Mindy & Max
Active Member
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9989
Good night last night--Max actually came to bed with me and snuggled for a while as I was watching tv. He's snuggled on the couch, but not in bed since we got the diagnosis and started all the testing and shots. Made me happy to see him!
So if you didn't read yesterday's condo, I did a curve on Saturday, and he was still peaking >200 and his nadirs were still >100, so I tried to increase the dose to 2.25U on Sunday. While that did help bring him down into the double digits, we got in trouble with the pm dose that day, and nearly went hypo that evening. We're still working on leveling out again from that episode, but he's doing well. Today was his lowest amps ever.
My question is: at what ps number do you not give insulin? 100? He was at 85 Sunday night, and I reduced the "new" dose back to 2U...but clearly that wasn't enough. I know that now...at the time I was in the middle of trying to make dinner and deal with two kids, so didn't manage to think it through thoroughly. I'm holding at 2U for the moment, but since he's on a general downward trend...when do I not give a dose, and when do I reduce it?
Good night last night--Max actually came to bed with me and snuggled for a while as I was watching tv. He's snuggled on the couch, but not in bed since we got the diagnosis and started all the testing and shots. Made me happy to see him!
So if you didn't read yesterday's condo, I did a curve on Saturday, and he was still peaking >200 and his nadirs were still >100, so I tried to increase the dose to 2.25U on Sunday. While that did help bring him down into the double digits, we got in trouble with the pm dose that day, and nearly went hypo that evening. We're still working on leveling out again from that episode, but he's doing well. Today was his lowest amps ever.

My question is: at what ps number do you not give insulin? 100? He was at 85 Sunday night, and I reduced the "new" dose back to 2U...but clearly that wasn't enough. I know that now...at the time I was in the middle of trying to make dinner and deal with two kids, so didn't manage to think it through thoroughly. I'm holding at 2U for the moment, but since he's on a general downward trend...when do I not give a dose, and when do I reduce it?