3/20 Mouzer: AMPS 184/+2 160/+4 91/+5 124/+8 181/PMPS 264/+2 279/+4 268

Cherryl & Mouzer

Member Since 2017
The little bit, I am not sure that I have learned, tells me that today can stay blue, go blue to green or go blue to yellow and maybe even find a pink :D

3/19 Mouzer: AMPS 293/+2 326/+6 205/+9 211/PMPS 244/+2 209/+4 152/+7 165
 
Last edited:
Btw, do you have MC and HC and honey or karo? I am spooking you out, with this question, aren't I? :D

LC is <10% carbs
MC >10% and upto 15%
HC is >15%

I would suggest taking stock of all the food you have and figuring out their carb% and labeling them so that if you need to feed higher carbs when he is in lower numbers (and if your mind blanks), you can just look at the labels and know which is which.
 
Btw, do you have MC and HC and honey or karo? I am spooking you out, with this question, aren't I? :D

LC is <10% carbs
MC >10% and upto 15%
HC is >15%

I would suggest taking stock of all the food you have and figuring out their carb% and labeling them so that if you need to feed higher carbs when he is in lower numbers (and if your mind blanks), you can just look at the labels and know which is which.

Something dropped to my tummy and then my tummy fell to my thighs, when I first began reading that one haha
I have honey and karo syrup.
I have friskies turkey and cheese dinner in gravy (I think is MC).
I do not have any canned HC -- I do hope you know how to work around this if need be today.

I do have Merrick Purrfect Bistro Complete Care Grain- Free Sensitive Stomach Recipe Dry Cat Food and I do not know how to know the carbs.
I have seen people say it is better to use high carb dry if you have it and if there is no high carb canned on hand.

I keep Mouzer's special food supply in a small Chewy box.
It took a little time to be able and order because they were out.
HC is to arrive tomorrow... FF Chicken Hearts & Liver Feast in Grilled Chicken Flavor Gravy
And another MC to arrive March 20 - 22 FF Gravy Lovers Chicken & Beef in Grilled Chicken Flavor Gravy

I am searching to see if I can find carb for Merrick's Dry but I dont see anything.
 
Last edited:
No dry food. We stick to canned food for MC and HC.

See if you can find your canned foods in this link:
https://catinfo.org/chart/index.php

I do not see my MC there but I saw it on the 2017 Chart is why I got it.
On that chart, the Friskies Turkey & Cheese in Gravy has 17 carbs.

What is not here yet is not HC, it is MC.
Gravy Lovers Chicken Hearts & Liver Feast in Gravy 15 carbs.

So, I have no high carb ordered. I have to keep looking at the chart.
What I have been searching for in HC, everybody has been out of.
I have to keep looking.

Time to go test Mouzer - I will be back.
 

It is +2 and it is 160

7:50am was shot
It is right now 10am but I tested about ten minutes ago.
I had to feed all animals before I could get on here and report amps.
As long as it is not an emergency, I tend to Mouzer and start feeding everyone else and I have to wait around til they are all done eating, because I set the dry food out for the dry eaters and I have to get that put away as soon as they are finished.

All I have here is the honey, karo syrup and the Turkey & Cheese I have is 17 carbs, so that is HC isnt it?
If so, then I have MC coming, so I have no MC but I do have the Turkey & Cheese HC.

I have wrecked my brain since Mouzer came out of remission, looking for the emergency food to have on hand.
I have looked at the 2017 chart so many times, it all runs together. They are not all titled the way they are titled to buy, so it gets me confused.
 
Last edited:
I have friskies turkey and cheese dinner in gravy (I think is MC).
HC is to arrive tomorrow... FF Chicken Hearts & Liver Feast in Grilled Chicken Flavor Gravy
And another MC to arrive March 20 - 22 FF Gravy Lovers Chicken & Beef in Grilled Chicken Flavor Gravy

I have looked at the 2017 chart so many times, it all runs together. They are not all titled the way they are titled to buy, so it gets me confused.
I'm tagging @JaxBenji to help you with figuring out the carb content of the various foods you have.
 
I'll be back! I'm running out but then will see if I can help :bookworm::bookworm::bookworm: (I love numbers lol).

