3.24 Macho amps 360

The sneezing is likely either allergies or due to stress from being at the vet. It could be a cold too. Yes, they get them. It should stop soon. It’s good you increased. Well done.
Is the asthma improving with the medication?
 
The sneezing is likely either allergies or due to stress from being at the vet. It could be a cold too. Yes, they get them. It should stop soon. It’s good you increased. Well done.
Is the asthma improving with the medication?

yes, no more coughing :bighug:. I think he is stressed there were more people here than usual.
i hope this weekend he gets better.

How are you ?. I have never asked you how are you doing?. Thank you for being with us during this marathon.
 
He will recover soon from the stress. Vet visits like he had are also stressful.
I am fine. Thanks for asking. You’re welcome on my sticking with you. We all are so proud of how well you take care of Macho. Has he lost any weight? That might help all his issues, minus stress of course!
 
He will recover soon from the stress. Vet visits like he had are also stressful.
I am fine. Thanks for asking. You’re welcome on my sticking with you. We all are so proud of how well you take care of Macho. Has he lost any weight? That might help all his issues, minus stress of course!

yes, he is 13 pounds. Last time i took him to the vet he was 16.
 
he has asthma and got medication
I am so glad that the medication is helping Macho's asthma and that he isn't coughing anymore!

I remember when Callie was first diagnosed with asthma, the vet prescribed both prednisolone (a steroid pill) and inhaled steroids and had us give both to her for a couple of weeks since it takes a while for the inhaled steroids to work. I'm wondering if that's what your vet is doing with Macho as well. If so, steroid pills can cause an increase in blood sugar while the cat is taking them.

Callie is only on inhaled steroids now and it doesn't seem to affect her numbers at all.
 
He probably is about at his optimal weight. Did the vet comment on that? Good job.
The vet said great job guys and also with his numbers. But today his number has been high.
This weekend everything should go back to normal.
@Jessica A that could be he gave him an injection and a pill i use pill pockets because there is no way he will eat it.
I mash it and mix it with his food and he left the food.
The vet told me to call him next week. I'm going to tell him that Macho has been sneezing, drinking more water and his numbers has been high.
Maybe he got a cold. Hopefully i don't have to take him to the vet $$$$$
 
Hopefully he won’t need any more steroids. What is the medication you were given for home? If needed we just adjust the insulin as needed.
 
Hopefully he won’t need any more steroids. What is the medication you were given for home? If needed we just adjust the insulin as needed.
I'm not going to give macho that depo injection he was doing so well.
Must be another way. I think is the weather change (spring).
Macho has never coughed everyday.
I mean he has been with us for 2 years.
my dad has the pill in a cabinet with key.
We are not allowed to reach for medicine.
i'll ask him tomorrow.

AL
 
I suggest your dad talk to the vet. If Macho needs depo he needs it. Bad asthma attacks are serious asfe as he could have trouble breathing . If he needs more insulin we can adjust it. @Jessica A Can you explain since you are dealing with asthma please?
 
Last edited:
so what is the alternative?. urg.

Don't worry - there is one! The best treatment for asthma in cats is actually inhaled steroids (Flovent or Flixotide) and for most cats, inhaled steroids do not seem to increase blood sugar the way steroid pills and shots do. I suggest that your dad ask the vet about possibly changing Macho over to inhaled steroids to see how he does. Some cats need both inhaled and oral steroids to control their asthma but many (including Callie) do not need pills/shots at all. It is really important to treat asthma so as Elise said, if Macho does end up needing steroid pills, you can always adjust Macho's insulin as needed.

Some general info about Flovent/ Flixotide: It is a low-dose corticosteroid that works directly on the inflammation in the airway and is designed so very little enters the system to cause the systemic side effects that oral or injected corticosteroids cause with long-term use. It takes about 14 days to build in the system and is administered twice a day, 12 hours apart.

I was very surprised at how quickly Callie took to her inhaled meds ... it just took a bit of patience (and a bunch of treats!) to slowly get her used to the Aerokat, which is the device that is used to give the cats the inhaled medication. (Chewy link for Aerokat: https://www.chewy.com/trudell-medical-international-aerokat/dp/175949 You can also buy it on Amazon, VetrxDirect etc.)

Flovent is very expensive in the US so a lot of people buy it online from Canadian or New Zealand pharmacies. We have been buying Callie's inhalers from InHouse Pharmacy for years and they have been great. (Link to Flixotide at InHouse https://www.inhousepharmacy.vu/p-399-flixotide-fluticasone-cfc-free-250mcg-inhaler.aspx)

Here are a couple of videos showing how to train a cat to use the Aerokat:

Let me know if you or your dad have any questions or want any other info. Callie was diagnosed with asthma about four years ago and I'm happy to share what we've learned along the way.
 
Don't worry - there is one! The best treatment for asthma in cats is actually inhaled steroids (Flovent or Flixotide) and for most cats, inhaled steroids do not seem to increase blood sugar the way steroid pills and shots do. I suggest that your dad ask the vet about possibly changing Macho over to inhaled steroids to see how he does. Some cats need both inhaled and oral steroids to control their asthma but many (including Callie) do not need pills/shots at all. It is really important to treat asthma so as Elise said, if Macho does end up needing steroid pills, you can always adjust Macho's insulin as needed.

