3/19 Binx AMPS 340, +1 371

Briana + Binx

Member Since 2024
Last post

Almost made it into the yellows last night, but still pretty high after the increase.

We have an appointment with the vet tomorrow, but they're not too worried since overall his behaviour is pretty normal. They want to do a physical (and I'm guessing some tests)... they're wondering if something is related to his higher numbers recently, but I don't want to draw that conclusion just yet.

To be honest, I don't have a lot of trust in my vet. For the first 6 months after Binx's diagnosis, his numbers were mostly very high and the only conclusion they could draw was that I must be administering insulin wrong (not that he wasn't getting enough insulin o_O). Going into tomorrow's appointment with very low expectations sadly.

Safe surfing everyone!
 
Good luck Briana! I feel the same about the vets. But it can’t hurt for them to get eyes on him for anything unrelated to FD. Then you can always verify on your own.

Thanks, Tim! You're right, especially if it's not FD related, they may have some helpful insight. Might need some advice on research when the time comes! I know you and many others here are pros :cat:
 
Wishing you and Binx good luck at the vet tomorrow.
Hope you have an option of moving to a different practice if things don't go well.

Hope Binx gets into the yellow zone today :cat:

Thanks, Helen :bighug: I may very look into alternatives depending on how this visit goes.
 
Wishing you the best of luck tomorrow, Briana! I can totally feel your pain with the support from the professional offices.

Take whatever you can get from the office visit, see what they have to say. At least you know you have tons of support here.
You’re doing a great job, hang in there Binx is very lucky to have you :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Wishing you the best of luck tomorrow, Briana! I can totally feel your pain with the support from the professional offices.

Take whatever you can get from the office visit, see what they have to say. At least you know you have tons of support here.
You’re doing a great job, hang in there Binx is very lucky to have you :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:

Thanks, Staci :bighug: The support here is truly what gets me through and makes me feel like whatever happens tomorrow, Binx will be okay and we'll figure it out.
Hope you and Ivy have a nice night filled cuddles :cat: :cat:
 
Last post

Almost made it into the yellows last night, but still pretty high after the increase.

We have an appointment with the vet tomorrow, but they're not too worried since overall his behaviour is pretty normal. They want to do a physical (and I'm guessing some tests)... they're wondering if something is related to his higher numbers recently, but I don't want to draw that conclusion just yet.

To be honest, I don't have a lot of trust in my vet. For the first 6 months after Binx's diagnosis, his numbers were mostly very high and the only conclusion they could draw was that I must be administering insulin wrong (not that he wasn't getting enough insulin o_O). Going into tomorrow's appointment with very low expectations sadly.

Safe surfing everyone!
Good luck tomorrow, I hope everything checks out. :bighug:

I've been telling myself I need to find a vet I trust before I really need one. Unfortunately, all the good ones aren't taking new clients.
 
I sure hope Binx has a good visit--a meaningful visit--tomorrow. I completely lucked out with Jude's vet because when Jude became his patient, he (the vet) began reading and trying to educate himself on the updated literature/research so he could help Jude. He still defers to and confers with me on Jude's treatment, and I think that's because he knows I'm in this group, and I often surprise him with my knowledge (that I learned here!). Based on some of the stories I hear in this forum, I don't think many vets understand or care to understand about FD. Good luck tomorrow!
 
I sure hope Binx has a good visit--a meaningful visit--tomorrow. I completely lucked out with Jude's vet because when Jude became his patient, he (the vet) began reading and trying to educate himself on the updated literature/research so he could help Jude. He still defers to and confers with me on Jude's treatment, and I think that's because he knows I'm in this group, and I often surprise him with my knowledge (that I learned here!). Based on some of the stories I hear in this forum, I don't think many vets understand or care to understand about FD. Good luck tomorrow!

Thanks, Mary! :) Jude's vet sounds great! Really glad he has not only you invested in his treatment and care, but a vet keen on understanding and learning too. Like you said, it's sadly not common.
This will be my first face-to-face with the vet since starting TR, so really interested to see how the vet responds and if there's any curiosity. TBD!
 
I'm so sorry that you're not feeling much confidence in your vet! Unfortunately I can relate to some degree. I wish they were taught more about FD than they apparently are.

I hope the visit goes well and that you're able to figure out what's up with your little guy. I hope they're helpful (and if not, that you're able to find another practice that is!) :bighug:
 
I'm so sorry that you're not feeling much confidence in your vet! Unfortunately I can relate to some degree. I wish they were taught more about FD than they apparently are.

I hope the visit goes well and that you're able to figure out what's up with your little guy. I hope they're helpful (and if not, that you're able to find another practice that is!) :bighug:

Thanks, Brianna :bighug: I wish they were taught more too, could save us all a lot of headaches early on. Glad we've all landed here though, makes all the difference :cat:
 
Back
Top