3/25 Shasta PMPS=216 +2=206 +4=176 ondansetron ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deborah & Shasta

Member Since 2012
3/24 Shasta

WCR: All Ps in place...in fact, we added a 6th P...puke. :oops: :sad: ugh! I made the mistake of giving it to her after she had just nibbled on some fuds...so I got to re-see all that icky grossness. Well, before all that nonsense, I got great snuggles this morning. However, SOMEONE :shock: woke me up at +11. Of course, I got worried and had to check her numbers...a lovely 178. Maybe she was just trying to show off since she had stayed on the yellow floor all night. I hadn't increased her dose lately (even though we hadn't seen any greens in a while) because of her lack of appy. I did give her a tiny drop more this morning and then we both snuggled through my alarm to get a +3...so we got a +4 instead. :mrgreen:

Ok, I need to call my vet and ask for a prescription for ondansetron. However, when we were in there at the beginning of the month and he wrote us a prescription for cypro, he said that he had never written one for ondansetron. He did some quick research and found that it was predominantly used for cats that were undergoing chemo treatments. He said that if she starts having the vomiting issue, to call and he would consider. I would like to arm myself with a little knowledge before calling...why ondansetron? Are there other anti-nausea meds out there that are just as good? or horrible that vets like to prescribe?

Any advice/help would be appreciated. Thank you!!! Sending healthy vines to all our sugar kitties and their hoomins! Blessings!

~Deborah & Shasta


AMPS=199 (4% FF Chicken 1oz, 1/2 tab K & miralax)
+4=71 (5% FF Chunky Chicken, 12% FFEMF Chicken) 1/4 tab cypro PUKUS
+5=74 (3% FF T&G 1oz & Cosequin)
+6=108

PMPS=216 (4% FF Chicken 1oz, atenolol)
+2=206
+4=176
+5.5= (3% FF T&G 1oz & zobaline)

Poo Pee tally
Pee piles - 2
Poo piles -
 
Re: 3/25 Shasta +11=178 AMPS=199 +4=71 puke +5=74 +6=108

I see a lot of people mention cerenia and ondansetron for nausea & vomiting. What should I be asking for/about with Shasta? She vomited her entire stomach contents this morning and continued to heave and a little foaming. She's been very lethargic since then, but she's eaten all of her fuds. Help? Anyone?
 
Re: 3/25 Shasta +11=178 AMPS=199 +4=71 puke +5=74 +6=108

Unfortunately I don't know the answer for you...but am sending feel better prayers and bumping you up. Maybe add the question mark icon and update your subject like to say you have a question....

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/25 Shasta PMPS=216 +2=206 ondansetron ?

Thank you, Amy. I do have the question icon marked, but I updated the subject line to included what I was questioning. Hopefully someone will be able to shed some light on my question. I tried doing a search and got some info, but not quite the info I'm wanting to arm myself with...why ondansetron? Thanks again.
 
Re: 3/25 Shasta PMPS=216 +2=206 ondansetron ?

Cerenia and ondansatron are the two drugs that are typically recommended for nausea (Cerenia) and nausea and/or vomiting (ondansatron). Gabby and Gizmo have been going through some GI issues and ondanstron is what I asked for and what my vet was supportive of prescribing. Ondansatron is a human medication that is often used to combat the side effects of chemotherapy. It is used for treating other conditions beyond the side effects of chemo (e.g., pancreatitis, IBS).

FWIW: Ondansatron tablets are very expensive. However, if you can get the injectible form, it's inexpensive. My vet dispensed a vial and it was $18.

This article is a little dated but is a good summary.
 
Re: 3/25 Shasta PMPS=216 +2=206 ondansetron ?

Oh my, poor Shasta and poor you! We use both ondansetron and cerenia with Zener, also Zantac and cypro. He has been on this "cocktail", as our vet calls it, for over a year without any problems. Zener has IBD and early CKD in addition to his FD, thus all the GI meds. We give the pill form for both ondansetron and cerenia, and buy them from thrivingpets.com. I have become quite the expert at pill cutting! Karrie, of Karrie and Maverick, was very helpful in teaching us about these different meds. She isn't on the board all that often, but you could send a PM to her.

This is a great summary on the uses of cerenia, there may also be some pain management, anti-inflammatory effects useful for cats with IBD:
http://thelearningvet.wordpress.com/201 ... t-cerenia/

There is also a good description of ondansetron and cerenia on Tanya's website for chronic kidney disease as nausea and vomiting are side effects with that too.
http://www.felinecrf.org/nausea_vomitin ... treatments

Paws crossed Shasta gets through this latest bout of GI distress and feels better soon! :YMHUG:

Anne
 
Re: 3/25 Shasta PMPS=216 +2=206 ondansetron ?

I had to go find it.... Marje posted about ondansetron here.....http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=115889&p=1218943&hilit=+ondansetron#p1218943 just a couple of days ago .... something you can print for your vet.
There have been a few lately having trouble getting their vet to give it. ( inexperienced with it)

Tell him you want to try it.... and be sure and ask for 4mg if you get the pill form. That way you can just quarter the pill.
I have 8 mg because it's what my vet gave me. ( not easy to create 1/8)
I mailed some to Jennifer/Cain and she just sent it back to me.
 
Thank you, Sienne, Anne & Rhiannon. Poor girl just isn't feeling well right now. Should I be asking for Cerenia AND Ondansetron? Originally, I was told about the cypro and Ondansetron only.
 
Gracie just had a bout with vomiting and nausea and I gave her both. I've had good experience using ondansetron for nausea and cerenia for vomiting.

I hope Shasta feels better. It's bizarre but there's been slot of this going around lately. Gracie, Gabby/Gizmo, Shasta, Hank.
 
Thank you, Marje. I will ask my vet about getting both Cerenia & Ondansetron. I'll also ask him if he has used thrivingpets.com since that seems to be a relatively cheap place to get our hands on it. I did read something about caution using Ondansetron with cats that have heart conditions. I need to find that again before going through all this trouble. I don't need anything else that might mess with her heart...as it is, I'm still not sure where her Potassium levels are since putting her back on PotassiTabs. Thank you, again, for your help and suggestions.

Sorry, I haven't gotten around to condos. I am trying to start several crafts all at once and I still haven't even started cleaning or organizing. I have a handyman coming tomorrow to look at my shower...water has been getting in under the shower pan and the smell is horrendous. Several temporary fixes have been just that...temporary. Also, I have a friend coming in Thursday and leaving Friday. Wish he could stay longer, but I have State with my kids that day anyways...so I guess it all works out?! :sad: My spring break is feeling less like a spring break and more like 2 or 3 weekends shoved together. I have done more painting on the back porch than the guy getting paid and I just noticed that the guy who replaced the screens did a piss poor job. grr_red

Ok, I need to head off to sleep. Hopefully I can catch up on a few condos tomorrow. Hugs and scritches to all and to all a good night.
 
Ondansetron might cause low BP and also, from Tanya's:

Ondansetron may also cause heart arrhythmias. In September 2011 The US Food & Drug Administration reported that "Ondansetron may increase the risk of developing abnormal changes in the electrical activity of the heart, which can result in a potentially fatal abnormal heart rhythm."

Hope she is better tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top