3/22 Felix PMPS 323

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/22 Felix AMPS 350, +3 309

Good morning guys .. TROLLS YOU SAY?? :o :lol: yes indeed a small world! My sister lives in caro ... I hope that felix continues this nice downward trend .. so close to yellow at +3 ... have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/22 Felix AMPS 350, +6 356 Dose Schedule Question

Experienced eyes: we have two questions on dosing:

1) I'd like to increase Felix's dose to 1u at his PMPS tonight. This is his 2nd cycle on the new pen @ .75u (remember, we just switched from the vial last night). He's was at .75u for five cycles previously (on the vial). I hate these pink numbers; they've been rough on him the last few days.

2) Hubby & I have a working weekend coming up soon that requires some shuffling. There is also a block of time where neither of us will be home to monitor or dose. I've laid out a pre-lim schedule and am looking for input on it. (ie. Yes, Looks good or No, What about this instead?)
Friday AMPS- reg. dose 7:00 a.m.
Friday PMPS- reg. dose 7:00 p.m. (sub available for one hour for me to run home to dose/feed Hi Carb. I'll be home before onset.)
Sat. AMPS - SKIP SHOT instead of reduced dose (neither home to dose & monitor safely- gone 11 hours)
Sat. PMPS - Pick new time for reg. dose (7:30 or 7:45 p.m. if me) (*preferred* 7:00 p.m. if Hubby is home)
Sun. AMPS- reg. dose (Time TBD by Sat. PMPS) Hubby home to monitor in a.m.
Sun. PMPS- reg. dose (Time TBD by Sat. PMPS) I'll be home for PMPS. If dosing isn't back on track on the 7's, will use following week to move time in 15 min. blocks

PeterDevonMocha: Really? You're sister lives in Caro? We have family still living in Caro; although with Felix's diagnosis, we haven't taken that step towards traveling long distance yet. We don't travel more than 30 mins. with the boys..I can't imagine 7.5 hours in a car one way with them. They don't travel well and I can't imagine that those calming herbs or sprays will do the trick for a trip downstate! :smile: Thanks for checking in & congrats on being OTJ!
 
Re: 3/22 Felix PMPS 323 Dose Question for Tomorrow

I've been feelin' a little snarky the past few days and haven't been visiting condos to say hello and wish everyone well...soooo HELLO! Hopefully the :evil: mood will pass.

Shot a lowering number tonight and decided not to increase his dose until the morning; thought I'd give the new insulin one more cycle to prove itself.

If anyone has spare time, I threw a question out earlier in the day seeking input on a schedule change for Felix. Would someone mind taking a look-see and let me know if the plan is sound? Thanks!
 
Re: 3/22 Felix PMPS 323 Dose Question for Tomorrow

I'd have increased this evening. Even if your old insulin was toast, you'd still have to fill the shed with new juice.
Increasing the dose...

* Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
FWIW, if your Sat. PM shot would only be late by 30 min., it's within the window of it not having a huge effect on the shed. You can shift the time without a problem. The biggest headache is the skipped shot. Would it be possible to get someone to stop by and either shoot and/or test if you'll be gone? Is there a vet tech from your vet's office that could help out?
 
Re: 3/22 Felix PMPS 323 Dose Question for Tomorrow

oh yay :) Sienne's here. I was gunna take a stab at your schedule question, but she's been around the block whereas I've only just stepped my toes on the pavement! yay for schedule plans :smile:
 
Re: 3/22 Felix PMPS 323 Dose Question for Tomorrow

some of the posts on the bulletin board at my vet's are for people who do pet-sitting - and many of them say "administer meds." I've wondered if that includes insulin shots as well. i wonder if you could get a petsitter or vet tech overnight who would give the shot and stay at least until his nadir.

we've been talking about it here because our college daughter's birthday is Thursday and we're trying to figure out how to see her - she's just less than 2 hrs away - to celebrate her birthday and still get home in time for punkin's shot. i think we've decided the dose will be a little late.

if you expect him to be high and all the tests show him running high, could you just let him be without tests for awhile? I'm not suggesting it, I don't know, I'm just wondering.
 
I would definitely increase to 1 unit. It looks like Felix has lost some momentum and needs to go back up in dose until he finds his groove again.

About the schedule, I know you're trying to plan ahead, which is admirable (I am not known for doing that!). Really you might not have to finagle as much as you think. It does depend on where his numbers are, but if he's still running high and flat then you might not have to skip on Saturday. You don't HAVE to be around to monitor every cycle, the goal is to collect enough data over time that you can feel comfortable knowing what is going on when you're not home. Of course, if he has a breakthrough by then and is getting lots of green again, you'll want to be more cautious.
 
Jenner....looks like you did it right, girl!! Great job....my posts are sometimes cryptic.

I hope you are feeling less snarky. If it is because of his numbers, I totally understand. It took Mike and me probably four months to kick the habit of letting Gracie's numbers affect our moods. It took some real energy to do that and to laugh even through the stinkus pinkus. No...we aren't happy when she throws pink but at least we are both dealing with it better emotionally....esp Mike; I sometimes still tend to try and figure it out :YMSIGH: :YMSIGH: :lol: :lol:
 
Sienne: I don't text..what is FWIW?

As I mentioned, no, we do not have anyone else that can come in and test or dose-hence my question about skipping the shot. In case it wasn't clear in my post, the reason for skipping the shot has nothing to do with changing the time of the shot. I will not be home to dose UNTIL 7:30 or 7:45 p.m.- unless Hubby is able to come home early (as he has to work through the weekend). I am concerned with the Sat. morning shot- shooting a regular dose, leaving an hour later and not being able to get home until late. Obviously I'll leave out High Carb. I am looking at all our options given the our availability for the weekend.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top