3/20 Shadoe pmps 308 dose 10uL

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Very Active Member
Yesterday’s Condo
(and a bit of today :oops: )

Like a deer staring into the headlights of a MAC truck, I am late in realizing a new condo should be started.

Yesterday's gruesome recap:
137 - +11.5 (530am) no shot due dental day
203 - +1.5 (730am) out the door for the vets number
265 - +4.5 (1030am) taken at vets at start of dental
391 - +11.5 (530pm) upon arrival at home from vets
373 - +12.5 (630pm)
353 - +13 - no dose advice so went with 10uL and 0.5R (temp 97.6)
191 - +1
61 - +2
50 - +2.5
70 - +3
54 - +4
56 - +5
63 - +6
70 - +7
76 - +8
74 - +8.5 (I was getting kinda tired and Shadoe was pissed with the tests :lol: )
83 - +11 (so we took a break)
115 - +12
95 - +13
85 - +14.5
106 - +15.5 (at this point, there is no point in any shot)

That's our story and we are sticking to it.
I pretty much freaked when I became aware of the blindness issue with Baytril use, and after they had used metacam when I said ahead of time, a few times, to not use it, and then they used it, and then a whole string of other things that were bad in my mind.

OK I started this condo when I was reminded to open one for today, but then Sonia called and I got up to prepare for Oliver. I just remembered about this condo when I tested Shadoe haha_smiley :dizcat

Shadoe is sitting at 122 at 1pm - a nice blue. Speaking of blue, the young vet suggested I don't give a shot unless the ps is yellow.

Oh yeah, I forgot the best thing: I won. The squeaky wheel sometimes does get the grease. The baytril that I took back will be refunded and she will check with Dr. Vihos if they can give me some antirobe instead for an A/B. Is that on ok? I'll know later on today. The reason they gave me the baytril was due to my saying NO PILLS and they use baytril alot and there you have the reason. I said that's fine but mark my file no metacam and no baytril. If I hear of others, I'll let you know. They don't have any bupe at the moment, they don't stock it cuz they don't use it often. :roll:

I am sure there is more to put in here but I am tired and want a coffee before Oliver arrives within the hour.
 
Re: 3/20 Shadoe no shot today

Gayle and Shadoe said:
... and she will check with Dr. Vihos if they can give me some antirobe instead for an A/B.

that's ok, if and only if you get the liquid form. is common post-dental a/b. also known as clindamycin. it's what jen's oreo is now on, post-dental. make sure it's liquid, not pill. see dr lisa's signature for why not clinda pill. btw it tastes horrible, worse if not refrigerated. have fun dosing it :razz:
 
Re: 3/20 Shadoe no shot today

The vets office is absolutely aware that I will refuse any type of pill form of med, so it will be the liquid.
Man, this stuff must taste horrific! Every single person has said it is bad and to have it cold.
They thought I meant I wanted injections only, but I meant I just did not want any pill form. :YMSIGH:

When I explained about the soft tissue issue and the throat, she did say that they did not any problem and the did check.

I think Dr. Vihos works evenings, so she should be in the office soon. They will call me later and I can walk over there.
 
Re: 3/20 Shadoe no shot today

Why is clindamycin prefered over amoxicillin for post-dentals? Brownie is on clavamox (amoxicillin). And how often does Baytril cause blindness in cats? Simpkin was on that recently when he had a very nasty UTI... Glad that Shadoe is doing so well (even without his juice)! Hope you're having a wonderful "Welcome home Oliver" day!
 
Re: 3/20 Shadoe no shot today

I hear your new boy is home! Congrats!

I'm not sure about the drugs but what I know if that Wendy and Milo's vet in SK I think didn't have Bupe on hand and when I asked my vet about Bupe, I got the same answer: "we have to order it". I remembered the Milo story and I told myself that before Tizon gets a dental, I'll get the vet to order some. Of course that information is not helpful to you right now, however... my point is... you're not alone!

I'll take note of the med discussion in this condo.
 
Re: 3/20 Shadoe no shot today

I'm glad you pointed out that there were today posts in yesterday's condo. I could have sworn I had posted to you today but I didn't see it here. I posted in yesterday's too. :oops:
 
Re: 3/20 Shadoe no shot today

Sorry Libby, I got kind of behind with things, getting ready for Oliver and pissing off the vets about Shadoe and her meds.

I still have to start one for Oliver because I don't know how much Lantus to give him tonite. If he's been "moved up to 3units per JR" on notes dated 3/1/2010 from his vet paper file, do I start from scratch or continue on 3units?

Booboo has decided to live the rest of her life in the bathroom sink; every time she comes out, she runs into this cat that stands 15inch at his back end and stretched on the floor he measures at least 29inches long.

Shadoe is under the cabinet in front of which is her food tray. Whenever Oliver comes near her food, she growls at him haha_smiley Do what you like, just don't touch my food!

Shadoe was at 122 last test at 1pm; I wonder what she will be in 45min at pmps / 6pm?
 
Re: 3/20 Shadoe no shot today

Sounds like fune at the ok corral :lol: :lol:
Wish I could watch the action between the 2 girls and big Oliver that does not seem to have
a care in the world.

122 with no shot today how interesting is that?
Now you need to decide what dose for tonight?

Did you do a BG check on Oliver yet? Did he have insulin this morning.
Oh I can't wait to see his condo too. Of course you have an ss made already, right?
 
Re: 3/20 Shadoe pmps 308 need dose advice pls

Shadoe is getting her first dose of A/B and she looks to be ready for a shot with her pmps 308. I would like to go with 10u tonite and see if it is enough unless we need to go back to her 14u. The last 2 shots were at 10u, so that is why it seemed like a good place to pick up.
Shots are in about 15min or so.
 
Re: 3/20 Shadoe pmps 308 need dose advice pls

just throwing this out there, but 10u might be too much for her now (I know, weird). She got a helluva duration off the last 10u, and I realize that there was R in the mix but at some point that should have stopped mattering, right? I don't mean to add to your indecision (well, actually you sound pretty decisive!). On the other hand, she's at 308 so she should have plenty of room if she drops. Boy, I didn't answer anything at all, did I? :lol:

I've always been amazed at the acromoms when they do this stuff, they just seem to have an instinct or BOS or something.
 
Re: 3/20 Shadoe pmps 308 need dose advice pls

Libby,
What about her shed? What's in there and how long would it take to fill if I go with 7u or 10u?
I am OK with 10 or some other lower number, if you think it will be enough and the shed will get filled too.

Also, I should mention that tomorrow I may need to switch over to the Lev as her cart is just about done now.

I'll get her A/B ready in the meantime, and also I'll load up Oliver's shot of 3uL.
 
Re: 3/20 Shadoe pmps 308 need dose advice pls

I wouldn't think there is very much shed, with 2 skipped shots in 2 days. Of course 14u is a big shed, so there could be a little of it left in there.

You're good at testing and at doing whatever you have to do with the numbers. If you like 10 units then go for it, then we'll know and we can adjust from there if needed.

FYI (and you've probably heard this from her too), Jojo has told me not to be afraid to do BIG dose reductions with acros, if they seem to be needed. It's a gamble, if the dose isn't enough then you do have to work back up, which is a pain.
 
Re: 3/20 Shadoe pmps 308 need dose advice pls

I went with 10u; I hate the crawling back up so 10 is low enough.

The A/B with the tuna juice in the same syringe went well. Shadoe never knew what hit her mouth - she was too preoccupied with keeping track of what the new member of our household was located. Mind you, it was the first oral shot, and after the first, the next is tougher if it tasted like crap. We will see how it goes in the morning for dose number of the A/B.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top