LOL I have a headache from the numbers :D

All I have for canned food that is not low carb is the Friskies Turkey & Cheese Dinner in Gravy - it is shredded. The 2017 chart indicates 17 carbs.
I have mid carb ordered, which I thought that the turkey & cheese was mid carb, so I thought I was ordering high carb but looking at the 2017 chart, what I have ordered is mid carb - 15 carbs. But none of that is here right now.

So, if the turkey & cheese is 17 carbs, that means I do have HC but I do not yet have MC.
I have a three months supply of LC for the 36 cats who will eat canned food lol, so no issues with lack of low carb here :D
 
Mouzer is not wanting to eat and he is hiding and running, sick of ear stick hahaha

amps food intake 2oz LC-FF
+2 @160 would not eat
+4 @91 ate 0.5oz LC-FF

I feel I need to test again but not sure if I should wait two hours.
Can someone please advise?
 
Catinfo website says:

FRISKIES - Savory Shreds - Turkey & Cheese Dinner in Gravy is 14% carbs. Is this the one you have?

Are these the ones you have ordered?
FANCY FEAST - Gravy Lovers - Chicken Hearts/Liver Feast in Gravy - 15% carbs
FANCY FEAST - Gravy Lovers - Chicken & Beef Feast in Gravy - 15% carbs
 
Green!!!! :D:D:D:D

Feed some LC and test in an hour?

Thank You!
He is running from the food now.
He would only eat 0.5oz, not even one ounce of FF at +4.
I had to keep nudging it to him to get him to lick and slurp the juice, which a little food gets licked up with.
And then, he got sick of my putting it in front of him, so he ran and hid.
At each test time, I do put food in front of him.
I do hope he will eat.


Catinfo website says:

FRISKIES - Savory Shreds - Turkey & Cheese Dinner in Gravy is 14% carbs. Is this the one you have?

Are these the ones you have ordered?
FANCY FEAST - Gravy Lovers - Chicken Hearts/Liver Feast in Gravy - 15% carbs
FANCY FEAST - Gravy Lovers - Chicken & Beef Feast in Gravy - 15% carbs

Yes! On that food -- But the ones ordered do say 'Grilled Flavor' gravy - if that matters.
 
How much does 0.5oz work out in terms of teaspoons?

That, I do not know. I will have to start dipping food from the can with a teaspoon to find out.
I just eyeball and judge about what his intake is, so far.

I thought I saw a post from you about if adding some MC juice to LC, if he would eat...
If that is still up for question...
I do not know but I will try, if you confirm that I should do that just yet.
 
thought I saw a post from you about if adding some MC juice to LC, if he would eat...
If that is still up for question...
I do not know but I will try, if you confirm that I should do that just yet.
Let's wait for the next test to see if we need to add a little MC gravy to the LC.
 
I'll be back! I'm running out but then will see if I can help :bookworm::bookworm::bookworm: (I love numbers lol).
I tried figuring it out since Mouzer dipped into green and I wanted to find out what higher carbs Cherryl had, but I think I will need your help! There are just too many varieties of cat food in the US! :confused:
 

LOL I will have to take your word for it...
As long as green will stay normal green and Mouzer to remission, I am all for it.
Green to go to that bright green BG < 50, I think I can do without :D

I tried figuring it out since Mouzer dipped into green and I wanted to find out what higher carbs Cherryl had, but I think I will need your help! There are just too many varieties of cat food in the US! :confused:

I am in the US and there are too many varieties for me to figure this out!
My head has been spinning in search ever since Mouzer came out of remission.
 
+5 is 124 and he ate about an ounce of friskies lc
Do I dare go two hours or even three for next test?
 
Last edited:
Okay-so just using the food chart, I found the following

FRISKIES - Savory Shreds - Turkey & Cheese Dinner in Gravy = 14% carbs
FF Chicken Hearts & Liver Feast in Grilled Chicken Flavor Gravy = 15% carbs (food chart didn't have the description of the gravy :joyful:)
FF Gravy Lovers Chicken & Beef in Grilled Chicken Flavor Gravy = 15% carbs (food chart didn't have the description of the gravy :joyful:)

FWIW, I use the food chart, then open it in google sheets and add temporary filters to find what I'm looking for. I've tried to include an image below - I think these all right - also, FF also has a "grilled in gravy" line - those are all MC too.

