3.23 Frankie AMPS 298

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3.23 Frankie +10 281 AMPS 298

Good morning, Jay.
Don't worry. You're starting to see more yellow. Someday, it will get lower.
:razz:
Have a good day at tbp.
 
As a former fellow 300 and up, for long periods of time, cat caretaker -- horray on the this run of yellow. Yes, even if it is only by two points.
I read some posts from yesterday -- what I hear loud and clear is that you are fighting for Frankie -- I like that. I also liked what Libby said about considering an increase on Thursday instead of the weekend -- gives the new dose time to take effect so you can optimize your being around on the weekend.

Man, my history with learning Lantus Time was painful. I couldn't stand my Noisy in the 300s UNTIL I read about JoJo's Bunny who lived happily for many years in the 300s. Noisy was in the 400s so my new goal became the 300s. I also really related to when you said, don't remember the exact words, but something about being into the numbers cause you hoped so badly the next beep of the meter would have them go down. I remember laying on the floor and crying from my frustration with the meter report.

Anyway, enough of all that. One of the many cool things about Lantus is when you start seeing that flat curve, like you had yesterday, try to visualize it in terms of -- ok it's flat, now I'd like it to be flat in the blues, I want to take the whole range down by 100 points, keep it flat. We love flat, Lantus loves flat, flat at any number is good news to me -- cause then it is a good setup for notching it down to the next level. The bad news is for people like me, and possibly you, is we want it faster. This is where I had trouble -- it took me a minimum of three months to let go and let Lantus do its thing. I hated having to learn Lantus Time but now, looking back, I marvel at it.

Lantus is an elegant drug that used properly is a beautiful thing to behold. In other words, it rocks.

As I see it, right now Lantus is telling you that it is ready for an increase in dose to go for a notch down of BGs-- meaning you are right on time to increase while you have this flat set of numbers. Once I had the necessary respect for the drug then I jumped on -- it was like me, Noisy, Lantus teamed up to beat those numbers.

Timing with Lantus is essential, it takes a certain getting used to, I'd like to help you with that.

Frankie -- we want yellow all day, k?
 
Jay said:

For me too Jay...only when I went to bed Alex was at 72! Now he's at 371!!!! Just like yesterday! "Groundhog's Day' for sure!
Frustrated? Oh yeah!!!!
Unhappy? No way! Because he had a beautiful day yesterday and maybe next month he'll have a week or 2
of those days....
and then more. And he is way harder to regulate than Frankie because he also has Hyper-t.
And I haven't really gone out in ages. (BUT the fact is that I didn't realize i could just change his schedule to fit mine).
But the question I ask NOW is how can I have a life and still stay within protocol and help Alex?
Maybe you don't word it the same way, but I THINK that's what you also mean.
All of the information that I've read, and this is perfectly honest, has stated that at first this isn't easy.
You need to have some kind of idea what's going on before you can run off and leave him alone without any worry as
you ARE starting all over again...with Lantus.

No one expects you to follow their advice 'blindly'. Everyone who gives you advice has received the same advice themselves. That advice
has come from the scientific research called "The Protocol" which seems to have worked for an awful lot of cats.

Everyone KNOWS you love Frankie and wants to help you guys. Please take this very important sentence in the spirit in which it was given, k? Everyone would love to see Frankie hang around another 5 years ...or more! :razz:

And CONGRATS! on your dosecrease. I hope you'll see the improvement you're looking for!

Caryl
 
D and Noisy said:
As a former fellow 300 and up, for long periods of time, cat caretaker -- horray on the this run of yellow. Yes, even if it is only by two points.
I read some posts from yesterday -- what I hear loud and clear is that you are fighting for Frankie -- I like that. I also liked what Libby said about considering an increase on Thursday instead of the weekend -- gives the new dose time to take effect so you can optimize your being around on the weekend.

I get kind of nervous, increasing a dose without being around. Even when we were on cruise control with PZI, it was like, I was worrying most of the day. Even today, I come home open the door, and the first thing I flash on is, "where is he", "is he okl?" and sure enough, for the past 5 years I find him sleeping in my bed with a look on his face that says. "Dude, chill out, why did you wake me up?". You think by now I'd be used to that feeling. NOT
Increase Thursday...PM, I'll be home. I could use all the help I can get. Its tough being a single dad to a diabetic cat.


