3/18 Phoenix AMPS 304

Scdal

Member Since 2020
I would like some advice. After 2 reductions from 10 units down to 8.5, Phoenix's numbers started rising. After increasing to 9 units, Phoenix's numbers leveled off in mostly yellow numbers. Yesterday, I increased to 9.5 units. His BG is not coming down. His usual AMPS is usually close to his lowest number. Today, it was 304. I am thinking his BG might drop tomorrow.

One thing that concerns me is his urine glucose. I noticed last week it had risen to 2,000 on the test strip. This is the highest level. Phoenix stayed at 1000 even when he was first diagnosed with diabetes and his BG was in the 300 & 400 range. Since his BG dropped into the green and blue numbers, his urine glucose was almost normal. Phoenix doesn't have a bladder infection. He has been on antibiotics for 2 months for his coughing. He is playful and active and eating great. Has anyone else had this problem? I am a bit worried as to why his urine and blood glucose are rising.
 
He’s apparently above renal threshold. It’s going to be a matter of finding the way to keep him lower than he he’s at but not too low for comfort. I only see one test under 50 on your ss. I remember why you reduced and your situation. It’s a tough balancing act. :bighug:
 
He’s apparently above renal threshold. It’s going to be a matter of finding the way to keep him lower than he he’s at but not too low for comfort. I only see one test under 50 on your ss. I remember why you reduced and your situation. It’s a tough balancing act. :bighug:
Yes, it is tough balancing act. I guess I should just be grateful that he is feeling good and playing. I went out to feed my ducks. When I came back in, Phoenix had grabbed my coffee cup of the table and had his head in the cup. He loves coffee !! Even though it is cold and windy today, Phoenix has been out walking around in his yard. Thank you for your feedback. I worry when his BG is high and worry when it is low.
 
Patience is key here. With all things Lantus, it takes time to build up the depot again....a few more cycles before you have to make any decisions about increasing again.

Coffee - cute!! I Love coffee too..Luci, not so much...Tell Phoenix I understand completely :)

Have a good day Susan!
 
Back
Top