3/19 SCRABBLE PMPS 171 +2.5 215

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103

WOW! What a great day for you and Scrabble yesterday! Congrats on the dosecrease and good luck with it! Hoping Scrabble stays nice and flat today so you can get some sleep. Good job yesterday Michelle!
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103

Yes Miriam shot a 1.5, that is ok right? Hey question for everyone, do you ever notice any bruising where you have given your cats their shot? I need to pay more attention to where I am shooting because after I shot tonight I noticed his skin bruised, I must be hitting the same area. I felt so bad after I shot, hope I didn't hurt him!!!! Gotta make sure his pm shot is on the opposite side! Poor Scrabble
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103

Yep....that is the new dose now. I hope you can get some sleep today Michelle. I would get a +1 just to give you an idea of where he is headed. Yesterday's +1 was a pretty good indication.
Do you have to work tonight?
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103

Yes was planning on getting a +1, if he hasn't dropped significantly I will go to bed for a couple of hours. Yes I do work tonight but same time as tonight so I can get a +3 before I leave. Do you ever notice any brusing with Putty's skin? I have a couple of patches shaved on his sides so that is where I shoot, this is the first time I have noticed any bruising!
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103

I have not noticed any bruising but he is pretty furry so it is hard to tell. I try not to shoot in the same place all the time.
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103

Good morning, really nice number this AM. I hope Scrabble likes the new dose and lets you sleep this am. You've had a couple of busy moornings.
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103

Wow congrats on the dose crease!!! Scrabble has been doing so amazing with your hard work! What an Amps!!
Enjoy this lovely spring Friday
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +1 60!

Scrabble is making a habit of this. He's just letting you know he's working at coming down, sometimes they're a little too enthusiastic about it. His sense of timing is great though, doing it when you will be home.

You know the drill now! :roll:
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +1 60!

Thanks Tess yes he seems to be making a habit of this, yes it is great but I am so sleep deprived I can barely keep my eyes open, hope he comes up soon!! Will retest in 15 min, poor baby first I bruise him and now I have to have a poke fest!
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +1 60!

Michelle you are probably still seeing some action from the old dose. You can certainly abort the cycle and feed hc since you need to sleep and Scrabble just got a dosecrease last night. Sometimes you have to take care of yourself!
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +1 60 +1.5 47!

Hi Michelle,
Yes, I notice bruising on Maggie's ear where I always prick, actually a small bump. I just posted this on my thread. I use Neosporine after every prick, a tiny bit, but there is a small pimple bump. I think we are both probably hitting the same spot on their little ears!
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +1 60 +1.5 47!

Actually Ann I was talking about the injection site for his insuling shots. The area bruised after I gave him his shot!!
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +1 60 +1.5 47!

Oh I see Michelle. No, I haven't noticed any bruising on her shot areas, but I do try different areas of the scruff on top and both sides. It's not always easy on the sides for Maggie, as she seems to flinch more on the sides.
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +1 60 +1.5 47!

Hi Michelle, I agree with Miriam: you should get some sleep. Give him a little more hc, set your clock for a couple of hours, and leave some food out for him while you sleep. Good luck today and congrats on the dosecrease!
Ella
P.S. I never noticed bruising on the places where I shoot the insulin, but since I've been shooting Stu for more than 4 years, he's probably developed tough skin! I do notice a small bump on one of his ears, so I'm trying to avoid that spot when testing. His other ear bleeds better in any event.
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +1 60 +1.5 47!

Hi Michelle!
Wow what a nice green cat you got over here!
47 is early in the cycle.... I would serve some HC to cushion the onset. You'll need to portion the food though so Scrabble's tummy doesn't get too full.
And, to my eyes... this might mean another dosecrease!
Scrabble is on a mission.... to prevent you from sleeping :lol:
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +1 60 +1.5 47!

Wish I could go to sleep but of course Scrabble had me worried again because he keeps dropping! If he is not up more at +2 I will feed more hc, believe me I want some sleep. I am just baffled that the same thing is happening as yesterday morning? Does this mean we need to decrease again so soon?
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +1 60 +1.5 47 +2 61

+2 61 ok looks like hc is working, should I feed more so I can get some sleep or wait to see what +2.5 is at before feeding more?
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +1 60 +1.5 47 +2 61

It's not a matter of feeding, it's a matter of what you're feeding. I also don't think you know yet whether Scrabble will actually surf or if he'll drop. Get a +2.5. If he hasn't dropped too low, leave out MC and get some sleep.
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +1 60 +1.5 47 +2 61

+2.5 54, ugh! just fed him some more hc food, guess he wants me to stay up with him! Does this mean we need to decrease his dose again?
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +1 60 +1.5 47 +2 61

hang in there Michelle, we'll see what the others say thru the day ok?
Good numbers thou! Scrabble doing great!
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +3 49 why still dropping?

+3 49 why is he still dropping? just fed him some more hc food with gravy, is this normal or what? confused & exhausted!!!
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +3 49 why still dropping?

Scrabble is still dropping because he has probably not hit nadir yet and the hc only lasts for a little while.
Not sure about the reduction because he just had one and there may still be action from the old dose today.
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +3 49 why still dropping?

So much for aborting this cycle, guess that wasn't possible! I am a little concerned about the bruise I caused when shooting him this morning, the spot is red and black and blue, he doesn't seem bothered by it though, I hope I didn't do anything wrong!
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +3 49 why still dropping?

