3/18 Karamelle +12 36 AMPS 107 +1 124 +2 132 +3 161 +4 132 +6 210 +7 164 +8 216 +9 184 PMPS 177

JoM

Member Since 2023
3/16 Karamelle AMPS 122 +3 53 +4 79 +9 253 PMPS 316 +3 211 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Another drop this morning. I assume it dropped overnight at some point. I thought about testing, but I checked on her a few times during the night (she was sleeping in her bed next to me) and she seemed fine, so I went back to sleep. She recovered quickly from the drop with no intervention, so I went ahead and shot at the reduced dose.
She ate a little off the plate on the floor, which she rarely does, especially right after shot time. Usually I have to wait for the Mirataz to kick in, then I give her something. But it was nice to see her eating on her own, even if it was probably only around 10 calories worth. I think with the severe Pancreatitis, this is just our life now. I assist feed usually at least once a day. Ive been trying prilosec like the vet recommended, but I dont see much of a difference so far.
Im thinking of stopping the milk thistle and the liquid B12 because she spits most of it out anyway.

Hope everyone is having a lovely day so far.
 
Testing every hour to see if I can see when the onset of the Levemir is. It might be bouncing at the moment tho.
 
I remember testing Neko when she was sleeping, and seeing the 30's. :eek:. Sleeping is not a sign that all is OK. Next time, trust your gut and test. I'm glad you managed to catch her going low in the AM and got that reduction.

Levemir's long and later action can make it tricky to spot when things happen. Yesterday's 48 could either have been her nadir from the PM shot, or onset of the AM shot. Not enough data from the night to know which it was for sure. The night of the 16th did look like a bounce clearing cycle, which can mean later nadirs, often into the following cycle.
 
I remember testing Neko when she was sleeping, and seeing the 30's. :eek:. Sleeping is not a sign that all is OK. Next time, trust your gut and test. I'm glad you managed to catch her going low in the AM and got that reduction.

Levemir's long and later action can make it tricky to spot when things happen. Yesterday's 48 could either have been her nadir from the PM shot, or onset of the AM shot. Not enough data from the night to know which it was for sure. The night of the 16th did look like a bounce clearing cycle, which can mean later nadirs, often into the following cycle.
When I checked on her, she wasnt sleeping. She was awake and alert and talking to me. Thats why I said she seemed ok. Im testing every hour to see what might happen after the drop. But its just slowly rising. At some point I imagine the insulin will kick in and it will stabilize or drop some, yes? Or this could be a bounce, but its not like the bounce on the 16th so Im not sure. Maybe the insulin just hasnt kicked in yet??
I know I dont have enough night data and weve talked about this. I just have to go with what I have and what I can do.
 
I know you can't get the night data regularly, so just be a little more cautious on the dose, keeping that in mind.

This may just be a bounce. Karamelle was in greens for over 24 hours! I suspect for the first time ever.
 
I know you can't get the night data regularly, so just be a little more cautious on the dose, keeping that in mind.

This may just be a bounce. Karamelle was in greens for over 24 hours! I suspect for the first time ever.
Yeah, this insulin appears to be a bit stronger so she wont need as much. I said I was going to test every hour to see when the insulin kicks in. Possibly that happened at +4. Although I missed +5 and now its up again??? I did feed her quite a big meal at +4 so maybe thats what is affecting it now. I have to assist feed at least once a day or she wont get enough calories and +4 was the assist feeding meal. I got 65 calories of Weruva Press your dinner in her. Its 4% carbs (ME) so I dont know why it would spike her BG. Or maybe with this lower dose, she just isnt going to be that low. Its so hard to know. Wait wait wait and see. :banghead:
 
Back
Top