3/19 Tiger Amps 400+ increase working finally

Deb and Tiger

Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-18-tiger-pmps-375.287859/

Hi everyone

Finally had some action overnight from the increased dose. Busy night…Tiger started diving at onset with the Libre arrow showing a straight down trend most of the night. I tried to slow him down with food, hoping to avoid the dreaded bounce but it really didn’t work much! I started with LC then Mc and finally to avoid going under 90 and taking a reduction, I used HC. I waited about 1 hour in between feedings. I finally went to sleep at 4am! Nadir for the night was 99.

Am I right in my thought process, to slow him down? If so, am I going about it the correct way? I thought I was but now I’m not so sure….of course we’re starting today off high again!

Hope everyone has a wonderful day!
 
Glad to see Tiger finally showed some nicer numbers last night. He was going to bounce from the green, regardless or not of whether there was a fast drop.

I wouldn't have personally used HC at the 99, especially that late in the cycle. He was at or about nadir and wouldn't need as many carbs as he would earlier in the cycle when the insulin effect was stronger. The HC seems to have bumped him up almost 70 points, which is too much. I targeted a bump of more like 30 points - if Neko was hanging lower. In the 90's, LC might have been enough that late in the cycle.

Early in the cycle, he's likely going to drop some, unless you really loaded him up with carbs. But you do want him to drop into nice numbers. The goal with feeding the curve is to slow down the rate he's going to drop, not to stop the drop completely. It'd be hard to conclude that the MC did not work last night.
 
I think one other thing I’d like to mention in addition to what Wendy shared, take a look at how the BG levels actually started flattening a little by +4. That to me signalled that he was going to maybe drop just a little more into nadir. You always want to try and use usual carbs and then the minimum amount of higher carb intervention, especially close to nadir. As a side note, HC shouldn’t be used to prevent a reduction.
 
Glad to see Tiger finally showed some nicer numbers last night. He was going to bounce from the green, regardless or not of whether there was a fast drop.

I wouldn't have personally used HC at the 99, especially that late in the cycle. He was at or about nadir and wouldn't need as many carbs as he would earlier in the cycle when the insulin effect was stronger. The HC seems to have bumped him up almost 70 points, which is too much. I targeted a bump of more like 30 points - if Neko was hanging lower. In the 90's, LC might have been enough that late in the cycle.

Early in the cycle, he's likely going to drop some, unless you really loaded him up with carbs. But you do want him to drop into nice numbers. The goal with feeding the curve is to slow down the rate he's going to drop, not to stop the drop completely. It'd be hard to conclude that the MC did not work last night.
Thanks Wendy for that info. I guess I figured I better use the HC to get him up because by that point I knew I wouldn’t be able to get him to eat anymore if he continued to fall. He was full by then and actually didn’t eat the whole spoon of HC.
I will try to remember your advice next time. Ty!
 
I think one other thing I’d like to mention in addition to what Wendy shared, take a look at how the BG levels actually started flattening a little by +4. That to me signalled that he was going to maybe drop just a little more into nadir. You always want to try and use usual carbs and then the minimum amount of higher carb intervention, especially close to nadir. As a side note, HC shouldn’t be used to prevent a reduction.
Ty Christie. At +4 he already had food twice to slow and the Libre was showing a downward arrow, meaning fast drop, and still dropped almost 90 after that. As for the HC, he actually ate maybe 1/2 tsp, very little.
I never heard that HC shouldn’t be used to prevent reduction. We’ve had so many reductions and it has taken so long to build back up, I wanted to really avoid another. He has been in high numbers so long.
 
The Libre can offer such a huge amount of info, without a doubt, and it can often be a little overwhelming. That also includes the alerts and prompts with arrows. Just remember it’s meant for humans so I’d take those arrow prompts with a grain of salt. I’d encourage you to get back to the basics in terms of how we know Lantus typically works, which is where you find Tiger onsets and nadirs. That will really go a long way in giving you more confidence. Unfortunately the higher numbers are likely a factor of a few things, including feeding MC food and high carb dry regularly.
 
Back
Top