Michelle it looks like pretty much the same cycle as yesterday. Scrabble should start to go up by +4.5 or +5. When you see him rising and he does two consecutive times I think it he will be safe for you to sleep and leave food. Now I did say "I think" as we know how unpredictable this can be so you may see some sleep soon.
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +3 49 why still dropping?

Hi Michelle
Now it's my turn to be late for the party.
Sorry, had mommy duties this am and could not check the condos.
So Scrabble is pulling a Max on you.
He could have been ready for this action and his shed from the 1.75 could be overfull??

You absolutley need to get some rest though.
What kind of HC are you feeding him and only the gravy right? You don't want
him getting to full if he nees to still eat.
When I had problems getting Max's numbers up with the HC, Sienne told me to give
a few drops of the Karo. It is pure sugar so it should bump him up but it does
not last long in the system. It might be enough so that you can rest.
Wiating to see the next results!
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +3 49 why still dropping?

Aborting the cycle is possible. You may need to feed a bunch more HC. Feed some HC and test at +3.5 and if all is good, leave out a bunch of HC and go to sleep. If you have a feeder, put some HC in that, as well, so Scrabble doesn't inhale the food you leave out all at once.

Miriam is correct -- not only haven't you reached nadir, if there was some left over shed action you were dealing with the overlap during the first 2 hours of the cycle and now you are seeing the new dose of Lantus kicking in.
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +3 49 why still dropping?

+ 3.5 66 yay going up, hope he stays up or does not drop much in another half hour! Been feeding him gravy and some hc food but in small doses. Just wondering what you guys think of the bruise from the shot? I am wondering if I injected him wrong this morning, was reading on some of the links that if you don't inject him properly you can affect the rate of absorption of the insulin? He was moving around alot when I gave him the shot, just hope I didn't hurt him, have never seen a bruise before where I inject him!
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +3.5 66

If you hurt him, Scrabble would let you know. I once injected and hit Gabby's shoulder bone. She yelped.

Just make sure the site doesn't get hot or turn red like there's an infection there. Since it's a sterile syringe this is unlikely to happen but you never know.
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +3.5 66

You may have injected him differently which may have caused a bruise and Scrabble may have absorbed it a little differently ( I don't know much about that) but the AMPS were low and there is still some leftover action from the last dose and this does look like yesterday's cycle so......I guess that does not really answer your question does it?

I would also be interested to know about what you read because when I gave Putty his insulin last night the needle bent and he jumped which made me think I hit something and at +4 he was 24.....hmm.

I think if you get another test and he is going up it may be safe to sleep but see what Sienne thinks....I will let her play bad cop. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +3.5 66

Hahaha your funny Miriam, let me find the link of what I was reading and I will send it to you. Scrabble did move when I gave him the shot so I think that is what caused the bruise. He doesn't seem bothered by it so I will just watch it and not shoot on that side. Just did a +4 he is 63 so down a teensy bit. Gave him a lick of gravy after the test, he is taking his probably 5th bath of the day lol!
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +3.5 66 +4 63

63 and 66 are basically the same number. I think if you can get a 4.5 and he is till in the 60's then it should be safe for you to get some sleep.
You can still leave some food with gravy if it will make you feel better.

Are you a nurse? Just guessing with your schedule and working nights.
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +3.5 66 +4 63

yeah think I am going to wait until +5 to officially get some sleep unless Scrabble throws me another curve ball, lol! I actually am not a nurse, I am a bartender, hence the nights!!!
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +3.5 66 +4 63

probably just nicked a capillary. happens rarely. i wouldn't worry about it. most of us don't have a shaved area to inject so we'd never notice.
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +3.5 66 +4 63 +5 60

'Morning Michele, you've had lots of help so I got out of the way. Hope you're in the clear for sleep now your +5 is soon? As for the bruising, if he moved while the needle was in that alone could have caused it. As Chris said most of us can't see because of the fur.

On the ears I use neosporin a couple of time a week, I don't like to use antibiotics daily. I've never seen anyone else here mention it but I also use Vitamin E oil. It really seems to help the bumps on the ears. It is usually used to prevent scarring on healing cuts and scrapes, that might help the bruise too. It is safe as it is also taken as a diet supplement. Just a tiny bit, it is pretty thick and sticky.
:YMHUG: for you and cat_pet_icon for Scrabble. He is being such a good boy, just hope he lets you sleep soon.
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +3.5 66 +4 63 +5 60

Nice surf. Scrabble is really catching on.

If/when you use karo (not thinking you will today), I think it only lasts for 15-20 minutes, so it's not as good a choice for catching sleep on.
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +3.5 66 +4 63 +5 60

+7 92! Ok got 2 hours, gonna go for 2 more! Bruise seems to have gone away on his side so I am glad about that. Scrabble just loves keeping his mama on her toes!!!!
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 103 +7 92

117 @ +9.5 got some sleep, some but not enough. Does anyone think the dose needs to be reduced more or should the pm dose still be 1.5? I know it is still early but wanted to get it out there. Why is Scrabble going so low at the beginning of the cycle lately? Is it because his shed is overfull? Weird how it only seems to happen in the am? Work tonight, can test to +3 then out the door. What a morning again!!!!!!!
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 117 +11 143 advice for pm?

maybe a skinny 1.5??? just need some advice since he has been dropping so much or is this still the overflow of the old dose?
 
Re: 3/19 SCRABBLE AMPS 117 +11 143 advice for pm?

hang on Michelle, just waiting for others to chime in...1/2 hour til PMPS number right?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top