANGED IS THE FOOD.
I am not able to post on my SS so can't update it.
Hoping for good numbers for Max..
 
Re: 3-24 Freddie AMPS 111 NS +6 74

Yvonne --

Make sure you're logged in to your SS. Google sometimes logs you out without a warning. When you're logged in, your name should appear above the blue "Share" box (or at least that's where it is on my SS).

If you are feeding a lower carb, canned food (or the YAZC) vs. dry, that may explain the lower numbers.
 
Re: 3-24 Freddie AMPS 111 NS +6 74

Yvonne, as Sienne said, make sure you're logged into Google and you should be able to post your numbers, but if you're still having trouble, send them to me in a private message and I'll update it for you as soon as I can.

I'm still the owner since you asked me to stay until you had it completely figured out, so just let me know when you're having problems.
 
Re: 3-24 Freddie AMPS 111 NS +6 74

the power of the dry food . . . we've seen it many times that dry food can make it impossible to get a cat's blood sugar regulated.

i'm thrilled to see Freddie doing so well!!! oh, and you don't need to continue testing for ketones at this point.

Seems like you're on OTJ trial day 3, Yvonne. let me be the first to congratulate you! :-D Please edit the subject line of the first post of this thread so it looks like this:

3/26 Freddie OTJ Trial Day 3



Here are the directions:

Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).

If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. It is not unusual for cats to get lots of blue during their trial, especially at first. Don't panic and don't shoot unless we tell you to.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck!
 
Re: 3-24 Freddie AMPS 111 NS +6 74

Good luck Yvonne and Freddie!! Max and I are rooting for you.

Elise
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top