3/2 - Gen, AMPS 316, +2 212

Allie & Gen

Member Since 2025
Yesterday

Good morning, friends! I hope you're having a calm, pleasant start to the week. Safe surfs to all your kitties!

Gen is bouncing, which isn't surprising, but I hate it. 😑 It looks like he's coming down, though.

I did take a reduction last night; three under-40s have been really stressful, even if it was mostly down to slow-acting AM medication/inappetence more than insulin dosage. I can always increase back to 1.75u if this doesn't pan out. Meanwhile, I've increased his ondansetron dose to 4mg starting this morning, and I'm going to start giving him mirataz twice a day (so I did a half-dose this morning, and I'll do another half-dose this evening). I hope that helps with his AM meals.

Also, he's got an appointment for a fructosamine on Wednesday morning, and they're going to show me how to do the B12 shots. I've made a consultation appointment with the local animal hospital's internal medicine unit for Tuesday, March 17th, in preparation for scheduling an intestinal biopsy. In the meantime, I've also placed an order for the Rayne prescription rabbit wet food that I'll be using for the IBD diet trial. Whew.

Arctic temperatures have returned today, and I'm very disgruntled about it. (We had an utterly glorious, sunny Saturday around 50 degrees, which makes this extra hard to go back to.) Spring is just around the corner, but I am impatient. Also, I have my performance review at work today, which looks to be okay, but I'm still not exactly looking forward to it. Boo! Here's hoping the week is all up from here.
 
Yesterday

Good morning, friends! I hope you're having a calm, pleasant start to the week. Safe surfs to all your kitties!

Gen is bouncing, which isn't surprising, but I hate it. 😑 It looks like he's coming down, though.

I did take a reduction last night; three under-40s have been really stressful, even if it was mostly down to slow-acting AM medication/inappetence more than insulin dosage. I can always increase back to 1.75u if this doesn't pan out. Meanwhile, I've increased his ondansetron dose to 4mg starting this morning, and I'm going to start giving him mirataz twice a day (so I did a half-dose this morning, and I'll do another half-dose this evening). I hope that helps with his AM meals.

Also, he's got an appointment for a fructosamine on Wednesday morning, and they're going to show me how to do the B12 shots. I've made a consultation appointment with the local animal hospital's internal medicine unit for Tuesday, March 17th, in preparation for scheduling an intestinal biopsy. In the meantime, I've also placed an order for the Rayne prescription rabbit wet food that I'll be using for the IBD diet trial. Whew.

Arctic temperatures have returned today, and I'm very disgruntled about it. (We had an utterly glorious, sunny Saturday around 50 degrees, which makes this extra hard to go back to.) Spring is just around the corner, but I am impatient. Also, I have my performance review at work today, which looks to be okay, but I'm still not exactly looking forward to it. Boo! Here's hoping the week is all up from here.🏖️
Good luck with the med increase! I hope Gen feels so much better and eats better!

Come on down, Gen, visit at the beach please 💙 🏖️💚
Hoping the reduced dose is a great one with no limes!

Stay warm out there, Allie 🥶⛄
 
Good luck with the decrease and the other increases! Anything under 50 is always stressful, so I understand the desire to try out a reduction to avoid those lows.

Hope the weather warms up for you!!! And that the review went well 😊
 
Hope the weather warms up for you!!! And that the review went well 😊
I hope the increase ondansetron helped and you had a great evaluation!
Alas, my review was postponed until tomorrow, so I get to be anxious a little longer. 😅

I'm curious, what was the reasoning for the fructosamine test?
I think my vet is a bit skeptical of the Libre lows. I certainly don't mind getting a chance to do some comparison and review of his recent progress.
 
Back
Top