3/2 Baby PMPS 74 +10 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole & Baby

Very Active Member
Good morning, Lantus Land!
No doubt Baby is bouncing from yesterday :-|
I have thought about her BG 35 that I came home to & I am really upset with myself. I have both my girls on Wellness because it is a good food & they love it. Although it does have some ingredients that people question (vegetables/fruits) I read on Dr. Lisa's site that this amount is sooooo small that this still makes Wellness a good food. On the food chart it is listed as low carb too. Anyway.. the past few days I have tried to switch them to Fancy Feast to see if Baby's #s changed - well.. I left out FF yesterday while I was at work & not one bite of the food was gone in 9 hours. They do not like it or want it - I have tried...
Baby does eat Raw & I supplement with Wellness when I am gone. So she is eating her Raw.

So.. I dont know if it was the dose of Insulin she was on -- or the few bites of FF I ever got down her that started to help her #s? I want to just go back to what she will eat.. but I want her #s good. I hope she can hold this dose too.

WCR Baby has been very tired after seeing greens - not as active (she was always an active kitty) anyway.. slept all evening/night & did not get up to eat.
 
Re: 3/2 Baby AMPS 252 +3 227

((((Nicole and Baby)))) I can't imaging that they don't notice when their numbers drop and then go up. Maybe that is why she is sleepy. Hope she gets to feeling better today. You will be there so that is good. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/2 Baby AMPS 252 +3 227

Thanks, Paige -- I feel a little upset today about this food thing & her being soo tired. I appreicate your encouragement!
 
Re: 3/2 Baby AMPS 252 +3 227

It is strange what different cats will eat. My guy won't touch Wellness but loves his FF Chicken or Turkey and Giblets, and his raw diet. Does not like other FF.

Hope her energy returns soon.
 
Re: 3/2 Baby AMPS 252 +3 227

Moonie always gets sleepy after her shots, and also when she goes lower..She also eats much less, unless she feels herself dropping..
Not to worry, I think this is normal in some cats--Moonie got her shot 2 hrs ago, Hasnt eaten more than I feed her at shot time, & is sleeping like a baby---and she wasnt low today!! Dont worry Baby is OK! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/2 Baby AMPS 252 +3 227

Hi Nicole,

The fact that Baby didn't eat her snack yesterday could be partially to blame on the lower number at PMPS, but I don't think it is totally to blame. I think once Baby gets past rebound she will do just fine on this reduced dose.

I totally understand how you feel about wanting to feed what Baby will eat. I don't know how many cans of food I wasted trying to find what Sami would eat. When I wasn't around, I always wanted to make sure she had plenty of food available just in case she went low, and that was difficult since I had two FAT cats that would eat everything up if it was available. Stick with the Wellness if that is what she likes. It is labeled low carb and healthy for a diabetic cat so don't try to fix what isn't broke.
 
Re: 3/2 Baby AMPS 252 +3 227

I agree that not eating could have dropped Baby's BG a bit.

I feed Magnolia Wellness only. She gets the turkey or chicken daily because those are the low carb foods. I use the shrimp and crab as HC and I mix it with the LC to get MC. It also took us a long time to find something she liked. If you really feel the need to switch to FF, maybe you can try mixing them together at first?
 
Re: 3/2 Baby AMPS 252 +3 227

Hi Nicole,

I am not personally familiar with Wellness, but just the presence of fruits doesn't make the food bad or high carb. It's all in the amounts, and honestly, I think some of these amounts are so low, they are just in there to please humans who want their pets to eat the way they do.

Good luck working this out. Have you tried mixing the Wellness and FF, slowly increasing the ratio of the FF? That might go over better.
 
Re: 3/2 Baby AMPS 252 +3 227

My guys are like Amy's -- minimal interest in Wellness but love their FF. They also get raw as their main meal and snacks are FF. Baby not having eaten may have contributed to the low numbers but I doubt that it's the whole story. No matter -- it's an empirical question. If the reduction doesn't hold, you'll know it was due to Baby not having eaten.

It looks like numbers are on their way down after a bouncette.
 
Re: 3/2 Baby AMPS 252 +3 227

(((Thanks, everyone))) I value your feedback!
I am going to stick with Wellness Chicken & Turkey like I was.. they are low carb - that & her Raw.. we will continue our dance & I will quit trying to add additional stress!
 
Re: 3/2 Baby AMPS 252 +10 73

Geez... happy but :shock:

I am work from home today - so caught this +9 am feeding LC
She just had a dosecrease last night, I know too many dosecreases in a row are not suggested (or I think I read that) because they may not hold. But I cannot have her surfing 30's & 40's. What should I do here? :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/2 Baby AMPS 252 +8 42 Dosing Eyes Please

I'd give some MC.

You're probably seeing action from a still overfilled shed. I wouldn't reduce the dose any further tonight. Although, you may want to get some additional input.
 
Re: 3/2 Baby AMPS 252 +8 42 Dosing Eyes Please

Sienne.. good reminder about the shed (((thank you)))
I am going to hold this dose & I will just have to make sure I come home for a spot check during the work day.. she is in a bad habit of only wanting her Raw.. not the food left out.
 
Re: 3/2 Baby AMPS 252 +8 42 Dosing Eyes Please

Hi Nicole,

As you know, Sami did the same thing. When she started getting dose reductions she went quickly. I agree with Sienne that this could still be a little bit of a shed overflow, but if I were you and you decide to hold the dose through tonight's cycle, I would definitely get more spot checks, at least at +6, +8 and +10 if possible, just to make sure she isn't dropping too low again tonight. It is possible that she might have another rebound tonight from the low today, but maybe not.

