3/23 Mego PMPS 138 +2.5 92 +3 96 +4 104 +5 105

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katie & Mego (GA)

Member Since 2013
Well, here we go. Starting off the morning like we did yesterday evening. Let's see what kind of ride Mego is in the mood for today. I'm going to do +1 & +2 testing today to see if we can get a clearer picture of onset.

Sending out good vibes to all this morning.
 
Re: 3/23 Mego AMPS 188 +1 154

Nice start for Mego. It looks like another great surf today.

Thanks for stopping by Furball's condo. I was wondering if anyone else was up too. :-D
 
Re: 3/23 Mego AMPS 188 +1 154 +2 103

Ok, a 50 foot drop ;-) since +1. Even though Mego's not quite in the green, should I start putting the breaks on now? Give 2 tsp LC food and see what happens? Test again in 30 min?
 
Re: 3/23 Mego AMPS 188 +1 154 +2 103 +2.75 60

Ok, now we've come down to 60 t +2.75. He's had 2 tsp LC food at +2.25 and it doesn't look like he's slowing down at all. Should I now offer a little bit of HC gravy and see where we are in another 15 min?
 
Re: 3/23 Mego AMPS 188 +1 154 +2 103 +2.75 60

Day 2 and I'm winging it here. I just gave Mego 1 tsp HC gravy shreds @ +2.75 and he ate all of it. I'm trying to put the brakes on this train. Will test at +3.
 
Re: 3/23 Mego AMPS 188 +1 154 +2 103 +2.75 60

At a 60, I would have given some LC and re-tested in 20 - 30 min. but feeding a bit of HC is fine.

Testing after 15 min. may be a little soon for HC to kick in. It really depends on how carb sensitive Mego is, though.
 
Re: 3/23 Mego AMPS 188 +1 154 +2 103 +2.75 60 +3 59

Thanks Sienne,

These lower numbers just make me uneasy considering how quickly they are dropping. +3 test is 59, so maybe seeing a little slowing from 2 small food doses. I'll test again at +3.5 and see where we are. I just have to remember to breathe...
 
Re: 3/23 Mego AMPS 188 +1 154 +2 103 +2.75 60 +3 59

You're doing great! Much of when you test and how you feed depends on your cat as well as when in the cycle numbers are dropping, how fast the numbers are dropping, etc.

Gabby is prone to these kinds of early, fast drops. If you look at her SS, I break out the HC sooner rather than later but the rationale is slightly different -- I don't want to decrease her dose unless there's a clear signal to do so. She's also a longer term diabetic whereas Mego is a freshly minted FD kitty.
 
Re: 3/23 Mego AMPS 188 +2 103 +2.75 60 +3 59 +3.5 58 +4.25 5

Hi - another "active" cycle? It is tiring but hopefully the reward will be a shorter time to the OTJ Party!

Hope Mego just surfs safely the rest of the day; the last sets of numbers look great!
 
Re: 3/23 Mego AMPS 188 +2.75 60 +3 59 +3.5 58 +4.25 56 +5.25

I agree, his numbers are looking pretty good, but it's been a lot of maintenance. The problem I see, is that when I go back to work on my wonky scheudle, I won't be able to do the things I'm doing now to keep him surfing. And that makes me quite nervous. As much as I don't want to, I am really considering a dose reduction and will talk to my vet about it just to keep her in the loop. I just feel that it's important that I'm as comfortable with the treatment as Mego is. Not that I don't appreciate everything everyone is doing to help me. You have all kept me in the "sane" department this las week.

One thing I've noticed on other SSs, is that people will do multiple feedings throughout the cycle to stabilize their numbers. Since I will not be able to do this, I've seen that people will freeze some food and put it out in the morning before they leave home. Can someone tell me if cats have the instinct to eat more carbs when their BG gets low - meaning how would I know if he will go to the bowl and eat the extra food left out to slow down his fast dropping numbers? I know it's a strange question, but I don't want to leave any dumb question rock unturned. :smile:

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
 
Re: 3/23 Mego AMPS 188 +3 59 +3.5 58 +4.25 56 +5.25 60 +6.25

Hi Katie, another wonderful Mego cycle today! One of the things you might want to experiment with before you go to work is to put out frozen cubes of food and see if Mego goes to his bowl on his own when he is getting low. By now, he is probably associating food with going lower, and might just go there on his own. If you can observe him doing that without your intervention, it will give peace of mind.