Man, my history with learning Lantus Time was painful. I couldn't stand my Noisy in the 300s UNTIL I read about JoJo's Bunny who lived happily for many years in the 300s. Noisy was in the 400s so my new goal became the 300s. I also really related to when you said, don't remember the exact words, but something about being into the numbers cause you hoped so badly the next beep of the meter would have them go down. I remember laying on the floor and crying from my frustration with the meter report.

Anyway, enough of all that. One of the many cool things about Lantus is when you start seeing that flat curve, like you had yesterday, try to visualize it in terms of -- ok it's flat, now I'd like it to be flat in the blues, I want to take the whole range down by 100 points, keep it flat. We love flat, Lantus loves flat, flat at any number is good news to me -- cause then it is a good setup for notching it down to the next level. The bad news is for people like me, and possibly you, is we want it faster. This is where I had trouble -- it took me a minimum of three months to let go and let Lantus do its thing. I hated having to learn Lantus Time but now, looking back, I marvel at it.

Lantus is an elegant drug that used properly is a beautiful thing to behold. In other words, it rocks.

As I see it, right now Lantus is telling you that it is ready for an increase in dose to go for a notch down of BGs-- meaning you are right on time to increase while you have this flat set of numbers. Once I had the necessary respect for the drug then I jumped on -- it was like me, Noisy, Lantus teamed up to beat those numbers.

Timing with Lantus is essential, it takes a certain getting used to, I'd like to help you with that.

I

Frankie -- we want yellow all day, k?
 
Understand the nerves -- they'll go away, I promise. It's only natural to feel that way. Once you get a positive history down and can see that nothing bad happened you'll feel better which will make it easier the next time.
 
Jay & Frankie said:
I get kind of nervous, increasing a dose without being around. Even when we were on cruise control with PZI, it was like, I was worrying most of the day. Even today, I come home open the door, and the first thing I flash on is, "where is he", "is he okl?" and sure enough, for the past 5 years I find him sleeping in my bed with a look on his face that says. "Dude, chill out, why did you wake me up?". You think by now I'd be used to that feeling. NOT
Increase Thursday...PM, I'll be home. I could use all the help I can get. Its tough being a single dad to a diabetic cat.

I'm a single mom to a diabetic cat. I do think I have more flexibility with my schedule -- some days I can bolt home for a mid-day spot check. I also try to time increases for when I know I can either make those mid-day visits or the weekend. And I've certainly had the same case of nerves you describe. Would you be willing to test Libby and D's suggestion empirically? Maybe increasing the dose on Thurs. doesn't feel comfortable yet. What about changing on Friday -- either AM or PM so you do have more time on the weekend and can monitor when the dose begins to do it's work for Frankie. The next increase may be easier in terms of moving one cycle earlier depending on what the current change tells you. Maybe this way of approaching a dose change will feel more comfortable for you and allow you to develop a better sense of how Lantus is working for Frankie.
 
Caryl and Alex said:
Jay said:
Its like the movie Ground Hog Day.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9843

For me too Jay...only when I went to bed Alex was at 72! Now he's at 371!!!! Just like yesterday! "Groundhog's Day' for sure!
Frustrated? Oh yeah!!!!
Unhappy? No way! Because he had a beautiful day yesterday and maybe next month he'll have a week or 2
of those days....
and then more. And he is way harder to regulate than Frankie because he also has Hyper-t.
And I haven't really gone out in ages. (BUT the fact is that I didn't realize i could just change his schedule to fit mine).
But the question I ask NOW is how can I have a life and still stay within protocol and help Alex?
Maybe you don't word it the same way, but I THINK that's what you also mean.

You nailed it. That is exactly what I mean

All of the information that I've read, and this is perfectly honest, has stated that at first this isn't easy.
You need to have some kind of idea what's going on before you can run off and leave him alone without any worry as
you ARE starting all over again...with Lantus.