As I understand it, the shed should be depleted within 2 cycles so if she is still falling below 50 in tonight's cycle or tomorrow morning's cycle I would suggest you get some input on doing another decrease tomorrow night.
 
Re: 3/2 Baby AMPS 252 +8 42 Dosing Eyes Please

Tina! Great reminders.. I will get the spot checks this evening for sure! I will hold the dose tonight & see what happens.. she is good right now & shot time is in 2 hours. I am going to remove food & see what our PMPS # is.
 
Re: 3/2 Baby PMPS 74

Stuck with the 1.25 dose since she just had a dosecrease last night! I am very happy here :mrgreen:

:RAHCAT B :RAHCAT A :RAHCAT B :RAHCAT Y
 
Re: 3/2 Baby PMPS 74

very nice pmps! keep an eye on the numbers just in case baby wants another reduction.
the larger the dose, the larger the shed is... the smaller the dose, the smaller the shed is, but unfortumately, there's no way to know exactly when the "shed" or residual effects from a higher dose are out of the picture.
 
Re: 3/2 Baby PMPS 74

Thanks, Jill! Quick Question.. if she drops in the low 40s or 30s tongiht.. is that a dose reduction in the AM? Just curious since this will only be her 3rd cycle of 1.25. I want her to hold these decreases.. but I know there is no guarantee.
 
Re: 3/2 Baby PMPS 74

Nicole & Baby said:
Thanks, Jill! Quick Question.. if she drops in the low 40s or 30s tongiht.. is that a dose reduction in the AM? Just curious since this will only be her 2nd cycle of 1.25. I want her to hold these decreases.. but I know there is no guarantee.
spreadsheet says tonight is cycle 3 on this dose? typo?

lol! can i answer later tonight?
seriously, the reason i'd like to hold off on answering your question til later is there's too many unknowns right now. will baby drop to 32 or 49? will she drop fast and hard early in the cycle or later? generally, speaking, a drop to the low 40s or definitely 30s would indicate the need for a dose reduction, but let's see what she does. i do have some appointments tonight, but i'll make it a point to check back here as soon as i'm done.

fwiw, it looks like something has changed for the better with baby. :-D
i have a feeling we're going to have to follow her lead...
 
Re: 3/2 Baby PMPS 74 - Question - Jill Please

LOL :-D Typo yes! I did fix it ohmygod_smile

Geez.. Okay.. answer as you have time.. I appreciate your feedback -- you were with us that 1st night of the OD!! Geez!

I will get good spot checks & see where we are at (((thank you)))
 
Re: 3/2 Baby PMPS 74 +3 41

Feeding LC ... not so shocked anymore.. this is beginning to seem normal...
unfortunatley she is not feeding herself with these low #s.. I am having to pick her up & place food in front of her.. although food (different varietes) are left out.
 
Re: 3/2 Baby PMPS 74 +3 41

My goodness, Nicole, you have certainly had quite the excitement in the last few days! Your condos are like party central! ;) Baby had a great day today, and you are doing awesome tonight so far. You know what to do and how to do it, and I'm confident you will keep Baby surfing quite nicely with your culinary concoctions.
 
Re: 3/2 Baby PMPS 74 +3 41 +4 68

(((Libby & Lucy))) (((Sarah & Buzz)))

In all honestly.. party central is right.. but just a tad less nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

Makes it hard to go to work & know she is not feeding herself.. plus those lil ears :YMSIGH:

BUT Baby & I are both Blessed with the Beautifulness that is happening here, I will never... ever.. complain!! o:-)
 
Re: 3/2 Baby PMPS 74 +3 41 +4 68

Good times!! You will be coming home for lunches now right? lol You and Baby are doing fantastic. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/2 Baby PMPS 74 +3 41 +4 68

hey, nicole... i just want to make sure i have this right. the dose was reduced to 1.25u this morning not last night? i'm just asking because ss says you took a reduction last night.
 
Re: 3/2 Baby PMPS 74 +3 41 +4 68

Jill SS is right.. I got my post wrong.. 1.25 last night, this morning & tonight... I am going to get my +6 in about 30mins too.
 
Re: 3/2 Baby PMPS 74 +3 41 +4 68

thanks. wanted to make sure i had it right before commenting.
i'll stop back after your +6...
 
Re: 3/2 Baby PMPS 74 +6 69

almost missed your +6! been waiting for you at the top of the list. :lol:

how do you feel about taking another reduction in the morning unless baby bounces from tonight's 41? if she bounces, stick with 1.25u in the morning and then take the reduction tomorrow night. we don't usually recommend reductions so close together, but we don't want her dropping too low while you're at work AND we really think she's ready for it. something seems to have clicked with her. she's totally gotten with the program. :-D

new dose 1u?
 
Re: 3/2 Baby PMPS 74 +6 69

Words cannot express the appreciation I have for everyone's encouragement & your valuable input, Jill.
I am definitely taking your advice - if there is a bounce in the AM - I will shoot 1.25 & then do the 1.0 for PM cycle. If not.. I will do the 1.0 in the AM :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/2 Baby PMPS 74 +10 72 Dose ? (Jill or Libby if still here)

2am here.. but just woke up to get a +10 Baby is surfing!!!! I guess if it is this then we have our dosecrease!! Hope it is not too soon.... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
**I could call into work today.. would it be best to leave her on the 1.25 if I am here to monitor for one more cycle?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top