I have an autofeeder for Neko, and she will race across the house to it when she hears it activating.

ETA: There are some members who can't stay up late so what they do is leave food out for their cats to much on when going low. It seems to be the instinct to go for carbs when low, but it might be ECID.
 
Re: 3/23 Mego AMPS 188 +3 59 +3.5 58 +4.25 56 +5.25 60 +6.25

Wendy's suggestion is a good one, to leave food out and see what Mego does. Zener won't eat on his own but many other cats will. Great cycle today! You are doing a great job with everything!
Liz
 
Re: 3/23 Mego AMPS 188 +4.25 56 +5.25 60 +6.25 59 +11 129

Ahh, a little refreshed after a little afternoon nap. Between last night and today, 6 hrs of shuteye! So Mego's AMPS +11 is 129 so he came up nicely after +6. The vet called me to see how things were going on day 2 and I gave her the numbers. I let her know what I was doing to make him surf last night and today. I did let her know I was a little worried about those lower 60s and high 50s for when I go back to work. She agreed and we talked about a dose reduction for him. The course of action she wants to take is to not shoot tonight and give him a .5 unit tomorrow morning and see how we do. I'm not sure I agree with no dose tonight but he's only at 129 right now. I'll retest in an hour for his PMPS and then come back with the results.

What do you all think of a no dose tonight?
 
Re: 3/23 Mego AMPS 188 +11 129 PM Dosing ?

You're telling yourself to remember to breathe ... that is good! It's a handful in the beginning. No dosing advice from me, but Leo will lay snoozing in the sun as his BG tanks. He often doesn't eat food until someone comes around and says something to him, and then he wanders over to eat. It's frustrating sometimes ... I often get up in the night just to make sure he starts eating. I hope a feeder will work with Mego. Sometimes Leo pays attention when he hears it go off, sometimes not.

I hope some of the experts will chime in about dosing advice. But what nice numbers!
 
Re: 3/23 Mego AMPS 188 +11 129 PM Dosing ?

IMHO....unless he gets an enormous second dip that puts him in the 60s or below by PMPS, I'd shoot 1u. I wouldn't reduce until he earns it or you need to go back to work. Let him make some progress while you are there with him and then we can reduce it so you can feel safe to leave him. You have some good data on how he responds to food and we encourage new members to gradually shoot lower and lower with the full dose.

I'd also start trying to leave out the foodsicles or get the auto feeder to see if he will self feed. That will help....I think the auto feeder is the best solution but it's up to you. I'd be experimenting with that now while you are also home.

I know the low numbers are scary and vets are extremely conservative. But you are in control. You are testing and you have food/gravy/karo to bring him up. Oh yeah...and you have us :-D :-D :-D

When you shoot tonight, unless he has really skyrocketed, I'd start with a +1 and +2 test, ok?
 
Re: 3/23 Mego PMPS 138

Ok Marje,

After a stop at the store after I shot, I'm now loaded with a gallon of milk (was getting low and didn't notice until ~O) this morning), some other little supplies I needed and to finish it off, a gallon of Edy's Double Fudge Brownie ice cream. I haven't rewarded myself yet, but that's happening tonight! :lol: Mego is a sucker for ice cream, so that should be interesting.

I did shoot the 1 unit and I'm about to do his +1. Something tells me it's going to be another active cycle. But maybe he'll surprise me this time - who knows. I've come to expect all outcomes these days.

I appreciate your confidence in me, slowly it's building in me too. I just wish it didn't take so long.
 
Re: 3/23 Mego PMPS 138 +1 131 +2 107

Well, this is interesting... a little slower than usual. Mego has his whole face in the water bowl at the moment. He usually has a small dish that he drinks out of, but he is a weird drinker. He licks the side of the bowl and half the water ends up on the floor. So I just switched to a deeper glass bowl. Now he looks like one of those stuffed animals suction-cupped to a car window. :lol:

I'm feeling good with the numbers and I'm going to freeze 1 tsp sized food pucks tonight. I'm off to make some chili in the meantime and we'll see what +3 looks like.

Feeling good, feelin' good!
 
Re: 3/23 Mego PMPS 138 +1 131 +2 107

Wow...I just caught the +1 and it's already +2!

