3/26 Harvey PMPS 386/393 +7 209 Cinco PMPS 399 +7 346 Eating (anti-jinx)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
3/25 Recap
Harvey
1.25 units bid
AMPS: 219
AM+4: 128
AM+6.25: 160
PMPS: 273
PM+3.75: 212
PM+6.5: 228

Cinco
1.5 units bid
AMPS: 327
AM+3.75: 257
AM+6.25: 247

PMPS: 387
PM+3.5: 258
PM+6.25: 341

Yesterday at Tricia's House of Chaos

These numbers are making me crazy. Question: according to the protocol, Cinco's count should start over with yesterday morning, since he had a reduced shot on Thursday am and no shot Thursday pm. BUT, he started on Pred last night and his numbers are through the roof. Do I really need to wait 6 cycles to increase, or can I bump him up to 1.75 in the morning? I'm sure these icky numbers are contributing to his not feeling well.

Harvey's numbers stink, too. Dosecrease tomorrow morning. Had to give him Ondansetron and Cypro this morning to get him eating. It's working.

My family room is now literally carpeted with pee pads. We have changed probably a dozen so far today. (Cinco's great at peeing on two at once :rolleyes:). He had a small poo this morning, then about half an hour ago he had a larger one, and this one was very loose and resulted in a butt bath. :eek: Not a happy cat. I gave him some Forti Flora in a gelcap since he's not eating very much. :( He ate most of his t/f/s snack, but only a few bites of his breakfast, so I gave him some Mirtz. Since then he's had about 1/3 of a jar of baby food. I'm pretty sure it's the baby food that's making his stool loose. Does squash make it loose, too? I have been giving him that for a couple of years to keep him regular, but I've seen people suggest it to treat diarrhea, so I'm not sure if I should skip it in the morning or give more.

I really haven't done anything so far today except clean up after Cinco and read condos, so I guess I should go water my plants - they are drooping ( I know how they feel).

Sending healing vines to all in need, and hugs to all their beans. Unfortunately, the list is long today, so if I miss anyone, please consider yourself included! Extra prayers and vines for Snickers & Suzi, Gus & Elizabeth, Crystal & Suki, Doodles & Karen and Michelle's DH. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

 
(((Tricia))) I'm so sorry you have to see those numbers. IMHO, you don't have to wait to increase. You gave the 1.5U enough of a chance before UCD to know he wasn't seeing green on the 1.5U dose and you could increase tonight.

I've seen pumpkin (and squash) recommended both for diarrhea and constipation. Not sure the squash should be impacting anything. I know that some of the chemo drugs (like Elspar) do impact the digestive system. Here is a quote from Diamondback Drugs:

Common Side Effects From Elspar®

Elspar® has the potential to cause a wide range of possible side effects, ranging from the mild to the severe. Less serious side effects, and those that are the most common, include drowsiness, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, loss of appetite, headache, and weight loss. More serious side effects include an anaphylactic reaction to the medication, liver disease, and blood clotting disorders.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
(((Tricia))) continued prayers and vines for all sorts of things going on at THC, try to take a break and have a little "me" time over the holiday weekend, not easy I know, but you will run yourself ragged otherwise. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Girl, you really have a lot on your plate...sending lots of prayers to get your boys tummies back in order...you are a FABULOUS cat mom for tending to their needs the best you can...wish I could help....:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Dawn
 
Thanks, Wendy. Guess I should have looked that up myself :facepalm: So the Elspar could be contributing to both the inappetance and the loose stools. Swell. :confused:

Thanks for the good wishes, Sandi, Dawn and Suki. I'm still trying to get Cinco to eat up that baby food. He's got about 1/4 of a jar to go. Harvey is currently begging for some of my leftover steak from Thursday night. Not happening. Sorry, Harv. MINE!
 
I totally agree on the dosecrease for Cinco....with the prednisone added in and the amount you're able to test, it makes total sense to go ahead and increase.

I read about that Elspar too....sure sounds like he's having some of the side effects, but if it works, that's the important part....the other can be dealt with.

China's sending some :bighug::bighug: for her best boy!!

Harvey...you just need to get with the program!! Work that juice buddy!! Mama wants to see some better numbers!! (and if you're good, maybe some of her leftover steak will "fall" on the floor where you can get it ;)
 
Can I just say how much I love that you love your boys so much to recarpet your living room with pee pads!! It does sound like about the right time for a "chemo crash/side effect" for poor Cinco. No doubt you will figure out the balance for him.

Continued hugs and prayers...
 
Thanks for stopping by, Marilyn, Gill, Chris and Amy.

@Amy&TrixieCat, yes, I do love them that much, but the pee pads are purely selfish - I prefer that to having to keep an eagle eye out for pee puddles and clean them before they sink into the carpet and dry!! I wasn't paying close enough attention just now and stepped on a wet one and almost landed on my rear! :eek: Slippers (aptly named) are now in the washing machine. I was hoping to catch Cinco peeing this afternoon so I could check for ketones, but obviously I missed that opportunity. :confused:

Cinco just polished off the last few bites of that jar of baby food. One down, two to go (my goal is to try to get 2.5-3 jars per day in him, depending on how much cat food he eats. The Mirtz does not seem to have made any difference. :(

We're going out for dinner and cards tonight, so the dosecreases (yes, Harvey, that was plural) will take place in the morning.
 
glad you're getting a break out tonight! Have a nice time!

Sending feel better vines to your boys! smart woman on the pee pads! One of my friends is having trouble with her cats spraying after she brought in yet one more cat (total = 7) and she has even taped them across the front of furniture to try to protect things. Nothing like cat pee to ruin a good day!
 
Hope Cinco's numbers start to come down soon, I can imagine it must be making him (and you) feel pretty ordinary.

Nice blues for Harvey!
 
Earlier Today
Harvey
1.25 units
AMPS: 310
AM+3.5: 230
AM+6: 273

Cinco
1.5 units
AMPS: 463 :(
AM+3.5: 319
AM+6: 322


Thanks for the visits and the vines, Carla, Julie, Serryn, Mariko and Tara. They helped!! Cinco was eating his t/f/s snack, which was about 1 oz of Dave's Turkey and Giblets (pretty smelly) when we left. I added another ounce before we walked out the door, and his feeder had a jar of baby food spread through three sections. When we got home, the cat food was gone (and I know he ate it as Harvey does not like that flavor) and all but a couple of licks of baby food were gone!
dancing_cat.gif
dancing_cat.gif
dancing_cat.gif
What's more, I gave him the rest of the can (another ounce) when I tested him, and he ate all of that!! I opened another can and he's working on the first ounce of that.
flip.gif
I can't tell you how happy and relieved I am! It may be wistful thinking, but I believe there is a little more air passing through his nostrils than there was yesterday. Paws crossed this continues!

Harvey, on the other hand, had only eaten a small amount of the food I left him. I tried to get him to eat more when I tested him, and he only had a few bites. :( I debated giving him Ondansetron, but it is 2:00 am and I'll be off to bed soon. I think he's settled in for the night. If he's not eating in the morning, I'll give him the tummy meds then. *Sigh* There's always a "but", isn't there? :confused::banghead:

We did have a good time with our friends, and I had another winning night. I think this is my third winning night in a row - my little container of quarters is stuffed full. I may have to empty some into my savings!

Well, I'm going to check in on a few people, then head for the sack. Ni ni.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top