? 3/21 Mo- AMPS 117, +2.5 128- Dosage increase? Help please?

CaitLovesMo

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/03-20-mo-amps-116-2-5-78-4-5-117-6-98.260931/

(still don't know if I am putting the last thread in correctly)

Good morning from Mo and myself,

Mo has been so happy to be back home. He is getting all the snuggles and is enjoying laying in his favorite bed in the sunshine. I know it has only been 2 days, but his numbers are not where they were before we left. Before we left, his numbers were hitting green throughout the day and only blue for the preshots.

I really need suggestions for his dose. Should I increase? Should I wait? I want him back where he was or even better. I understand he is tightly regulated and is doing well, but I find it weird he is all over the place again. I am continuing the needle dose as of now, as well as giving a snack at +9. I will be checking the camera today to see if it is him eating it or his sisters. His sisters are chonky women and love food. His snack is either tuna or chicken from the can with a couple pieces of kibble to spike his interest. I also went out and bought the gravy center FF pate to see if that would get his interest of eating for wet food. First attempt failed, but I am leaving it out all day and will try again this PM.

I apologize if I am driving anyone crazy. I just want to get a handle on this since we had to travel for a night. I really want him back in the greens throughout the day.

Thanks again! You all rock!

Mo is sending you some head buts!

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet..._pZf9HmUCy2J_yrOaclzHIPI7E/edit#gid=361360320
 
Hi, the previous thread is linked correctly, but I am unable to see your SS. You need to grant access ("Anybody with the link can view").
 
When you say ND - Needle Dose, do you mean a drop dose? This is what we mean by a drop dose - Push the plunger of the empty syringe in fully, keep it pressed and insert in the pen. Let go of the pressure on the plunger and it will draw a drop.

The depot will take at least 6 cycles to rebuild after the skipped shots. This AM is cycle 5. Let's see how he does today and maybe tomorrow before contemplating an increase?
 
Yes. ND is our drop dose. I asked yesterday. With SLGS a reduction was actually earned with the 80 but I don’t think you should stop just yet so don’t increase. Can you check to make sure it’s only a drop. How do you draw it up? Try pushing in the plunger all the way as you insert it into your vial or pen. Then release the plunger. It will draw up a drop.

We like to see almost all bg under 100 for an otj trial. Try giving a +8-9 snack all cycles to see if that brings down the amps/pmps. A working pancreas will bring down the bg 3-4 hours after eating. Looking at your spreadsheet that’s not happening 3-4 hours after eating. To test that pick up food after eating and test at +3. Then you can feed again.
 
Yes. ND is our drop dose. I asked yesterday. With SLGS a reduction was actually earned with the 80 but I don’t think you should stop just yet so don’t increase. Can you check to make sure it’s only a drop. How do you draw it up? Try pushing in the plunger all the way as you insert it into your vial or pen. Then release the plunger. It will draw up a drop.

We like to see almost all bg under 100 for an otj trial. Try giving a +8-9 snack all cycles to see if that brings down the amps/pmps. A working pancreas will bring down the bg 3-4 hours after eating. Looking at your spreadsheet that’s not happening 3-4 hours after eating. To test that pick up food after eating and test at +3. Then you can feed again.



It is definitely a drop I am giving. I have checked many times to make sure something was in there. I began giving a snack at +9 with an automatic bowl, but when I check the camera with my busy work schedule, the food is already gone and I don't know yet if he is getting any or his sister is getting it all. Going to try hard tomorrow to get to the camera on time.

Should I pick up the bowl even if he barely ate his wet food?? I want to make sure he gets enough for his insulin. He had been a very stubborn and picky kitty this past week and it is beyond frustrating..
 
Yes. ND is our drop dose. I asked yesterday. With SLGS a reduction was actually earned with the 80 but I don’t think you should stop just yet so don’t increase. Can you check to make sure it’s only a drop. How do you draw it up? Try pushing in the plunger all the way as you insert it into your vial or pen. Then release the plunger. It will draw up a drop.

We like to see almost all bg under 100 for an otj trial. Try giving a +8-9 snack all cycles to see if that brings down the amps/pmps. A working pancreas will bring down the bg 3-4 hours after eating. Looking at your spreadsheet that’s not happening 3-4 hours after eating. To test that pick up food after eating and test at +3. Then you can feed again.


I am upstairs and just checked the camera for fun... there are 3 bowls of wet food in front of him and he is begging for kibble. .
 
If he's normally a grazer, I'd leave his food down. Wet food of course. From the night of the 18th, with no shot, he dropped to 80 the next morning. Looks like his pancreas is sputtering. But perhaps needs just a bit more support to heal.
 
Of you can pick up his food for 2-3 hours after eating his BG should go down. even if he hasn’t eaten much. That’s why when cats are low just a teaspoon or two brings the BG up.
I
It’s lc dry? Give him a little if that’s all he will eat but better if he will eat human chicken or 100%freeze dried protein treats.
 
If he's normally a grazer, I'd leave his food down. Wet food of course. From the night of the 18th, with no shot, he dropped to 80 the next morning. Looks like his pancreas is sputtering. But perhaps needs just a bit more support to heal.

What support do you suggest?
 
Back
Top