3/23 - Gen, AMPS 277, +2 231

Allie & Gen

Member Since 2025
Last post (Saturday)

Good morning, friends! I hope your week is off to a calm, smooth start, with safe surfs for all your kitties.

Sorry for my absence yesterday. I spent a lot of Saturday on a nature walk/bird photography outing, and I'm clearly a little out of shape after being cooped up so much this winter. I was wiped out. Gen and I had a nice chill, cuddly day together with me getting some chores done off and on.

I really appreciate everyone's input about his dose. I weighed it carefully, but ultimately did decide to increase Saturday night - while AM cycles are sometimes better for increases, I wanted to take advantage of as much weekend time as I had left. That and it just seemed right to me, based on my overall sense of his cycles, the dramatic and almost instandtaneous change I saw with the start of the budesonide, etc. I was ready to deal with it if he dropped too low. In fact, he didn't - it worked out. He hasn't seen another green yet, but his cycles have been a bit lower and flatter. We'll see how things progress.

I am a bit worried today because I realized over the weekend that my Libre prescription, which I thought had one more refill on it, did not. (I know, I need to ask for unlimited refills. I hadn't pushed it before because there was a lot going on.) My vet's office is closed on weekends, so I called this morning first thing, only to hear that my vet is off today and they're not sure they can send in a new prescription (the person I spoke to doesn't have that authority, but she was going to check with the office manager/tech). I'm not too worried about today, but a bit more about the night cycle and tomorrow's AM cycle when I will have to be in the office. So I've also reached out to the internal med unit at the animal hospital, since Gen's their patient too. Really hoping they can get a prescription in for him today. 🤞

ETA: realized I hadn't included a salient point - Gen's current Libre sensor has just ended (in the last hour).
 
Last edited:
Here's a Gen from last night, reminding me that it was dinnertime:
PXL_20260322_235822411.jpg


And a couple of the bird photos I took on Saturday 🐦🦉:

DSCN5581-r.jpg
DSCN5680-r.jpg
 
Not sure if the hospital keeps any Libres in stock 🤔 The vet would be able to get you a prescription if their pharmacy doesn't have any.
 
Not sure if the hospital keeps any Libres in stock 🤔 The vet would be able to get you a prescription if their pharmacy doesn't have any.
What I want from them is a prescription - I have a pharmacy much closer than the hospital that will also charge me less than theirs! (But apparently my regular IM vet isn't in today, and the request is going to that other guy, so I'm fully expecting to need to follow up in a bit.)
 
I hope you can get a new Libre script filled quickly Allie. Last thing you need is that added stress!
Hopefully your vet office has all the notes and any vet in office can sign off on the approval for you!

Good luck with the increased dose and safe surfing for Gen
🏄‍♀️ 🌊
Gen looks so adorable and your bird photos are beautiful! Hope you had a lovely day outdoors!💖:bighug:
 
I could just about cry right now. I was only able to get one sensor from the pharmacy, so I was going really slowly and carefully with the application process. (Plus, I'm trying to make it less stressful for Gen, instead of just like, pinning him down.) It was going fine until without warning he lept down from my lap and KICKED the loaded applicator in my hand. And guess what happened?

I don't know who I'm more upset with; Gen, myself, or Abbot for making these stupid things so easy to irreversably mess up. $88 and peace of mind gone in one clumsy slip.

I'm about to head back to the pharmacy and beg them to let me buy another. The guy who has been so kind and sympathetic in the past isn't working tonight, and I don't expect the person who was there to give me a free replacement.
 
Phew, okay. Was able to get two more, so I have a spare on hand now. I should be able to get Abbott to replace the one that was ruined. It has been a bit of a day.
Sooo glad you got that resolved Allie. What a day.
I’m so sorry you had all that aggravation!!
You’re the best cat parent!! 💪🏼💕🐈‍⬛😻
 
Phew, okay. Was able to get two more, so I have a spare on hand now. I should be able to get Abbott to replace the one that was ruined. It has been a bit of a day.
Maybe you could try it. My father was diabetic and it happened to him once, and they sent him a new one; they thought it was defective. You've got nothing to lose by trying. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top