3/21 Kona AMPS 124, PMPS 421

Jason - Kona's Dad

Member Since 2023
I'm soooooo bummed. :arghh: This PMPS will be the highest number we've ever seen at 421.

Kona had a lower number this morning for AMPS at 124, so I thought it would be smart to give her eight 14% snacks in the automatic feeder because I was going to be gone all day at work.

This morning was a cycle where she probably didn't go low at all and probably even bounced, so I made it worse. :mad: I feel so stupid and defeated, here I was thinking it was being safe, but I over did it. It was too much.. If I was home monitoring, this would'nt have happened at all, I would've saw the increase and not done any snacks or less carbs for sure.

I have to go to work all day tomorrow as well. :(

Yesterday's Post
 
Last edited:
Took ketones test 0.2

upload_2024-3-21_18-58-17.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-3-21_18-58-17.png
    upload_2024-3-21_18-58-17.png
    322 KB · Views: 90
This morning was a cycle where she didn't go low and probably even bounced, so I made it worse. :mad: I feel so stupid, here I was thinking it was being safe, but I over did it. It was too much.. If I was home monitoring, this would'nt have happened at all, I would've saw the increase and not done any snacks or less carbs for sure.
Hi Jason, you're not stupid, you just wanted to be sure that Kona would be safe while you were at work.Yes I'm sure if you were at home you would have done things differently, but you need to work to keep your 2 cute furbabies living in luxury :cat:
Don't be so hard on yourself , tomorrow's another day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Jason, you're not stupid, you just wanted to be sure that Kina would be safe while you were at work.Yes I'm sure if you were at home you would have done things differently, but you need to work to keep your 2 cute furbabies living in luxury :cat:
Don't be so hard on yourself , tomorrow's another day :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thanks, Diane. You're right! I was just thinking what if I only did 5.5% and it happened to be a super active cycle with it not being enough. It could've been coming home to a 30 BG number. I can't be too hard on myself, because I can't predict FD, but it's so frustrating because I left the house in such a good mood that I did all the right things this morning.

I gotta let it go, need to suck it up and just focus on the next steps of preventing any major drops tonight. Tomorrow is another day to worry about, this PMPS number is already done.

Thank you!!!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Don’t beat yourself up, sometimes it happens that we just over do the carbs, especially when we aren’t quite sure where the cycle might go and can’t be home to check. Try and use the data you do have when you are home and the carb intervention and how those cycles went when assessing how much to leave out in the feeder.

When Mav was on Lantus, I also tended with lower preshots to look at where he was in the previous cycle, and whether he was apt to bounce. I also liked an out the door test since that often helped me gauge how much of higher LC to leave. I’d only put out MC around onset and at +3 or +4 if I wasn’t sure based on the out the door test what might be a more active cycle. I wouldn’t have gone automatically to 14% for each snack but you know better than I do how carb sensitive Kona is. That’s where the data and info you have when you are home comes in real handy :), it gives you a bit of confidence in gauging how she’ll be when you aren’t home to monitor.

if you don’t mind me asking, why no reducie after that pm cycle on March 13th when she was under 50?
 
Don’t beat yourself up, sometimes it happens that we just over do the carbs, especially when we aren’t quite sure where the cycle might go and can’t be home to check. Try and use the data you do have when you are home and the carb intervention and how those cycles went when assessing how much to leave out in the feeder.

When Mav was on Lantus, I also tended with lower preshots to look at where he was in the previous cycle, and whether he was apt to bounce. I also liked an out the door test since that often helped me gauge how much of higher LC to leave. I’d only put out MC around onset and at +3 or +4 if I wasn’t sure based on the out the door test what might be a more active cycle. I wouldn’t have gone automatically to 14% for each snack but you know better than I do how carb sensitive Kona is. That’s where the data and info you have when you are home comes in real handy :), it gives you a bit of confidence in gauging how she’ll be when you aren’t home to monitor.

Yes, I was thinking... that's the problem, making the automatic feeder decision when I'm needing to fly out the door and get to work. I only have so much time to make the decisions. You bring up a good point though, I should look at numbers the night before and had a game plan on what I would lay out if numbers were in different ranges.

I also recognize I don't reflect on my numbers and I'm becoming soooo complacent, day-by-day, not thinking about the last few days. I need to do better by studying my spreadsheet.



if you don’t mind me asking, why no reducie after that pm cycle on March 13th when she was under 50?

I thought we only reduce if under 40? "If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit."

I guess I'm considering Kona is a long term diabetic, she's almost going on one year since DX. Maybe I'm confused?

Thanks so much, Christie!
 
You’re welcome :)

I thought we only reduce if under 40? "If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit."

I guess I'm considering Kona is a long term diabetic, she's almost going on one year since DX. Maybe I'm confused?

Close but not quite… Long term diabetics are “more than” one year since diagnosis. ;)

It can help to keep track of the carbs on your SS when you are home, so you can easily see how much of a bump generally you get and when, or what keeps her generally flat. Not all cats will onset at +2 and nadir at +6, and not all cycles will look the same, but yes, try and watch for her general patterns from even a few cycles before, and use that info to your advantage. She sometimes throws you those highs before the break, like March 17th to March 18th which gave you a later nadir. Just a bit more food for thought.
 
I'm soooooo bummed. :arghh: This PMPS will be the highest number we've ever seen at 421.

Kona had a lower number this morning for AMPS at 124, so I thought it would be smart to give her eight 14% snacks in the automatic feeder because I was going to be gone all day at work.

This morning was a cycle where she probably didn't go low at all and probably even bounced, so I made it worse. :mad: I feel so stupid and defeated, here I was thinking it was being safe, but I over did it. It was too much.. If I was home monitoring, this would'nt have happened at all, I would've saw the increase and not done any snacks or less carbs for sure.

I have to go to work all day tomorrow as well. :(

Yesterday's Post
Never feel stupid for keeping Kona safe, Jason. It’s somewhat of a guessing game to guess where they’re headed.
I still struggle with predicting and I study that SS constantly!
You’re doing such a great job!!
Hope today is a smooth day for you and Kona :cat::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Hoping today is a smoother day for you and Kona- don't beat yourself up, you made the best decision you could at the time, all done with love. I do the same for Jack, they are unpredictable at times, even if you had done something different. Regarding the ketones, IMO 0.2 blood reading isn't bad, just keep and eye. HUGS and hope you have a good weekend! :bighug:
 
Back
Top