3/20 - Gen, AMPS >400, PMPS 318

Allie & Gen

Member Since 2025
Yesterday

Well, I really hate this. Last night's cycle reminds me of the kind we used to have early on - before TR, before he was off the dry food. It's like the last couple of months of progress have been wiped away by a few days on this damn drug. 😭 (Budesonide, for his enteropathy/IBD, in case you missed it.)

It's not even the high that freaks me out (though it is his first red in an entire month and I was hoping not to ever see that color again) ... it's the steepness of the curve. He had a green nadir. I have no idea what to do wrt TR rules and increasing or not tomorrow, if he's having nadirs under 100 (but AMPS and PMPS are both sky high).

Although that said, taking a closer look, the rise really only gets very steep in the last couple of hours of the cycle; around +9/+10, a reasonably gradual rise suddenly turns into a rocket to the moon. I know this could be bouncing (although really, it's not like his system isn't used to greens! we've only had a couple cycles without them) ... but I'm wondering if a little dietary control could help discourage that kind of acceleration? I have no idea how much he ate when last night (only that his dishes were licked clean this morning). I can set up that new fancy autofeeder tonight ...

Screenshot_20260320-081543.png


Anyway, I'd be very grateful for some input/thoughts/perspective about these various factors - as well as whether I should be increasing the dose tomorrow.

He does have his appetite back entirely, and the poop situation looks good. Hard to say how much of that is thanks to the budesonide. I feel like another ultrasound at some point after he's been on it awhile will be the best way to really gauge its effect on his guts.

He did seem to be feeling pretty good this morning in spite of the highs. We had a lovely evening ... my partner came over for the first time in quite awhile, and Gen got double the snuggles and pets and two laps to stretch out over. He was a big fan. ❤️

Today I have to ride over to his vet's office after work to pick up a refill on his gabapentin tiny tabs. It'll be a pretty long bike ride, but I don't mind; we're having some nice early spring sunshine and more moderate temperatures today (relatively speaking). I will say, if we are going to do an increase this weekend, I may do it at his PM shot tomorrow rather than his AM shot. I am so badly in need of some solid outdoor time (nothing is as therapeutic for me); I would like to be able to go out for a chunk of the day tomorrow without having him hit scary lows when I'm not close by.

I hope everyone has a pleasant Friday. Safe surfing, kitties!
 
Yesterday

Well, I really hate this. Last night's cycle reminds me of the kind we used to have early on - before TR, before he was off the dry food. It's like the last couple of months of progress have been wiped away by a few days on this damn drug. 😭 (Budesonide, for his enteropathy/IBD, in case you missed it.)

It's not even the high that freaks me out (though it is his first red in an entire month and I was hoping not to ever see that color again) ... it's the steepness of the curve. He had a green nadir. I have no idea what to do wrt TR rules and increasing or not tomorrow, if he's having nadirs under 100 (but AMPS and PMPS are both sky high).

Although that said, taking a closer look, the rise really only gets very steep in the last couple of hours of the cycle; around +9/+10, a reasonably gradual rise suddenly turns into a rocket to the moon. I know this could be bouncing (although really, it's not like his system isn't used to greens! we've only had a couple cycles without them) ... but I'm wondering if a little dietary control could help discourage that kind of acceleration? I have no idea how much he ate when last night (only that his dishes were licked clean this morning). I can set up that new fancy autofeeder tonight ...

View attachment 77471

Anyway, I'd be very grateful for some input/thoughts/perspective about these various factors - as well as whether I should be increasing the dose tomorrow.

He does have his appetite back entirely, and the poop situation looks good. Hard to say how much of that is thanks to the budesonide. I feel like another ultrasound at some point after he's been on it awhile will be the best way to really gauge its effect on his guts.

He did seem to be feeling pretty good this morning in spite of the highs. We had a lovely evening ... my partner came over for the first time in quite awhile, and Gen got double the snuggles and pets and two laps to stretch out over. He was a big fan. ❤️

Today I have to ride over to his vet's office after work to pick up a refill on his gabapentin tiny tabs. It'll be a pretty long bike ride, but I don't mind; we're having some nice early spring sunshine and more moderate temperatures today (relatively speaking). I will say, if we are going to do an increase this weekend, I may do it at his PM shot tomorrow rather than his AM shot. I am so badly in need of some solid outdoor time (nothing is as therapeutic for me); I would like to be able to go out for a chunk of the day tomorrow without having him hit scary lows when I'm not close by.

I hope everyone has a pleasant Friday. Safe surfing, kitties!
Hi Allie,
I feel like I’m the last person who should be giving any food advice right now (you know what I’ve been going through with Maggie :banghead: ), but I just wanted to say I’m really thinking of you 2. I hope things settle down for Gen soon, and that you can get him off the budesonide before long, especially if that’s what’s causing these higher numbers. I’m really glad he’s feeling better though and enjoying all the extra snuggles❤️& I hope you get some nice sunny outdoor time this weekend, you definitely deserve a bit of a breather after everything you’ve been dealing with!


Have a lovely weekend☀️☀️☀️
 
Since the initial trial that came with my cameras expired, I haven't been recording anything, just checking on Gen in realtime now and again or if I see something concerning via his Libre. I decided to purchase a plan on a monthly basis for now, so I can get a better sense of his eating habits and match them to his BG data. We'll see how that goes.

Looks like he's enjoying some very nice sunbeams today!
 
Sorry you are dealing with those big BG swings. I'm really glad he's eating better. What I've been told here is to try and ignore those preshot numbers and focus on the nadir. Is this drug temporary or a long-term?

Definitely listen to more experienced folks than me if they chime in, but I would give him a few more cycles to try and repeat last night's 83. I'm sure it is SO frustrating after how stable he has been. But the most important thing is how he is feeling, hopefully the meds are helping!
 
So glad Gen is eating well again! That’s a huge win! 🏆
We love good eating. It makes everything else much better.
Hoping things will settle down for both of you now.
Try not to get too consumed with the bg, Allie. You know how to control that with his dose being tweaked a little at a time.
It’s the new med that must be throwing it off.
You’ll get him back to better BG again.
And as we know, other factors affect BG so it’s a constant ebb and flow with our complicated kitties.

I hope you had a nice bike ride in the warmer weather. And happy Gen enjoyed some nice warm sunbeams today.
Hugs and good wishes for a calm weekend 😻🐈‍⬛🥰💓💕🌊🏄‍♂️💗
 
Back
Top