Ok...lesson here. His +2 is less than the PS considering meter variation. So I think you should expect him to have a normal lantus cycle.....which means he will likely start to come down more along about +3.

See you then.
 
Re: 3/23 Mego PMPS 138 +1 131 +2 107

Great shooting! I bet you are the exceptional client in how much testing you do. Your vet will probably take a while to adjust to that. :-D Go Mego! Let's see a nice green surf.
Liz
 
Re: 3/23 Mego PMPS 138 +1 131 +2 107

Yummm - I've had some cookies & cream ice cream myself today!

You are an inspiration - and Marje and the gang here at FDMB are the just the best. In my first 2 weeks I paniced and fed some HC pounce treats at a 180 - dumb! :oops: Fast forward 3 weeks: In the last 4 days I've shot 4 times below 100 (ok the last one was too low I found out - but I earned a "BOS" picture :lol: )

Here's hoping that Mego is ready to just safely surf tonight - it does happen, I don't know why - one day it is bouncy bouncy, the next is a nice smooth ride in a safe zone. ECID not just from other cats but day to day sometimes I guess.
 
Re: 3/23 Mego PMPS 138 +1 131 +2 107

You all are making me crazy for something sweet and I've sworn it all off for now. Got in a great workout and yoga so I must not spoil it with ICE CREAM! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/23 Mego PMPS 138 +1 131 +2 107 +2.5 92 +3 96

Katie

It's Gracies shot time but I will also try and watch for you. There might be just a minute oe two delay if you post while I'm shooting but I will check back in ASAP. Just post...I'm still getting notified.
 
Re: 3/23 Mego PMPS 138 +1 131 +2 107 +2.5 92 +3 96

I tested @ +2.5 because he was a little wobbly while walking - then I remembered he's a young old man. Looks like +3 we're going up. There has been no food other than the freeze dried turkey at test times. In the green for now :mrgreen: but I'm thinking we're headed for the blues here shortly.

I know what you mean about the sweets. I try to keep them away from here because it can get a little out of control. However, I'm replacing my old smoking habit with the ice cream tonight. Starting tomorrow, I'll have 5 weeks of being a non-smoker. Another milestone to celebrate! :-D :-D :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 3/23 Mego PMPS 138 +1 131 +2 107 +2.5 92 +3 96

He's just surfing...not going up. You fed him dinner at PMPS, right? Just no food since?

I think just to be sure he's not going to onset late, how about a +4 and if he's the same, we will give him time.

Congrats! That's wonderful so you deserve ice cream!
 
Re: 3/23 Mego PMPS 138 +1 131 +2 107 +2.5 92 +3 96

Yes, dinner at PMPS. I'm hopping off for a while but will test @ +4 and get back to you soon.
 
I'd probably leave him alone for a couple hours. Maybe go to bed and set an alarm and just check him.

Hope you get some rest!
 
I'll probably do a check at +6 since we aren't far away. After that, I'll probably head to bed. Like I said before, I haven't fed him since meal time - do I leave anything out for him? My educated guess would be no, since his numbers are holding steady and we're almost half way through the cycle.
 
I thought you were going to try the catsicles?

Wont he be hungry not eating for so long? Is up to you and whatever you normally do for him. Most of us don't feed after nadir but there are a lot of folks who also free feed throughout the cycle.

Have a great night. We will work on the schedule.
 
There's a kitty in Blacksburg, VA who just discovered his momma has ice cream. So much for a sleepy boy. He's just sitting next to me staring with his paw on my arm trying to pull it towards him. Oh, just break my heart would you.
 
I didn't get to the catsicles. I was talking with my family via Skype. My younger brother flew in from Hawaii and I wanted to talk to him before he flies out tomorrow morning. Found out my sister in law was in the hospital and my niece and nephew were at the house too. Catsicles are on the agenda for tomorrow morning. I did put out 2 tsp LC food for him and he does seem quite hungry as he's eaten just about all of it already. We'll see how the catsicles work tomorrow. I'm guessing I should make them in 1 tsp servings? I'm off for the night unless he surprises me at +6. I hope you have a good night Marje and thanks again for watching out for me. We'll see what surprises Mego has up his paw tomorrow.
 
I'd divide up his normal portion into equal sizes.

Really nice cycle! See...it's not always trial by fire :-D

See you tomorrow!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top