? 3/27/18 Should I increase Skylars insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Betchadeb

Member Since 2016
Howdie, Should I increase Skylar's insulin to 3 1/2 (3.5) units tonight or wait a few more days and see what happens?
 
Skylar is close to achieving nadirs between 90 and 149 mg/dL on 5.5 days at 3.25 units. SLGS suggests holding the dose for 7 days. You can wait out the full 7 days to see if his numbers get better or increase earlier to move things along. However, deviating from the norm places added responsibility on the caregiver to keep kitty safe. With as much as you test, it's your call.

Just my thoughts...
 
Skylar is close to achieving nadirs between 90 and 149 mg/dL on 5.5 days at 3.25 units. SLGS suggests holding the dose for 7 days. You can wait out the full 7 days to see if his numbers get better or increase earlier to move things along. However, deviating from the norm places added responsibility on the caregiver to keep kitty safe. With as much as you test, it's your call.

Just my thoughts...
Am I testing too much? I want her to be safe but I don't want to over test. She is so good with all of this so I figure that if I can do it I might as well so that I can catch a problem before it gets to serious.
 
Am I testing too much? I want her to be safe but I don't want to over test. She is so good with all of this so I figure that if I can do it I might as well so that I can catch a problem before it gets to serious.
Goodness no, Debbie! You're not testing too much! You're doing a great job at keeping her safe which is why I said to increase or not is your call. If you hadn't been testing like you have been I would have strongly discouraged you from deviating from the SLGS guidelines.
 
I don't want to stress her out but I do need to keep her safe. I know at night I probably should test her more, but for the most part everything seems to be going well. I just hope that she will go into remission, if not I hope her numbers will get and stay in the green.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top