3/22 Doodle AMPS 250 DOSING ADVISE NEEDED

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
last thread

I do not feel Doodle is on Tight Regulation any longer but I also do not think he is on the right dose of insulin. Now that his BG's are over 250 due to the prednisolone I feel like he needs more than 1.25u that he is getting. Thoughts? How do I get to the right dose? Do I have to increase in 0.25u increments? If so how long does each increase take before going to the next increase? I just want to make sure he's getting enough insulin but I'm not looking to "earn reductions"
 
You can still follow TR if you choose too or adapt it once you see how the pred is affecting Doodle's numbers. You still need to be getting some spot checks regardless of the protocol since Lantus and Lev dosing is based on the nadir. If this were my cat, I'd still be raising the dose in 0.25u increments since you do not want Doodle's numbers to plummet. It is a matter of systematically working up to what is the right dose. Also, since Doodle is new to pred, you need to give this some time to see how his system adjusts.
 
I agree - I'd just increase by 0.25u increments, hold it for 6 cycles at least, then look at the nadirs you get on each dose, and decide how to proceed. There are others on here that have their kitties on prednisolone. You simply adjust the dose based upon the blood sugar numbers, just like you were doing before.
 
When Zener went on prednisolone, his insulin went from about 1u to 2u, or something like that. We incremented in 0.25u steps, after 6 cycles if the numbers were high. Vines for Doodle.
Liz
 
I'm getting so confused with the cats now. When Tidus was on it, it had really no effect but that I think was more because of his acromegaly and other issues. Nothing really moved his BG's up or down. I was just assuming Doodle's BG would stay up and not go down much. I will get the mid day testing in now that I know that. I assumed the prednisolone was just going to keep it elevated all day.
 
We had one member Mariko (Lucy) who had a kitty on daily prednilisone and she noticed the effects would last for just part of a cycle. Since she worked during the day, she gave the pred in the morning so Lucy would be safe during the day. You'll just have to try it and see how it affects Doodle.
 
How is Doodle doing, Jenn? I've been thinking of you guys. Is his breathing doing ok?

I think you can't assume anything about Doodle's responses at this point. I'd think of this as data-gathering time so you can learn how he's responding to things. That will help you as you move forward.
 
He's doing really good. He's lost a few pounds but other than that nothing is different. Same mannerisms, good appetite.
Second chemo treatment Thursday. I think they will check his bloodwork then too.
For some reason I just assumed the prednisone would not only elevate BG's but keep it elevated so I'm glad I asked because I didn't realize his BG can still go up and down.
 
Doodle2.JPG
 
This was last week the day of his first chemo treatment. The weather was so nice and he loves to go outside so I just had to take him out. I just pray he gets to enjoy our yard soon. There is still some snow and no grass. We moved last October and were looking forward to him enjoying it
 
What a beautiful picture! I'm glad to hear to hear that Doodle is eating well and the chemo hasn't affected his appetite (huge anti-jinx). I have nothing to contribute to the dosing discussion. I just wanted to check in and let you know you and Doodle are in my prayers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top