3/20 Oliver pmps 425 dose 3uL

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Member Since 2009
This condo is the first for Oliver.
I have very little dosing data, but here's what I do have.

The last entry on his file from the vets office:
3/11/10 - BG readings 15.3 Post insulin, post fast reading 8:45am 517 mg/dl 363 mg/dl 4:00pm the note beside it say 'moved up to3 units per JR'

Today, when he arrived, I tested him at 230pm EST and got 410.
I'll set up his ss tonite, but what dose should we give Oliver at 6pm - stick with the 3uL or go down and to what dose.
 
Re: 3/20 Oliver needs starting dose advice for tonite please

hmm, do you know if he was eating wet food or dry food before? If he were here, I would most likely hold his dose and do curves over the next couple of days to try to figure it out. Most likely you'll be able to see very clearly if the dose is too much. If there was a diet change, though, things might change quickly. And I know you didn't sleep last night. ;-)
 
Re: 3/20 Oliver needs starting dose advice for tonite please

He is eating all wet.
When he got here, I gave him 1/2 Wellness Core the chicken flavor. He inhaled that, and after an hour, I gave him the other half. That food disappeared and an hour later or so, he had the stinkiest poop ever, and then he hurled the food all up.

He seems perfectly fine now. I chalked it up to his being all upset with all the strangers and travel and being hungry but it just did not stay down. He has nibble at a bit of sophisticat salmon dinner but is mostly exploring and sleeping.

I can go with 3u tonite and both shots tomorrow with monitoring on all to get an idea how he's doing. His ss is ready for numbers, and I just have to make him a profile and signature. I guess I'll need to put his picture in my signature and change my name to include both Shadoe and Oliver
 
Re: 3/20 Oliver needs starting dose advice for tonite please

Hi Gayle
Can't help with the dosing, sorry.

Gee, now you need a new user id, signature..picture and all the fun stuff for your new boy.

Lots of decisions to make. Good thing it's a Saturday.
 
Re: 3/20 Oliver needs starting dose advice for tonite please

Welcome Oliver! You'll like it here. You have a great bean and lovely step-sisters. You're in good hands!

Stu
 
Welcome to the first day of the rest of your life, Oliver!!!!!!
I think your gonna like it! :mrgreen:

Did you tell him about the parties yet? :lol:

You're wonderful Gayle! Have fun!!! Oh - and get some sleep.
 
So far so good. Oliver could care less about the others.

He's great to test; sits nicely but has a habit if shaking his head when poked so he shakes off the blood drops :lol: Shadoe's different and sits very very still, but Oliver sits still then shakes his head.

Since his last dose that's in his papers is 3u, I figured why not start there and see how it goes. So far, his +2 is nice - 383.

Just a couple things are worrisome.
He eats ok, has a fine appetite, but shortly after eating he is hurling most of what he ate.
The other thing is that his stool is quite runny, and SMELLY~!!

So you think he is just upset from the trip? He's all stretched out now in the living room sleeping away, so it does not seem like he's in pain or anything. I don't think it's the food because he brings up any of the foods he has had since being here, even a bit of tuna came back up.

For a big cat, I think he could put on bit of fat.
 
Welcome home Oliver!

Welcome to LL!! :RAHCAT

So glad he's home at last ready to begin his new life with you, Shadoe and BooBoo!

I'm wondering if he may of eaten too much too fast? And yes, plus the travels could of stressed him a bit, hopefully his tummy will settle down by tomorrow,
had you been giving him a lot of servings in one sitting? Just wonder maybe smaller servings spread out a bit, give it a little time to settle.

He's such a lucky kitty thou to be there with you! Congratulations!!
 
I'm sure you're going to "introduce" Oliver to your vet and get him checked out so if there's anything brewing you'll know. Even though he may be laying around like he's calm, I'm sure he's been through a great deal of change. He may need some time to get settled down. Did any of his paperwork indicate any GI issues at any time? (I don't know Oliver's story about why he needed a new home.) If his tummy is still upset, you could try some Pepsid tomorrow. FortiFlora or another probiotic may help with the poo problem. However, I'd give him a day or so to settle down. I think Ronnie's suggestion of feeding him frequent, small amounts makes a great deal of sense as a place to start.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top