? 3/19 Jade amps 420 +4= 547!!!!

Jill & Jade

Member Since 2018
Jade has never been this high and I have no idea what is happening....I haven't checked for ketones today because she hasn't peed in the last hour or so. She doesn't appear to be in any pain and was playing a few hours ago (sleeping again now). She's purring and giving me her belly. I'm pretty concerned tho.I did start a brand new container of test strips today but I did calibrate the monitor from the code 38 to 37. I wonder if that could be it? The timing seems coincidental.
* no ketones
So… just found a test strip from the last batch and she still tested at 550. Spoke to the vet and she says maybe the milk and increased food. Seems awfully sudden from yesterday morning to me. She suggested increasing to a full unit as she thinks I give .5 now. I didn’t tell her Jade has been on .25 as I KNOW she would strongly object to that small of a dose. She doesn’t believe in quarter dosing at all. So, should I go to .5 or should I wait a day or two to see where her BG is heading? Her appetite is better but still not what it used to be. Looking at her numbers from yesterday morning, I’m wondering if .5 would have taken her too low? Any advice is much appreciated.
@Wendy&Neko @Suzanne & Darcy @tiffmaxee


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-18-jade-amps-278-2-170.260855/#post-2927290
 
Last edited:
Jade has never been this high and I have no idea what is happening....I haven't checked for ketones today because she hasn't peed in the last hour or so. She doesn't appear to be in any pain and was playing a few hours ago (sleeping again now). She's purring and giving me her belly. I'm pretty concerned tho.I did start a brand new container of test strips today but I did calibrate the monitor from the code 38 to 37. I wonder if that could be it? The timing seems coincidental.
* no ketones
So… just found a test strip from the last batch and she still tested at 550. Spoke to the vet and she says maybe the milk and increased food. Seems awfully sudden from yesterday morning to me. She suggested increasing to a full unit as she thinks I give .5 now. I didn’t tell her Jade has been on .25 as I KNOW she would strongly object to that small of a dose. She doesn’t believe in quarter dosing at all. So, should I go to .5 or should I wait a day or two to see where her BG is heading? Her appetite is better but still not what it used to be. Looking at her numbers from yesterday morning, I’m wondering if .5 would have taken her too low? Any advice is much appreciated.
@Wendy&Neko @Suzanne & Darcy @tiffmaxee


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-18-jade-amps-278-2-170.260855/#post-2927290

I'm a newbie, too, and only tried SLGS for a little while before switching to TR, but reading the sticky for SLGS, I find this:

If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
​
But wait for the real help!
Best wishes.
 
I'm a newbie, too, and only tried SLGS for a little while before switching to TR, but reading the sticky for SLGS, I find this:

If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
​
But wait for the real help!
Best wishes.
Thank you!
 
Because Jade can be unpredictable, I recommend following the SLGS guidelines. She’s been on .25 for a long time. She hasn’t seen anything but one blue nadir in a week and that was 170 so she is ready for an increase of .25 if you are following SLGS.
 
And this is not a criticism, but I do wonder what happened after you got that 170 yesterday. I wish there was another test between that and the PMPS, which was very high. I only mention this because you were speculating on whether .5 units would have taken her too low. 170 isn’t too low and she ended up very high at PMPS. But we don’t know if she went lower before that.
 
Also, milk does have a lot of lactose in it so it is high in carbs - so that could be playing into the higher numbers. But getting calories into Jade has been paramount lately! Not sure when you started the milk?

I don’t know what to think about those strips.
 
Be careful if you increase tonight and Jade is coming back down. She could zoom down. You'll just need to be alert and maybe test more. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Jades PMPS is still through the roof. She has been drinking milk for weeks so I don’t think that’s the issue. It’s 2% and I water it down. She’s not being very active and she clearly does not feel well although I can tell she’s trying. I haven’t increased her dose because I’m trying to get her appetite under control first and foremost. Also her thyroid. I had to leave yesterday after the 170 and left a bit of MC gravy with her food. It surely would have worn off by the PMPS but would have also most likely influenced an afternoon test. She’s peeing and pooping normally. I just cannot imagine where these awful high numbers are coming from. My poor girl.
 
Who in the world knows why? I sure don’t. I’m glad she’s playing though!
I really want to believe that it’s the test strips even though I know that’s incredibly unlikely.
It would make sense if it was steady rise in #’s the more she eats ( and with milk) but this happened in less than 24 hours. :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
Jades PMPS is still through the roof. She has been drinking milk for weeks so I don’t think that’s the issue. It’s 2% and I water it down. She’s not being very active and she clearly does not feel well although I can tell she’s trying. I haven’t increased her dose because I’m trying to get her appetite under control first and foremost. Also her thyroid. I had to leave yesterday after the 170 and left a bit of MC gravy with her food. It surely would have worn off by the PMPS but would have also most likely influenced an afternoon test. She’s peeing and pooping normally. I just cannot imagine where these awful high numbers are coming from. My poor girl.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top