Lastly, I use FF Gravy Lovers Beef as my HC (it's 20%) - you can also add a drop of honey to your LC or MC too. FF cans are hard to come by sometimes right now due to supply issues with the actual cans.

upload_2021-3-20_13-9-26.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-3-20_13-9-26.jpeg
    upload_2021-3-20_13-9-26.jpeg
    36 KB · Views: 296
Last edited:
Good job shooting. Nice numbers today.

Nice numbers but I am watching how high will the blue go by pm shot, in hopes high enough I wont be scared. As is at +8 with 181, even though that is a little bit of a scare for me :D
But if we ever have a 170 at shot time, I am not sure I will shoot. That scares me to think how low kitty can go. I had enough anxiety just with this little bit for today!! hahaha
 
Last edited:
Okay-so just using the food chart, I found the following

FRISKIES - Savory Shreds - Turkey & Cheese Dinner in Gravy = 14% carbs
FF Chicken Hearts & Liver Feast in Grilled Chicken Flavor Gravy = 15% carbs (food chart didn't have the description of the gravy :joyful:)
FF Gravy Lovers Chicken & Beef in Grilled Chicken Flavor Gravy = 15% carbs (food chart didn't have the description of the gravy :joyful:)

FWIW, I use the food chart, then open it in google sheets and add temporary filters to find what I'm looking for. I've tried to include an image below - I think these all right - also, FF also has a "grilled in gravy" line - those are all MC too.

Lastly, I use FF Gravy Lovers Beef as my HC (it's 20%) - you can also add a drop of honey to your LC or MC too. FF cans are hard to come by sometimes right now due to supply issues with the actual cans.

View attachment 60249

Thank You! That is the chart I use.

When I ordered the food, I looked at the correct row for the fancy feast, which is 15%, and I was thinking that is MC.
When I looked at the Friskies Turkey & Cheese Dinner in Gravy (shredded), I accidentally looked at the fat% row hahaha
And I saw 38% and was like, oh wow cool that is a high one :D

So, with what Bandit's Mom has provided to me below...
What I have here is the 14% MC and I am waiting on the 15% HC to arrive -
LC is <10% carbs
MC >10% and upto 15%
HC is >15%

I was trying to get that into my head to tell ya'll earlier about the mix up I went through over reading the incorrect row, but the more I look at that chart and numbers, the more my head spins and I get truly flustered with confusion.
I did want FF Gravy Lovers Beef for a HC because I did see it is 20% but when I last looked, and I need to look again, there was none for sell at a decent price.

I just did an Amazon search and now this has shown up and I see I bought it for Mouzer in 2017 -- I just now ordered two cases of it to have on hand...
Fancy Feast Gravy Wet Cat Food, Gravy Lovers Beef Feast in roasted Beef Flavor Gravy.
Is this is the correct one with 20% carb?
 
Last edited:
I did not mean to say I was doing a +7. My head was stuck that we were in +4 and I wanted to wait three hours, so I could get a little rest.
We were in +5, so I did a +8 and it is 181. Mouzer ate 1tbsp of friskies - I dipped it out to him by a tablespoon, so I could know exactly what he ate :D
 
Thank You! That is the chart I use.

When I ordered the food, I looked at the correct row for the fancy feast, which is 15%, and I was thinking that is MC.
When I looked at the Friskies Turkey & Cheese Dinner in Gravy (shredded), I accidentally looked at the fat% row hahaha
And I saw 38% and was like, oh wow cool that is a high one :D

So, with what Bandit's Mom has provided to me below...
What I have here is the 14% MC and I am waiting on the 15% HC to arrive -
LC is <10% carbs
MC >10% and upto 15%
HC is >15%

I was trying to get that into my head to tell ya'll earlier about the mix up I went through over reading the incorrect row, but the more I look at that chart and numbers, the more my head spins and I get truly flustered with confusion.
I did want FF Gravy Lovers Beef for a HC because I did see it is 20% but when I last looked, and I need to look again, there was none for sell at a decent price.

I just did an Amazon search and now this has shown up and I see I bought it for Mouzer in 2017 -- I just now ordered two cases of it to have on hand...
Fancy Feast Gravy Wet Cat Food, Gravy Lovers Beef Feast in roasted Beef Flavor Gravy.
Is this is the correct one with 20% carb?