Some general info about Flovent/ Flixotide: It is a low-dose corticosteroid that works directly on the inflammation in the airway and is designed so very little enters the system to cause the systemic side effects that oral or injected corticosteroids cause with long-term use. It takes about 14 days to build in the system and is administered twice a day, 12 hours apart.

I was very surprised at how quickly Callie took to her inhaled meds ... it just took a bit of patience (and a bunch of treats!) to slowly get her used to the Aerokat, which is the device that is used to give the cats the inhaled medication. (Chewy link for Aerokat: https://www.chewy.com/trudell-medical-international-aerokat/dp/175949 You can also buy it on Amazon, VetrxDirect etc.)

Flovent is very expensive in the US so a lot of people buy it online from Canadian or New Zealand pharmacies. We have been buying Callie's inhalers from InHouse Pharmacy for years and they have been great. (Link to Flixotide at InHouse https://www.inhousepharmacy.vu/p-399-flixotide-fluticasone-cfc-free-250mcg-inhaler.aspx)

Here are a couple of videos showing how to train a cat to use the Aerokat:

Let me know if you or your dad have any questions or want any other info. Callie was diagnosed with asthma about four years ago and I'm happy to share what we've learned along the way.
This is great!! Thank you so much!
 
Thanks for the tag @tiffmaxee, but sadly I don't know much about asthma except for what I have read here. The inhaled steroids seem to work best, and they don't affect BGs because they go into the lungs and not the blood.

Another way to help would be to have humidifiers around the house. I set up two in my apartment, partially to help my plants get through the winter and also to try to help Ruby not get colds as often as dry nasal and breathing passages can lead to irritation and make the problem worse.

I hope Macho's numbers come down. :bighug:
 
@Katherine&Ruby Thanks. I’m in the same boat on,y knowing what I am reading.

My dad called the vet and he said its normal.
He also told him about sneezing. Macho feels said. his tail is down not up like usual.
i hope that medication wears down and definitely will get the other stuff for him.

Thank you.
AL
 
why and how did he got cold?. he is always inside. :( could be the AC?
do you think he needs medication?
 
why and how did he got cold?. he is always inside. :( could be the AC?
do you think he needs medication?
It's hard to know why cats get colds sometimes. The changing of the seasons could do it, transitioning from winter to spring. They can react like humans do when the seasons change. Sometimes cats who are on steroids like my Ruby get them a lot because the drug makes their immune system weaker to fight off colds. See how he does. I give Ruby lysine in her food when she gets a cold but I don't know how well it works. You may have to wait it out.
 
Sorry that Macho isn't feeling well. It is really hard when they aren't acting like themselves. I think switching over to inhaled steroids will really help, especially with his BG.

The sneezing could be a cold or possibly allergies, which are pretty common in cats with asthma. Callie's allergies mostly cause very itchy skin but she also occasionally has periods of sneezing and rubbing her nose and face a lot.

There are a bunch of possible asthma /allergy triggers that you can try to avoid which could also help (apologies for the repetition if your vet already went over all of this):
  • Avoid exposure to smoke (cigarette/cigar, candles, fires)
  • Change furnace/ air con filters regularly.
  • Control molds, mildew, and dust.
  • Avoid scented products (like perfumes, hair sprays, air fresheners, detergent, shampoo)
  • Consider using an air filter, ideally a HEPA-type system.
  • Use hypoallergenic household cleaners whenever possible.
  • Use litter with as little dust as possible, or even shredded paper/puppy pads.
Hope Macho feels better soon!
 
Sorry that Macho isn't feeling well. It is really hard when they aren't acting like themselves. I think switching over to inhaled steroids will really help, especially with his BG.

The sneezing could be a cold or possibly allergies, which are pretty common in cats with asthma. Callie's allergies mostly cause very itchy skin but she also occasionally has periods of sneezing and rubbing her nose and face a lot.

There are a bunch of possible asthma /allergy triggers that you can try to avoid which could also help (apologies for the repetition if your vet already went over all of this):
  • Avoid exposure to smoke (cigarette/cigar, candles, fires)
  • Change furnace/ air con filters regularly.
  • Control molds, mildew, and dust.
  • Avoid scented products (like perfumes, hair sprays, air fresheners, detergent, shampoo)
  • Consider using an air filter, ideally a HEPA-type system.
  • Use hypoallergenic household cleaners whenever possible.
  • Use litter with as little dust as possible, or even shredded paper/puppy pads.
Hope Macho feels better soon!
thank you . We are definitely changing for the inhaled steroid.

Thank you
 
why and how did he got cold?. he is always inside. :( could be the AC?
do you think he needs medication?
It could be herpes due to stress from the vet visit. Or it could be a cold. As long as there’s no discharge or sign of infection it will go away on its own just like what happens when you get a cold.
 
Last edited:
It could be heroes due to stress from the vet visit. Or it could be a cold. As long as there’s no discharge or sign of infection it will go away on its own just like what happens when you get a cold.
No more pink. He is going low now. Urg how i much i just dislike the pink! i really can't stand pink or yellow.
I hope he goes down like before. Poor boy he had a rough week. we both did.
But its over now. I'm so glad that my dad found this page.

AL
 
If you fill out your spreadsheet and still yellow and pink and no green you can increase to 2.25.
 
Hey, is everything okay? Please update when you can. There’s nothing on your spreadsheet for many days.

Hello
our computer broke.
:(. We have been very busy.
Macho finally is going down. That injection had him on the roof.
AL
 
Back
Top