No one expects you to follow their advice 'blindly'. Everyone who gives you advice has received the same advice themselves. That advice
has come from the scientific research called "The Protocol" which seems to have worked for an awful lot of cats.

Everyone KNOWS you love Frankie and wants to help you guys. Please take this very important sentence in the spirit in which it was given, k? Everyone would love to see Frankie hang around another 5 years ...or more! :razz:

And CONGRATS! on your dosecrease. I hope you'll see the improvement you're looking for!

Caryl
 
D and Noisy said:
Understand the nerves -- they'll go away, I promise. It's only natural to feel that way. Once you get a positive history down and can see that nothing bad happened you'll feel better which will make it easier the next time.

Yep...test/shoot/go and forget...cruise control We were there only a short 3 weeks ago.
 
D and Noisy said:
Jay mentioned he could increase Thursday PM -- (I think I read that right.)

You did read it right. I figure, if I do that on the AM side, I wont be around, on the PM side, other then trying to catch a few zzzz's I will be.
 
Re: 3.23 Frankie AMPS 298, PMPS 429

Hey Jay. I peeked at your spreadsheet. Don't worry about the fur shot. It happens to everyone. A lot of times when we think we shot a fur shot, we actually didn't or some insulin gets in. I'm glad you didn't shoot again, just in case.
My cat J.D. is also in the 400s tonight. Ho hum :-| tomorrow's another day.
 
Re: 3.23 Frankie AMPS 298, PMPS 429 +3 260

I just checked him and he is coming down nicely..like 260 at +3



He walked away from his food, but went back to it after I tested. They have both gone back to sort of free feeding these days as they both know that I wont throw the food away and leave it out, even if they walk away at meal time.

Cats....arggggggggggggghhhhh....Rule

Dyana said:
Hey Jay. I peeked at your spreadsheet. Don't worry about the fur shot. It happens to everyone. A lot of times when we think we shot a fur shot, we actually didn't or some insulin gets in. I'm glad you didn't shoot again, just in case.
My cat J.D. is also in the 400s tonight. Ho hum :-| tomorrow's another day.
 
Re: 3.23 Frankie AMPS 298, PMPS 429, 3 260

That's a real nice drop. 169 points in 180 minutes (my mind always thinks like that..).
Can you get a +4? or set an alarm and get a +6? You might be happy.
 
Re: 3.23 Frankie AMPS 298, PMPS 429, 3 260

I was up at 4 AM this morning. How could I be happy setting the alarm to wake me up at 12:30 AM.

Thought I missed (fur shot) tonite too, I was wrong.
He's shedding sugar which is great.

I'm sticking with him. Going to test him in a few. I think the food he noshed on, may have slowed the drop. We shall see


Dyana said:
That's a real nice drop. 169 points in 180 minutes (my mind always thinks like that..).
Can you get a +4? or set an alarm and get a +6? You might be happy.
 
Re: 3.23 Frankie AMPS 298, PMPS 429, 3 260

He is back up to 320...Im going to sleep.

No need to keep testing him tonite. Next poke when we wake up around and after my first cup of coffee 4:30 AM...arfhhhhhhhh

Dyana said:
That's a real nice drop. 169 points in 180 minutes (my mind always thinks like that..).
Can you get a +4? or set an alarm and get a +6? You might be happy.
 
Re: 3.23 Frankie AMPS 298, PMPS 429, 3 260

Jay said:
He is back up to 320...Im going to sleep.

No need to keep testing him tonite. Next poke when we wake up around and after my first cup of coffee 4:30 AM...arfhhhhhhhh

4:30...aarrgghhhh (I kinda remember doing that)ewwwwww ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 3.23 Frankie AMPS 298, PMPS 429, 3 260

Its some thing I'd like to forget



Caryl and Alex said:
Jay said:
He is back up to 320...Im going to sleep.

No need to keep testing him tonite. Next poke when we wake up around and after my first cup of coffee 4:30 AM...arfhhhhhhhh

4:30...aarrgghhhh (I kinda remember doing that)ewwwwww ohmygod_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top