@JaxBenji

I am amending :)

The FF Chicken Hearts & Liver Feast in Grilled Chicken Flavor Gravy = 15% carb arrived today.
I have the Gravy Lovers Beef coming but not here for now, which I think is the 20%.

So, I have 14% carb for MC and 15% carb for HC and I have honey and karo syrup.

FRISKIES - Savory Shreds - Turkey & Cheese Dinner in Gravy = 14%
FF Chicken Hearts & Liver Feast in Grilled Chicken Flavor Gravy = 15%

LC is <10% carbs
MC >10% and upto 15%
HC is >15%
 
:bighug:you are plenty prepared. FWIW some kitties that have sensitive tummies only do LC (or raw) with honey for MC and HC. I like having the FF Beef on hand though (and Jax eats any and everything).

Mouzer is ok for whatever we have to do --
I did forget to add to the things I need ---
I need more nerve than this ahhaahahahaa
I feel so sick just thinking what if Mouzer goes below 50 and if he even reaches 75 I am going to be shaking hahahha
I do pmps in about 20 minutes. This is to let me see if I will give a shot or not. I have my laptop ready in case he went lower instead of higher since +8, so I can run here and freak out. If the level is at 175 or above, I will feed, shoot and get to my laptop to report what is.
IF he is lower than 175, I will stall and retest in hopes for higher.
 
Last edited:
Mouzer is ok for whatever we have to do --
I did forget to add to the things I need ---
I need more nerve than this ahhaahahahaa
I feel so sick just thinking what if Mouzer goes below 50 and if he even reaches 75 I am going to be shaking hahahha
I do pmps in about 20 minutes. This is to let me see if I will give a shot or not. I have my laptop ready in case he went lower instead of higher since +8, so I can run here and freak out. If the level is at 175 or above, I will feed, shoot and get to my laptop to report what is.
IF he is lower than 175, I will stall and retest in hopes for higher.
you could test now and then compare it to PMPS.
 
Also, a rising number is not a requirement for shooting...we are always shooting the number in a few hours and not the one right now. This is my favorite post I try to drop off for as many people as possible :joyful: save to read later - the actual post is about shooting a dropping or low number (but it applies to low numbers in general) and the whole condo has lots of info - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...tion-slgs-myths-debunked.111088/#post-1173098
 
Lovely to see green today.:D
But if we ever have a 170 at shot time, I am not sure I will shoot. That scares me to think how low kitty can go. I had enough anxiety just with this little bit for today!! hahaha
Remember Lantus is great at keeping low numbers flat and low. Just because a cat dropped a lot at a higher number, doesn't mean they'll do the same at a lower number. We call those lower preshots a gift. I loved shooting lower, it meant flatter and much more predictable. For some fun, look at Jax's spreadsheet. And although I don't want to jinx it, there's a possibility Mouzer could bounce.
 
Lovely to see green today.:D

Remember Lantus is great at keeping low numbers flat and low. Just because a cat dropped a lot at a higher number, doesn't mean they'll do the same at a lower number. We call those lower preshots a gift. I loved shooting lower, it meant flatter and much more predictable. For some fun, look at Jax's spreadsheet. And although I don't want to jinx it, there's a possibility Mouzer could bounce.

I had looked at Jax's SS and wondered if Jax is in remission and if so, why still the SS?
 
Also, a rising number is not a requirement for shooting...we are always shooting the number in a few hours and not the one right now. This is my favorite post I try to drop off for as many people as possible :joyful: save to read later - the actual post is about shooting a dropping or low number (but it applies to low numbers in general) and the whole condo has lots of info - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...tion-slgs-myths-debunked.111088/#post-1173098

As for this :) I understand but it still does not take away my fear --
My fear is based on how I observe the posts of others and what goes on when they drop--
That scares the pure mess out of me and I hope not to have to deal with it. I get sick just watching others doing it.
In 2017, when Mouzer dropped, food and honey did not make any difference. It was decided that may be because his diabetes is steroid induced.
Luckily for me, it was not such a drop that scared me to death. I did not have to deal with any freak out moments like I have observed of others.
I cannot not know if food and honey will help if he dropped low now, until it came to having to try and find out and I hope it does not come to that.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top