3/20 mocha pmps 309 +2 264 +3 266

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterDevonMocha

Member Since 2009
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9595&start=50

WCR: we got up three times just to check on mocha last night. Each time she was on our floor doing ok. We finally got her up on the bed the last time we checked on her and she stayed there till morning. She had 5 compartments of kitty food in her feeder last night, all soupy. This morning the first two were empty and then each one after that had a little more food left in them, including the one for this morning which she didn't eat much of. Tried to give her some more food this morning, but she wasn't that interested in it. Peter is now giving her bupe and then we shoot her shot in 10 min. Do we continue on with her regular dose of 2.5, or do we adjust for missing it the last three shot times? Please let us know what to do so we don't harm mocha.
 
Re: 3/20 mocha amps 266, dose amount question?

Hi Devon

I counted 3 skipped shots, shed prob emptied out by now, did your vet give u any options of starting back up with insulin and how much?

im hoping someone is around to advise, I'm thinking she is gonna need some juice, but you want to be comfortable with what you choose.
 
Re: 3/20 mocha amps 266, dose amount question?

Vet said yesterday if Mocha had started eating we could do a 1/4 dose. We didn't do any dose. We are 20 min past dose time right now. She did miss 3 complete shots
 
Re: 3/20 mocha amps 266, dose amount question? Dental yesterday

yes she ate a good bit of food mixed with a lot of water. We were thinking at 9 we would give her half a dose which would be 1.25u.
 
Re: 3/20 mocha amps 266

ok, waited an hour on dosing advice. Decided to drop her to 1.25 (half normal dose) and work our way back up from there.
 
Re: 3/20 mocha amps 266, dose amount question? Dental yesterday

I think that's fine and I know you'd be comfortable with that dose. My vet had me shoot a full dose but Gabby was getting less juice than Mocha. I'm also guessing that Mocha had more anesthesia due to the length of the procedure. With humans, it can take a while for the effects of anesthesia to work its way out of our systems. I suspect it's the same for kitties.
 
Re: 3/20 mocha amps 266

Hi Devon, Peter and Mocha. We are so glad to hear that Mocha had a pretty good night. Now she's on the road to healing! Thinking healing thoughts and wishing you good luck with your dosing.
Ella & Stu
 
Re: 3/20 mocha amps 266 +3 301

well she has gone up since her shot this morning. Probably a combination of sore mouth, first shot in quite awhile, a late shot and also a reduced amount. Poor girl. Her whole routine is messed up. Good thing she has a nice warm blanket to lay on and a mom and dad taking turns loving on her.
 
Re: 3/20 mocha amps 266 +3 301

Aww, feel better soon Missie Mocha. Sounds like you guys are taking great care of her! She'll be feeling better soon I bet.
 
Re: 3/20 mocha amps 266 +3 301

(((Mocha))) you made it baby girl :thumbup
Soooo proud of you & momma.. daddy too! Happy to hear that you had a good night & you are not looking bad at all from your missed shots. You hang in there & I suspect things start looking really pretty for you :mrgreen:

:RAHCAT M :RAHCAT O :RAHCAT C :RAHCAT H :RAHCAT A
 
Re: 3/20 mocha amps 266 +3 301

It's hard trying to figure out how much insulin they will need after a dental - I've been back to normal doses for Brownie, but am having to give him hc just to keep him in the mid-green range! Hope they're both much better VERY soon. I'm sure Mocha loves that heated bed - our cats are rarely out of theirs!
 
Re: 3/20 mocha amps 266 +3 301

it's ok for her to run a little high today. She's probably still feeling a little under the weather. Maybe tonight you'll be able to get back to her regular routine and dose.
 
Re: 3/20 mocha amps 266 +3 301

thank you everyone for the nice thoughts to mocha. She appreciates them! She has been curled up in bed all day and is being loved on by us, even though twix won't have anything to do with her .. not yet anyways. They just need to get back into routine and it will all be goo!

Llibby, you were reading my mind. I was wondering if we need to stay at the lower dose for a few days or should we bump her back up to 2.5 tonight? Her a.m. shot was 1 hour late, should we slowly try to get back on schedule, or just shoot at her normal pmps time?
 
Re: 3/20 mocha amps 266 +3 301

Hi devon - just catching up on last night's posts and todays.

here is the discussion on metacam that you may find helpful:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... ?8,1867651

Regarding the bupe and dose, I was given several prefilled syringes that were very thin and went from 0.1 -1.0 ml - each was filled to the .5 or .6 mark and I was told to give one syringe every 12 hours until gone. It was enough for about 3 days - for the last syringe, I decided to give her half in the am and the last half in the pm - as I wanted her to have pain med for longer and while it was a half dose, I figured it would take the edge off.

The easiest way to figure out how much bupe you have is to take an used syringe, fill with water and squirt into a used insulin syringe or if you have a regular ml syringe laying around, squirt it into that to see just how much you are giving. (I realize this may sound a little confusing - but it's meant to help - as you said they filled insulin syringes with bupe.)

I also looked up the training a board certified dentist receives and they do receive all the basic vet care training and additional year or 2 of dental training. So, the dentist is a vet and should know about cat health. Now, how familiar this one is with diabetes, that's the real question.

I hope this is helpful and even though you received upsetting news about Mocha's teeth, it's really better to have addressed them when you did and to know what's going on and what preventive measures you can take so that hopefully she can keep her teeth.

Oh and given the severity of her mouth, it's a good thing you took her to a specialist and not just the regular vet. I too was surprised at the estimate for Maui - I thought it would be at least $400 less. Then the actual cost was over $1200 - including 2 extractions. Ouch and ouch is all there is to say.

I hope she is doing well today.
 
Re: 3/20 mocha amps 266 +3 301, tonights dose?

Should mocha get her normal dose tonight, or stay with the lower dose? Should we adjust slowly to get back on schedule, or just shoot at normal time tonight? Her am shot was 1 hour late.


hillary, we were given enough filled syringes to do pain medication twice a day, for five days. When I called the vet before we took mocha in for her cleaning, I asked them if they needed her to be up to date on her distemper shot. They told me they don't do anything like that, this vet only does dental cleanings. So while she is a vet, she doesn't do anything other then dentals. Not sure how much she keeps up to date with things other then dental information.

I feel bad that we didn't realize mochas teeth were so bad, but we are glad it is done and over with. Hopefully with home health cleaning, she can keep the rest she has. The original quote in her e mail was about 300.00 less then what we were told in the office. But of course by the time she got 8 teeth pulled, that quote in the office looked like chump change compared to what the final bill was. :YMSIGH:
 
sorry I missed seeing your question in time. I see that you decided to go to 2 units and shoot at your regular time, seems like a good plan to me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top