3/22/12 Max +6.5 (PM) BG=278; Dose For Sitter??

Status
Not open for further replies.

max&emmasmommie

Member Since 2012
Hi,

Update ***March 23, 2012 3:23 am.
I'm still hoping for an answer about the dose the sitter will give him. Max's BG was 278 about an hour ago, and I'll keep posting the readings. I'm encouraging him to eat to prevent his BG from dropping too much and creating another bounce -- it was 415 at PMPS, and at +2 it was 352. We have 2 more shots to go before we leave after his PM dose on Friday night at 8 pm Pacific time.***

Max's BG reading was 475 Thursday morning - down 100 points from PMPS Wednesday night. He has been getting all the antibiotic and eating well, too. He had very soft stool/diarrhea Thursday morning in his box. I have backed off on the Miralax. He had a very soft poo on my bed Thursday, too.

Link to post in Lantus (TR) http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66888
 
Re: 3/23/12 Max +8 (PM) BG=337; Dose For Sitter??

Update ***March 23, 2012 4:39 am.
I'm still hoping for an answer about the dose the sitter will give him. I'll keep posting the readings. One thing to consider is that he will be alone for 11 hours at a time, and he tends to eat less when he is alone. He likes someone to move his food around before he eats it. He's used to eating small amounts at a time.

Right now, I'm encouraging him to eat to prevent his BG from dropping too much and creating another bounce -- it was 415 at PMPS, and at +2 it was 352, at +6.5 = 278, then he ate, at +8 =337. We have 2 more shots to go before we leave after his PM dose on Friday night at 8 pm Pacific time. We'll be gone 10 days, and the sitter is planning to test, but she just learned how. ***


Link to TR post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66888
 
Personally I would drop him back to 1u while you are away. Better no enough insulin than too much. Although I personally would drop him back to that 1u anyhow because his numbers look a lot like rebound to me. Just my 2 cents on the matter.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/22/12 Max +2 493 Dose For Sitter??

Discouraging. Who thinks Mel is right? If not for the fact that my sitter probably will not be able to catch any urine, I would be inclined to drop to 1u.
 
Severe constipation may need additional meds, along with the miralax.
My Oliver was having troubles similar to your description but his diarrhea was present even though his Xrays showed his constipation and a need for enemas and 2 other medications.
I can't comment on Oliver's numbers as he is currently off insulin, but in the past, when ill, constipated, and on ABs, his numbers have been higher.

Now, if you are away, and the AB finally get working, and the constipation clears completely, you will likely see lower BG so to be safe, you want to go with a lower dose of 1u. Sure you can go higher, maybe even tell the sitter to go with 1.5u, but you risk the danger of a hypo while Max is alone, and the hypo would most probably occur around nadir which means hours that Max would be alone and too low.... not a good scenario, so that's why everyone is saying go low with the 1u.

Also, be sure to leave the sitter a NO SHOOT numbers... if Max tests below 180 or something, no shot.
I hope the constipation issues will be cleared before you leave; i don't know how much miralax you were giving, but it may be an idea to have the sitter put 1/8 tsp into one meal a day to be sure there is no return to constipation while you are away. I would ask the sitter to make a note when a stool is passed so that you can know if Max had issues or not when you were away.
 
Here's the link to the post on the TR board. We were concerned about the diarrhea/constipation, a petsitter who may not be able to test, Max being a CKD kitty, what effect the ABs would have, Max not reliably eating, and Dale being gone for 10 - 11 days.

TR Board condo
 
Thank you, Mel. Now, I wish I had dropped him back to 1u a week ago, but there are no do-overs in this business. If I was going to be here, I'd probably do it.

Sienne wrote "We were concerned about the diarrhea/constipation, a petsitter who may not be able to test, Max being a CKD kitty, what effect the ABs would have, Max not reliably eating, and Dale being gone for 10 - 11 days."

Now the pet sitter is going to spend 8 nights, and check on Max during the day. We are still trying to figure out the dose. He's staying in the 400 so far today.

Essentialy all of the activity on this subject is going on over on TR:
TR Board condo[/url
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top